Country Day School Of The Holy Union

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
14 Main Street
Groton, MA 01450-0145
Tel: (978)448-5646
Grades: PK-8 | 223 students
Country Day School strives to provide a quality elementary education that stresses Catholic values to the children of the Nashoba Valley.
Faithful to the tradition of Catholic education, Country Day School of the Holy Union strives to celebrate and educate the whole person, gifts and talents, rights and responsibilities.
It firmly believes that each person is created in the image and likeness of God and attempts to create an environment where character is formed and where each student is respected and taught to respect self, others, and creation.
Country Day School of the Holy Union seeks to provide students with strong academic skills and educational opportunities that will allow them to develop to their fullest potential.
It strives to educate students to think for themselves within a community of wisdom and a tradition of faith.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8

Student Body

Total Students 223 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
6%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Country Day School Of The Holy Union Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 16:1
National avg.: 13:1

School Notes

  • Country Day School strives to provide a quality elementary education that stresses Catholic values to the children of the Nashoba Valley. Faithful to the tradition of Catholic education, Country Day School of the Holy Union strives to celebrate and educate the whole person, gifts and talents, rights and responsibilities. It firmly believes that each person is created in the image and likeness of God and attempts to create an environment where character is formed and where each student is respected and taught to respect self, others, and creation. Country Day School of the Holy Union seeks to provide students with strong academic skills and educational opportunities that will allow them to develop to their fullest potential. It strives to educate students to think for themselves within a community of wisdom and a tradition of faith.

Profile last updated: 09/15/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Country Day School Of The Holy Union also viewed these schools: Nashoba Brooks School, Oak Meadow School, Applewild School, Belmont Day School and Fay School.
All Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Concord
    Grades: NS-8 | 316 students
    12.8 miles
    200 Strawberry Hill Road
    Concord, MA 01742
    (978)369-4591
    12.8NS-8
    316
  • Littleton
    Oak Meadow School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 205 students
    7.9 miles
    2 Old Pickard Lane
    Littleton, MA 01460
    (978)486-9874
    7.9NS-8
    205
  • Fitchburg
    Grades: PK-8 | 156 students
    12.2 miles
    120 Prospect St
    Fitchburg, MA 01420
    (978)342-6053ext110
    12.2PK-8
    156
  • Belmont
    Grades: PK-8 | 272 students
    24.1 miles
    55 Day School Lane
    Belmont, MA 02478
    (617)484-3078
    24.1PK-8
    272
  • Southborough
    Grades: PK-9
    20.5 miles
    48 Main Street
    Southborough, MA 01772
    (508)490-8201
    20.5PK-9
    n/a

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  12/7/2016
At Country Day School, students are academically challenged in a safe and nurturing environment. The class sizes are small so children get individual attention. The teachers know their students and are active in developing their strengths and improving their weaknesses. The school`s philosophy is to grow the whole child in mind, body, and spirit in a quality Christian learning environment. I view the school as my partner in my children`s` development. I have one child who is in 5th grade and another one who graduated five years ago. While the school and I are still working out some kinks with my 5th grader such as being consistent with study habits and taking responsibility, we (the school, my husband and I) had success with my eldest, who is an honor-student and a level-headed, confident, and compassionate person. Country Day provides a great well-rounded foundation.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I transferred my son here halfway through kindergarten from a top state public school system (in the next town) where he was being mislabeled and struggling. Within days, he was a new kid. CDS has a traditional curriculum that is time-tested. The community is close-knit and the parents are all heavily invested in all aspects of the school. The curriculum is rigorous and structured and students are expected, and willingly commit to supporting a sense of caring, empathy, spiritual and emotional community at school and beyond. I can't say enough good things about the wonderful and positive changes I have seen in my son during the months since we pulled him from public school. Additionally, choosing Country Day School will open the door for our son's future school choices that would surely have not been an option had we held him back in public school. We wish we didn't waste so much time trying to make him fit into the single-track teaching style he endured in public school. Country Day School is a blessing to our family! At the end of the day, our son comes home happy!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
We started looking at schools in our area when our daughter was just 3 years old. We decided to start her at CDS after we looked at every school (including public schools) in a 25 mile radius ~ we did our homework! What we wanted for our daughter was the very best and after 2 years at CDS, I can tell you that CDS is the very best. The teachers are dedicated and accomplished in their own right, the small class sizes allow for a lot of individual attention and advanced learning, the character building, self discipline, lessons around respect and community contribution are all life lessons that contribute to developing the mind, body and spirit of our child. The school asks parents to participate in many aspects and parents love it because it creates a very familiar community and the school keeps tuition affordable because the parents are involved and contributing. I am very happy with our choice in schools, we will plan to send our other child to CDS as well. Good things are always happening at the school - check it out.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
We love this school! The teachers and staff are excellent!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
We love Country Day! It has such a great community feel and does an excellent job balancing educational rigor with values. My son is growing academically but he is also learning how to be a person of good character. School feels like an extension of our family! I think the school offers great opportunities - foreign language, art, music, drama, sports, chess - as well as a very strong foundation in the three Rs. And they have an afterschool program which is affordable to support families like ours where both parents work! We love it here and feel like the value for money is fantastic.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Middlesex County, MA is $15,329 for elementary schools and $33,386 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Middlesex County, MA is 62% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).