Birch Wathen Lenox School

5.00 (4 reviews)
210 E 77th Street
New York, NY 10075-0100
Tel: (212)861-0404
Grades: K-12 | 587 students
The Birch Wathen Lenox School is built upon a tradition of academic excellence.
We believe, above all, that our students must know how to think, how to analyze, how to synthesize and how to communicate their ideas.
To that end, we emphasize the development of writing and critical skills across the curriculum – in Science, Mathematics, History, English, Foreign Language and Art. Students study a wide range of subjects, and explore each subject in depth, through lectures, experiments, fieldwork, research and discussions.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Year Founded 1916

Student Body

Total Students 587 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Birch Wathen Lenox School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 85 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 11 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average SAT score 2000
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Between $43,276 and $44,448 Plus Fees
% on Financial Aid
Acceptance Rate
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Julianne Kaplan
Admissions Associate Danielle Tormey Lambert


Total Sports Offered 15 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Diving, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Squash, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryDiving,
GolfIce Hockey,
Track and FieldUltimate Frisbee,

School Notes

  • We invite you to visit our website for application materials. Upon receipt of your application, we will contact you to schedule a tour of the facility and student interview.

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Birch Wathen Lenox School also viewed these schools: Columbia Grammar & Preparatory School, Dwight School, Dalton School, Trevor Day School and Calhoun School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • New York
    Grades: PK-12 | 1240 students
    1.3 miles
    5 W 93rd St
    New York, NY 10025
  • New York
    Grades: NS-12 | 781 students
    1.1 miles
    291 Central Park West
    New York, NY 10024
  • New York
    Grades: K-12 | 1281 students
    0.6 miles
    108 E 89th St
    New York, NY 10128
  • New York
    Grades: PK-12 | 819 students
    0.9 miles
    312 East 95th Street
    New York, NY 10128
  • New York
    Grades: K-12 | 610 students
    1.5 miles
    433 W End Ave
    New York, NY 10024

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (4 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
My child has been at BWL for 9 years. The lower school is nurturing and offers a great student to teacher ratio. Kids don't fall through the cracks. The teachers care. The middle school has a strong STEM emphasis that improves each year. Everyone is enthusiastic about Science. It is becoming a basketball powerhouse.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
I am very surprised at the review i just read below and felt compelled to write, as this sounds like an angry person. My two children attended Birch (for a total of 13 years experience with the school) and have now moved on to excellent boarding schools. I have nothing but admiration for the school and how they prepared my children academically for the next stage of their education. I found the teachers to be focused on each individual child and very attentive to the parents as well. I dont have anything to add about the sports programs as my children did not partake regularly- they were more involved with the excellent theater program. Socially we never came across any major problems, so I am really flummoxed by the previous review. My family's experience was very good to excellent with Birch, and I feel fortunate that my children were schooled there.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
I absolutely love this school! My kids have really thrived here. The academics are excellent--rigorous, but not homework for the sake of homework. The atmosphere is warm and nurturing. The teachers always go the extra mile for their students! Mr. Carnabuci runs a phenomenal school. From the minute you walk in the door and see the incredible artwork on the walls, you know this is a really special place!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Birch Wathen Lenox has placed our child in a tenuous situation. The administration has created a toxic learning environment for many of the children. Many of the kids have social; behavioral; emotional; academic; and maturation issues and, by mixing them in with the very few kids without such issues, the classroom has become a harmful habitat. Beware, as the school does not deny that this occurs and, they do nothing to address it. And, as Birch increases the number of enrolled students in the upper classes, they fill these seats with more kids with more issues, primarily with kids whom have been counseled out of other schools.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 25, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York, NY is $17,677 for elementary schools and $33,996 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York, NY is 62% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).