Christ Lutheran School

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
315 S Hughes Street
Little Rock, AR 72205-0722
Tel: (501)663-5212
Grades: PK-8 | 131 students
Christ Lutheran School is deeply rooted in a tradition of academic excellence, Christian character development and education for the whole child. The preschool program nurtures an excitement for learning and provides a strong foundation for spiritual, academic, social, emotional and physical development. Our well-rounded elementary program challenges students in a supportive atmosphere, while our junior high program prepares students for the rigors of secondary education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Learning disabilities
Year Founded 1870

Student Body

Total Students 131 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 15%
Students by Grade Christ Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 16 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
25%
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(CLS logo polo shirt and khakis)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $5,800
Tuition Notes Tuition varies based on grade level. Please contact the school office for more information.
% on Financial Aid
8%
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryFootball,
GolfTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, grades 4-8, Choir, Student Leadership Team, Walking Club Choir, Walking Club, Band, grades 4-8,
Student Leadership Team,

School Notes

  • Christ Lutheran School values technology in education. From Chromebooks to iPads and Lego Robotics, students benefit from technology-enriched learning in their 21st century world.  In addition to strong academics, Christ Lutheran School offers music and athletic opportunities for students to explore and expand their talents. Small class sizes allow teachers to better meet the varied needs of our students. Please visit our website at www.CLSLR.org or our facebook page to see why our families love CLS!

Profile last updated: 07/28/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Christ Lutheran School also viewed these schools: Arkansas River Valley Montessori.
All Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Little Rock
    Grades: PK-9 | 65 students
    1.2 miles
    1509 N Pierce St
    Little Rock, AR 72207
    (501)603-0620
    1.2PK-9
    65

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (10 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
We have had our children enrolled at Christ Lutheran for 6 years and LOVE this school! We wish it didn't end at 8th grade! They are receiving a Christ-centered, quality education that is affordable.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Our children have attended CLS since pre-K, and I can't imagine having a better experience with a school. CLS fosters a caring, compassionate environment while providing outstanding academic programs. The faculty is fantastic - a wealth of experience with such a loving attitude. Our dedicated principal works tirelessly to drive CLS into the future while preserving the culture that makes CLS so inviting. We are truly blessed to be a part of the CLS family.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Class size is small, which allows for individualized attention. Staff is outstanding and really care about each child's success. Academics are challenging, but not overwhelming.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Christ Lutheran School has the best teachers and staff, who will love, teach, and share God's love to your children. We could not have asked for a better learning environment. Our children have been there since pre-school and the oldest will be graduating 8th grade this year. This is a bitter sweet time, as we decide our daughter's next step. We do know that CLS has helped prepare her for what ever lies ahead.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
My daughter has attended Christ Lutheran School since Pre-K3. She is now in 3rd grade and we are continuously delighted with her academic progress. The teachers at Christ Lutheran really care about the children and it shows! My daughter loves Christ Lutheran, her teachers, and the staff. We are very excited about Heidi Guelzow's dedication and vision for the school.
- Posted by
5.0  10/6/2012
CLS has been a great school for our family. It offers excellent academic preparation for its students as they move into high school. Our youngest is a current eighth grader and is active in school sports and band in addition to his studies. Our older two children are now in college, and both excelled at a highly rated public high school due in large part to their preparation at CLS. The teachers provide a great balance of nurturing and discipline for a great classroom environment. We have a strong principal that has a vision to the future while embracing the important traditions of the school. All types of students can flourish at CLS, which offers programs for both gifted and special needs students.
- Posted by
5.0  10/6/2012
An excellent school with high academic standards. I would highly recommend it especially if your child needs more individual attention. Experienced, Excellent ,kind teachers !
- Posted by
5.0  9/8/2012
Absolutely love Christ Lutheran. Can not say enough good things. Teachers are awesome! They all are wonderful Christian examples which I love. Academics are outstanding. My older child is now in High School and was very prepared when she left CLS. I highly recommend this school. The kids receive a lot of individual attention. My daughter loves to go to school and that says a lot!
- Posted by
5.0  9/8/2012
CLS is a great school with fantastic faculty and resources. Small class sizes and extra "reach-out" program if your child needs any extra assistance. We love the school and faculty. Our child loves it just as much, if not more. Great school!!!!
- Posted by
5.0  9/8/2012
CLS has it all! Outstanding academics, great teachers, lots of extracurricular activities and a Christian envirnoment. I truely believe that CLS is the best school in Little Rock.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Arkansas is $4,659 for elementary schools and $5,798 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Arkansas is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos