Gateway Academy

1213 Hope Circle
Bonifay, FL 32425-0324
Tel: (850)547-9011
Grades: 6-12 | 53 students
Gateway Academy is a private, 15-month, faith-based program for male teens, ages 12-17, who are struggling with addictions and/or experiencing out-of-control behaviors.
Gateway Academy provides a structured, military-like format accompanied by a recreational wilderness component,which adds stability and discipline for our students.
Our Biblical counselors provide guidance and support to our students on an individual basis where students receive character education alongside a comprehensive computer-based curriculum for their academics.

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) or (School of Tomorrow)
Religious Affiliation Pentecostal
Grades Offered Grades 6-12
Year Founded 1998

Student Body

Total Students 53 students
Student Body Type All-boys
% Students of Color
6%
State avg.: 33%
Students by Grade Gateway Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 16:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
18%
Average Class Size 17 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average ACT score 19
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Students wear military uniforms special ordered by the center)

Finances and Admission

% on Financial Aid
4%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,011
Admissions Director Barbara Rutledge

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross CountryBaseballBasketball,
Cross Country
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Walhalla
    Faith Christian School
    Alternative School (Christian)
    Grades: PK-12 | 59 students
    303.5 miles
    115 Worley Lane
    Walhalla, SC 32456
    (864)280-1282
    303.5PK-12
    59
  • Lakeland
    Grades: PK-12 | 50 students
    307.2 miles
    4210 Lakeland Highlands Rd
    Lakeland, FL 33813
    (863)646-5031
    307.2PK-12
    50
  • Lakeland
    Crossroads School- Lakeland
    Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: K-12 | 22 students
    299 miles
    6949 Old Polk City Rd
    Lakeland, FL 33809
    (863)682-5730
    299K-12
    22
  • Lakeland
    The Monarch School
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 92 students
    304.3 miles
    1736 New Jersey Rd
    Lakeland, FL 33803
    (863)680-1290
    304.3K-12
    92
  • Live Oak
    Grades: 6-12 | 49 students
    168.3 miles
    Po Box 2000
    Live Oak, FL 32064
    (386)842-5555
    168.36-12
    49

School Reviews

Our son needed the high structure Gateway provides students. They are different in that students work on only 2 to 3 classes at a time. It isn't as overwhelming and they see their progress faster. He's required to meet weekly goals and has consistent consequences if he doesn't. He's progressed from a boy who simply refused to do any school work to regularly being celebrated for his achievements at the monthly recognition. He always had the ability. Now he has the behavior that gets good grades.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
Our son would do just about anything to get attention from friends, even if said attention was negative. He was spiraling out of control before he went to Gateway Military Academy. Since he's been there he's learned a lot about how his choices have consequences, be it good or bad. He's doing a lot better now and I can't thank Gateway enough for the work they''ve done with him and our family.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
We considered several types of programs for our son, but when we found Gateway we knew we had found the right place. It matched our family's values. We felt comfortable on the campus. We could see how well our son would be provided for and how many wonderful things were happening with the other students on campus. Most of all, we felt sincerely loved, and we knew he would be loved too. Gateway is among the finest programs of its kind. We highly recommend it.
- Posted by Parent, 05/12/16
The other kids at Gateway Military Academy had done or were dealing with the same things that were causing me so much trouble. I could share honestly what I felt and was always accepted for it. As I grew through the program, I got to help a couple of younger guys who had just started. I learned as much from them as I did from the guy who showed me around when I first came. It felt great to be a leader, to have someone look up to me for all the right reasons. I want to be a man of integrity so that someday my own kids can look up to me like that.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 08/14/14
As a long term volunteer and part time staff at Gateway Academy, my husband and I are very impressed with the quality of education provided to students, the disciplines taught, and the structure provided to young men who need these elements in their lives. Hurting young men and their parents are provided with training and support in a loving but structured environment.
- Posted by Parent, 05/09/13
What a wonderful school! My son attended and love it!
- Posted by Parent, 02/21/13
I am a single mom. I have stretched and sacrificed and given all I could to raise my son well. When I saw the crowd he was hanging around with and the choices he was making, I realized there was something missing. Gateway Military Academy stepped in to give him what I was not able to do myself: godly male role models, structure and consistency, and the best in educational opportunities. I count it a blessing that they helped me with the huge responsibility of parenting, and I know my son is the better for it
- Posted by Parent, 10/27/12
I was so frustrated with my son, I was ready to kick him to a boot camp to straighten him out once and for all. Praise God, I found Gateway Military Academy first. The unconditional love mixed with the structure and responsibility were exactly what he needed to turn his life around. I even learned about boundaries and how to parent with consistency. We are both much better people because of his time at Gateway Military Academy.
- Posted by Parent, 10/06/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Florida is $6,639 for elementary schools and $8,815 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Florida is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).