French American Academy of New Milford

5.00 (4 reviews)
1092 Carnation Drive
New Milford, NJ 07646
Tel: (201)338-8320
Grades: PK-6 | 160 students
We believe that learning a second language at an early age is a life-long advantage which will benefit our children both academically and cognitively.
Our goal is to create a safe, supportive, nurturing, international learning environment where students can develop fully in both French and English.
We have two other locations : Morris Plains, NJ and Jersey City, NJ.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association for the Education of Young Children
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-6
Year Founded 2007

Student Body

Total Students 160 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 31%
Students by Grade French American Academy of New Milford Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 15 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,500
% on Financial Aid
Admissions Director Cathy Joly


Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Ballet, Basketball, Indoor Soccer, SoccerBalletBasketball,
Indoor SoccerSoccer,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academie des Petits Chefs, Art, Music and Piano, Theater Art, Theater, Academie des Petits Chefs,
Music and Piano,

School Notes

  • A leader in bilingual education, The French American Academy offers students a private education in both French and English.
  • The positive, nurturing, and creative learning environment blends traditional and progressive approaches with newer teaching techniques in order to promote greater cognitive and social growth, multi-cultural understanding, individual confidence and self-expression. An early and continuing bilingual education has been proven to strengthen a child`s fundamental ability to listen, reason, focus, multi-task, and communicate better. It also helps children perform better in non-language courses, like Math and Science. Finally, it promotes cultural fluency which helps children adapt more easily in today's global community.
  • The French American Academy serves students from Pre-K through 5th grade. The Academy also hosts after school activities in French, enrichment classes, summer programs for children and language classes for adults. The French American Academy has three campus locations: New Milford, Morris Plains, and Jersey City, New Jersey.

Profile last updated: 03/24/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed French American Academy of New Milford also viewed these schools: Ability School.
All Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Englewood
     Ability School
    Alternative School
    Grades: PK-8 | 48 students
    2.5 miles
    75 Knickerbocker Rd
    Englewood, NJ 07631

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (4 reviews)
5.0 Stars   06/03/16
The French American Academy (FAA) has been a wonderful school for my two children. We were Americans returning to the US after a few years abroad. The school has provided a wonderful combination of continued French language development (we do not speak French at home), academic rigor in all the subjects (reading, math, science) and a nurturing individualized culture. The parents are delightful and send their children to the school for similar reasons (culture and academics). If there is ever a question, Anne-Sophie is always available. I recommend the school highly.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/16
We enrolled our daughter in Pre-K2 last year with the expectation of exposing her to the French language (neither my husband nor I are French) but she has gained so much more than just language acquisition. We have been very impressed by the school as a whole. Our daughter's teacher, Isabelle, is beyond amazing and the perfect transition from the home to a school environment. The school's administrators make an outstanding effort to keep the parents informed and involved. Our daughter's classroom has a private blog where her teacher posts regular updates including what is being taught, links to songs the kids are learning (so we can play them at home too) and pictures of our little one in action that are truly worth a thousand words. Especially as working parents, having this awareness of what is happening in the classroom and the activities that our daughter is involved in has proven to be invaluable and reassuring. One of the things that has impressed us the most about the school is their approach to education. Even at an early age, we see that our daughter's curriculum is not based on memorization but that there is a real-life approach to learning while making it fun. We love to see that to learn about vegetables, the classroom cooked a real vegetable soup! And to learn about spring, gardening and plants, the kids got to plant and water real trees and flowers and even touch real worms! And it is not only about learning but also about shaping kids into responsible adults like with the school's recycling campaign all-year round. Even though our daughter is young, we are thrilled with her development and the words and sentences that she is starting to put together in French. She loves going to school, her teachers, classmates and feels safe in the school environment. When we get a chance to visit the school and see the older students, we are impressed to see their proficiency in both English and French, which I believe speaks highly of the school's curriculum and its commitment to bilingual education. The administration (Anne-Sophie and her team) work hard to create a sense of community and make sure that parents have an opportunity to be involved. We receive regular email updates with important information on school campaigns/activities, the school monthly calendar and there are many student/family activities throughout the year. Our daughter has had 2 (age-appropriate) concerts, a pumpkin picking field trip and many other activities and holiday celebrations to introduce and reinforce the French culture. To help strengthen the sense of community, the school and the PTO provide many opportunities for activities also outside of the classroom. We highly recommend the French American Academy as an institution to see your kids learn and flourish.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/16
My 3 children have all been a part of the French American Academy of New Milford since the beginning. My two older children (ages 14 & 11) attended the after-school program and learned a tremendous amount. My youngest (age 6) is a full time student who began in Pre-K 2 and is currently in 1st grade. Not only is she completely fluent in French, but she is learning about the French culture on a daily basis. American traditions are also recognized as the school is truly bilingual. I really like the hands on approach to learning, the bilingual academics, the high level of art education, the variety of athletics the children are exposed to, and the lunch program is cool too! My daughter is willing to try new things and is open minded about food in great extent to the school's varied & healthy menu. The teachers and staff are great and they give a lot of personal attention to everyone. Last but not least, the international community of parents & children is a big plus too. We will be back next year!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/04/16
This is a no-brainer. I enrolled my daughter in kindergarden and by first grade she was fully fluent in French. She is now in third grade and people from France say her accent is perfect. Aside from all the studies that show that bi-lingual children's minds are more flexible, with the international perspective at FAA my daughter is cosmopolitain and views the world as her home. I can't say enough positive things about the French American Academy. I love it. FAA is amazing and I am so happy and proud that my daughter speaks French and English. She is now asking me to teach her more languages.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 25, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Bergen County, NJ is $8,730 for elementary schools and $18,266 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Bergen County, NJ is 76% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).