Grace-St. Lukes Episcopal School

5.00 (8 reviews)
246 S Belvedere Blvd
Memphis, TN 38104-0381
Tel: (901)278-0200
Grades: NS-8 | 527 students
Grace-St. Luke's has been educating children since 1947.
We are a coeducational, Episcopal, pre-kindergarten through eighth grade school in the heart of Midtown Memphis.
While we are located in the historic Central Gardens neighborhood, our students come to us not only from Midtown but from all parts of Memphis as well as Arkansas and Mississippi.
Our well-earned reputation of preparing confident learners and good citizens is known throughout the city and larger community.
As a leading independent school in the city of Memphis, it is our mission to prepare students to become creative problem solvers, lifelong learners, and responsible citizens in their communities and the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Independent Private Schools Association
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1947

Student Body

Total Students 527 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 17%
Students by Grade Grace-St. Lukes Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 75 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 16 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Dec. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $15,670
Tuition Notes Ranges from $2,925-$15,670 Preschool-8th Grade
% on Financial Aid
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,200
Admissions Director Shelly McGuire


Total Sports Offered 12 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Track and FieldVolleyball,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Honor Council, Honor Society, Thespian Society, Ambassadors Club, Student Council, Yearbook Honor Council, Yearbook, Honor Society, Thespian Society, Ambassadors Club,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Our NAEYC-accredited Miss Lee`s Preschool offers a play-based curriculum that encourages children to seek solutions to various challenges, be they academic, social, or emotional. In Lower School (grades SK-4), we begin our character development program and foster leadership through partnerships with younger students.
  • Our curricula is intentionally selected and taught to foster critical thinking skills, even at the elementary level.
  • Our Middle School program (grades 5-8) develops the whole child-on academic, social, emotional, and physical levels-for the rigors of high school. By fostering independence through leadership opportunities and high academic standards, our students graduate fully prepared for the challenges of high school.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Memphis
    Grades: PK-12 | 861 students
    8.7 miles
    1381 W Massey Rd
    Memphis, TN 38120
  • Memphis
    Grades: PK-8 | 291 students
    0.5 miles
    1669 Central Avenue
    Memphis, TN 38104
  • Memphis
    Grades: PK-8 | 193 students
    0.5 miles
    1669 Central Ave
    Memphis, TN 38104
  • Germantown
    Farmington Presbyterian Day School
    Daycare / Preschool (Christian)
    Grades: PK-KG | 115 students
    12.6 miles
    8245 Farmington Blvd
    Germantown, TN 38139
  • Memphis
    Grades: NS-8 | 348 students
    6.9 miles
    5217 Park Ave
    Memphis, TN 38119

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (8 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
My kids have attended GSL since kindergarten, and we all absolutely love it. The school curriculum is advanced, creative, and engaging. The teachers are amazing. Their devotion to the students is obvious and they''re vital to the progressive, warm environment that makes the school so special. Parental involvement is tops, too -- a great sense of community here. As I said, we love GSL and can't imagine going anywhere else.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
We have been at GSL since both my children were three. As a dual working parent it has been wonderful. I always know my children are engaged, learning, and feel safe. They do no want to leave when I pick them up!!! I really can't imagine being anywhere else!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
GSL was a great place for me to grow up. It was a vital part of the growing up process, and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else. I am so grateful for the abundance of time that I was able to spend at such a welcoming place.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Our son has been at GSL since PK and is now in the 2nd grade. GSL is a remarkable school and he has thrived - both academically and developmentally. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about each child. The sense of community this school fosters is fantastic and we can't imagine sending our son to any other school. As a family with two working parents it's great to know your child is in an environment that is not only academically challenging, but where he is happy and well cared for.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
GSL is a wonderful place of learning in which our son has thrived. He has attended since PreK and is now finishing 1st grade. The school provides a solid academic environment while also bringing out each child's uniqueness and developing each child to their full potential. The teachers and staff are incredible and we are thrilled with our experience at GSL. We look forward to our son attending for years to come.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
I am an extremely proud alumni of Grace-St. Luke's school and on all accounts I believe it to be the greatest school in Memphis, TN. I believe that I can truly speak on all aspects of GSL because I not only attended school there from Mother's Day Out to 8th grade, but I participated in almost every program there. The academics at GSL not only sufficiently prepared me for high school but led me to academic honors both during and after my time there. The teachers genuinely care about each and every student that comes through their doors and they will do whatever means necessary to help his or her students succeed in their class. I was involved in Theatre, Sports, Student Government (as president), and the Clubs offered on campus which set a precedent in my classmates and me of student involvement which has carried over to both my high school and college life. I know for a fact that I would not be the well-rounded person I am today without the values instilled in me at GSL. My parents will also vouch for how much a GSL education pays off after sending three children there.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Both of my children have attended GSL since pre-kindergarten. I am thrilled with our school choice. GSL is a great balance of strong academics with a warm, friendly atmosphere.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   04/27/15
My child has only attended two years so far (PK & JK) but GSL felt like home from the very first week. There are a ton of dual working parents and the school is very helpful in that regard with early drop off included in basic tuition (7 am) and very affordable aftercare until 6 pm. The Moms that are able to be at the school during daytime hours have been great in volunteering and taking the load off of those of us with less flexibility. Our entire family feels part of the school community especially with the GSL church offering sports teams during the pre-school years. We look forward to many years to come at GSL!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 25, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Memphis, TN is $10,185 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Memphis, TN is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).