Dawson School

10455 Dawson Drive
Lafayette, CO 80026-0800
Tel: (303)665-6679
Grades: K-12 | 485 students
Dawson School is a co-ed learning community that challenges students to achieve excellence in mind, body, and character through a rigorous college preparatory program.
Dawson graduates are young men and women who achieve their individual potential, savor life, and meet the challenges of the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Colorado Independent Schools (ACIS)
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Year Founded 1970

Student Body

Total Students 485 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
13%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Dawson School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 13 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average SAT score 1793
Average ACT score 27
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $20,550
Tuition Notes Tiered tuition: K-2, 3-4, 5-8, 9-12
% on Financial Aid
18%
Admissions Director Mark Saunders
Admissions Associate Scott Schneider

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Cycling, Golf, Kayaking, Lacrosse, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryCycling,
GolfKayaking,
LacrosseSoccer,
TennisVolleyball,

School Notes

  • Dawson School is a co-ed learning community that challenges students to achieve excellence in mind, body, and character through a rigorous college preparatory program. Dawson graduates are young men and women who achieve their individual potential, savor life, and meet the challenges of the world.

Profile last updated: 08/04/2014

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lafayette
    Catalyst High School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 9-12 | 43 students
    5.2 miles
    1376 Miners Drive
    Lafayette, CO 80026
    (303)604-6512
    5.29-12
    43
  • Broomfield
    Holy Family High School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 575 students
    7.5 miles
    5195 W 144th Ave
    Broomfield, CO 80023
    (303)400-1411
    7.59-12
    575
  • Westminster
    Grades: NS-12 | 314 students
    15.2 miles
    3455 W 83rd Ave
    Westminster, CO 80031
    (303)427-5459
    15.2NS-12
    314
  • Denver
    The Denver Waldorf School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: NS-12 | 325 students
    24 miles
    2100 S. Pennsylvania St.
    Denver, CO 80210
    (303)777-0531
    24NS-12
    325
  • Denver
    Grades: 9-12 | 1664 students
    25.2 miles
    458 Uinta Way
    Denver, CO 80230
    (303)344-0082
    25.29-12
    1664

School Reviews

I have been at Dawson for two years beginning last year in 7th grade. I felt that coming in as a new student and finding new friends was very easy since everyone respects anyone here.The envirnoment is very inclusive and everyone hangs out with everyone. Along with this, the small class sizes are great and allow for one on one time with teacher. This has really helped me understand material that I would otherwise struggle with. Dawson provides a variety of arts, sports and languages which make up a very well rounded education. I'm very glad that I came to Dawson.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/21/16
After 11 years as a Dawson parent of 3 children, I am more pleased than ever with the high quality education provided by supportive teachers. Through Experiential Education my kids gained invaluable cultural exposure with travel to China and Turkey. The College Counselors provided invaluable guidance through the stressful college application process. The rigorous curriculum enabled my kids to transition smoothly to college. I am very grateful to Dawson and so are my kids!
- Posted by Parent, 10/08/15
This is our sixth year at Dawson and we have kids in the Lower, Middle and Upper Schools. Our four kids are all very different in both personality and academic ability. The teachers at Dawson have been extremely willing to help tailor their program to help my quick learner stay focused and also tutor my slow reader. All academic, creative and athletic talents my kids are passionate about have been supported, fostered and celebrated at Dawson. My kids have all gained confidance in themselves because of the amazing teachers at Dawson.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
I am a Dawson alum. Great school, great faculty that care about the students. You will be supported here and you will gain experiences that carry with you long after you graduate.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 10/10/14
Our daughter is extremely happy at Dawson. She loves the teachers, and all of the projects/activities keep her engaged and excited. The teachers are wonderful and the class sizes are very small. The "specials" are as important to the education as are the core classes. Dawson provides a great, well-rounded education, while ensuring emotional health and growth. And the campus is fabulous! It is nice for the kids to have so much space and access to the outdoors. The Lower School kids have recess three times a day...a perfect way to keep them active and engaged--both inside and outside of the classroom. Our experience at Dawson has been great!
- Posted by Parent, 08/30/14
We are very happy with our kids at Dawson. Both the Middle and Upper Schools have small class sizes and very enthusiastic teachers. My kids have developed close relationships both with the teachers and other kids. Great arts program and the sports program is getting better. A lot of parent involvement, it is a great community and we are happy to be a part of it.
- Posted by Parent, 08/04/14
Love it here! Teachers and administrators are experienced, forward thinking and enthusiastic. Graduates are equipped to succeed not only in college, but in life! Great arts & sports programs, plus awesome experiential learning opportunities. Facilities are unparalleled.
- Posted by Parent, 04/02/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Lafayette, CO is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).