American Heritage of South Jordan

Tel: (801)254-3882
Grades: PK-12 | 382 students
previous
next
At American Heritage of South Jordan, your child will be taught patriotism, kindness, and the value of working hard along with a curriculum based on classic principles of learning. Our teachers are certified, our school is accredited. We are able to put more education value in a school day because we are exempt from having to implement social programs deemed necessary by the federal government.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. AdvancED
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 2005

Student Body

Total Students 382 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
30%
State avg.: 21%
Students by Grade American Heritage of South Jordan Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
30%
Average Class Size 20 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
Average ACT score 26
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Uniforms are required)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $3,900
Tuition Notes Tuition for pre-kindergarten students is $1,700 half-day and $2,600 full-day. Kindergarten (full day) - 5th $3,900 6th-8th $4,900 9th-12th $5,400 International $10,575
% on Financial Aid
15%
Average Financial Aid Grant $800
Acceptance Rate
85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Elsha Yorgason
Admissions Associate Elsha Yorgason

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Dance, Flag Football, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
DanceFlag Football,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art, Chess Club, Dance, Drama Club, National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, Orchestra, Guitar, Choir, Student Government, Yearbook Art, Chess Club, Dance, Drama Club, Yearbook, National Honor Society,
National Junior Honor Society,
Orchestra, Guitar, Choir,
Student Government,

School Notes

  • Each new student is tested for placement in the Saxon Math program--a highly rated curriculum that keeps participants functioning at, or above, grade level.
  • Each student participates in Classic Ed, where they study history and literature on a timeline from the ancients to modern day.
  • Math and science are required throughout a student's tenure at American Heritage. We believe such training will equip them to become competent and competitive in whatever course they choose in life.
  • Foreign language and arts courses are also taken in order to facilitate a well-rounded individual.

Profile last updated: 04/29/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed American Heritage of South Jordan also viewed these schools: The Waterford School, Rowland Hall, Judge Memorial Catholic High School, The McGillis School and Montessori Community School of Salt Lake City.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Sandy
    Grades: PK-12 | 976 students
    7.2 miles
    1480 E 9400 S
    Sandy, UT 84092
    (801)572-1780
    7.2PK-12
    976
  • Salt Lake City
    Grades: NS-12 | 918 students
    14.5 miles
    720 Guardsman Way and 843 S Lincoln Street
    Salt Lake City, UT 84108
    (801)355-7485
    14.5NS-12
    918
  • Salt Lake City
    Grades: 9-12 | 726 students
    14.8 miles
    650 South 1100 East
    Salt Lake City, UT 84102
    (801)363-8895
    14.89-12
    726
  • Salt Lake City
    Grades: K-8 | 385 students
    14.9 miles
    668 S 1300 E
    Salt Lake City, UT 84102
    (801)583-0094
    14.9K-8
    385
  • Salt Lake City
    Grades: NS-6 | 203 students
    14.2 miles
    2416 East 1700 South
    Salt Lake City, UT 84108
    (801)355-1555
    14.2NS-6
    203

School Reviews

We are so grateful to have found American Heritage of South Jordan! Here, we have found that the classic education approach to teaching inspires our children's minds and goes hand in hand with the faith-based values they instill. We are grateful for dedicated teachers who care deeply and carefully lay the perfect foundation for learning. We love the small class sizes, which allow each teacher to truly know their students and help them individually to succeed academically, emotionally, and socially. Besides a strong academic curriculum, our students have also had the opportunity to participate in high school sports. It has been a motivating and uplifting experience to see our sons learn the importance of teamwork and integrity as they compete at the high school level. We sincerely enjoy the sense of family that we feel at this great school!
- Posted by Parent, 05/12/16
We love AHSJ! We have attended the school for 5 years now and it has been a wonderful experience for our family. The teachers and administrators are so great and truly care about each student. The smaller class sizes make it the perfect atmosphere for my boys that are on the Autism spectrum. The teachers have always been so great to work with my boys and to cater to their individual needs. I would highly recommend American Heritage of South Jordan!
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
We love American Heritage of South Jordan! All 6 of our kids have attended or are currently attending. Our 4 oldest kids have graduated from American Heritage and have all attended universities and colleges. We love the class size, the curriculum and the extra help they receive when needed. We are truly grateful for the education provided to our kids from the great teachers and staff at American Heritage of South Jordan.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
This was the best move for my daughter. Public middle school is hard and overcrowded. Moving to AHSJ has made a world of difference. She is thriving in an environment that is safe and fulfilling. It is not only pushing her academically, but instilling values outside of the classroom. I am so thankful to have found this school. I would highly recommend it. I only wish I would have found it sooner.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
We love AHSJ! I am so glad we made the switch from public school to private. I love the smaller class sizes, curriculum & values taught. At AHSJ you feel like you are part of a family.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
Amazing School!! This is our 3rd year at AHSJ. We love it! The class sizes are small which allows teachers to actually teach and keep distractions to a minimum. I can't say enough about the quality of teachers and administration at AHSJ. My girls' self-confidence (1st and 9th graders) has blossomed in this environment. They know their teachers love them and will do what ever it takes to help them succeed!
- Posted by Parent, 03/18/16
I believe that one of the reasons that my oldest daughter has done so well in public high school is that she learned how to study, think, and love learning from the great atmosphere and curriculum at American Heritage...she got an amazing education when she was young, which created the right foundation for continued success. Thank you to the wonderful teachers and administration staff for creating that for my children!
- Posted by Parent, 03/17/16
We have loved this school and the positive environment it provides for our children. They have excelled at American Heritage and are very happy here. We love the incredible teachers and administration that truly care about and listen to the needs of each student.
- Posted by Parent, 02/26/16
We have had our kids at American Heritage for several years now and have loved it! The biggest thing we have noticed is that our kids love to learn and love school. We have always had positive experiences with all the teachers and both the teachers and the administration listens to parents. Our kids have excelled in school and we also love the atmosphere there.
- Posted by Parent, 07/09/12
I love the education and experiences my children are receiving at American Heritage SJ. The staff and administration is concerned about each student and we have felt their continued dedication in all they do. We are looking forward to the new year and the addition of tablets for the students!
- Posted by Parent, 06/20/12
We have been happy with the education at atmosphere at American Heritage. Our children have been taught by wonderful teachers who care about them and challenge them to reach their full potential. We have felt that the administration is aware of our students, as well as all others, and makes decisions and implements ideas based on the needs of each student. Our children have thrived in their core classes and really enjoyed participating in the extra-curricular classes and activities. We are proud to have our children attend a school that promotes good values and strong education. We are extra pleased after just receiving our students'' end of year test scores.
- Posted by Parent, 06/20/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Utah is $5,777 for elementary schools and $10,486 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Utah is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).