Mansion Day School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
72 Woodland Avenue
Columbus, OH 43203
Tel: (614)258-4449
Grades: NS-5 | 69 students
previous
next
Mansion Day School is a coeducational Preschool through 5th grade preparatory day school that embraces diversity and instills confidence. The school's challenging curriculum, affirming environment, and high expectations produce a foundation for global leadership development. The entire Mansion Day School community enjoys a strong sense of family. It is here where students know they are valued and celebrated daily in an atmosphere designed to maximize their individual potential.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other special emphasis association(s)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-5

Student Body

Total Students 69 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
100%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Mansion Day School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
25%
Average Class Size 10 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Christy Edwards
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Mansion Day School also viewed these schools: Natural Learning Montessori.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Dublin
    Grades: PK-12 | 93 students
    13.6 miles
    6751 Commerce Pkwy
    Dublin, OH 43017
    (614)889-0811
    13.6PK-12
    93

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5.0  9/1/2016
I spent 10 years with Mansion Day School. I have two children that attended and now one is in high school and the other in middle school. This school is a bustling community that keeps your children on their toes. Both my children were successful here and Ms. Dee works hard at providing unforgettable experiences in teaching and learning. My children still remember lessons and the opportunities that Mansion Day School provided for them. It was an awesome ride and we would do it again!
- Posted by
5.0  9/1/2016
I would highly recommend The Mansion Day School. I sent my daughter to the summer camp. They did " light academic" work in the morning and had fun in the afternoon. She learned more in those 10 weeks than she did the entire year at another private school, so I switched schools for the academic year. The Mansion Day School nurtured her. They taught her how to study and manage her time. She was well prepared for middle school, high school, and college. I believe The Mansion Day School enriched her in a way that no other school could compare.
- Posted by
5.0  9/1/2016
I am grateful that my family found Mansion Day School. From the moment you walk in the door, both my son & I felt like we were home. There is a direct connection between the values I instill at home and what is expected from him at school. The teachers are caring yet stern and they create an environment where my son feels safe to be his authentic self.In addition, there is much room for student exploration in the areas of arts and sciences. From a highly competitive science fair to robotic classes and several musicals that the students put on--there is opportunity for all students to grow and develop at MDS.
- Posted by
5.0  8/5/2016
I have sent my oldest niece to Mansion for their summer enrichment program when she was entering 5th grade and I currently have my daughter attending. My niece was able to reinforce her math skills at Mansion day school over 1 summer and my daughter loves her teacher and the administration and has been adjusting well. In preschool she was already spelling and writing her name and identifying site words within 1 month. As a parent I chose mansion because of their high test scores and family environment. I wanted my children to attend a school where the teachers and administration genuinely care about them and their educational success. Currently I am getting everything that I wanted plus more out of my daughters education at Mansion.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
After considerable debate, I decided to send my two children to Mansion Day School (MDS) for the 2012-2013 academic year. At the time my daughter was 3 (PK) and my son, 9, was entering into the 4th grade. After 2 years in our suburban school district, I realized it was time to make a change. Public schools place such a large emphasis on standardized testing that after receiving "low average" scores on standardized tests, it became clear that they would never expect more than "average" performance from my son. I am a believer that children strive to meet the expectations set for them - if the expectations are high, they rise to the occasion, and when expectations are low they won't strive for much more than that. Because I wanted more than "average" from my children, I made the decision to move them. I was originally concerned that I waited too long to make a change - could this school turn things around in 2 years? And I am proud to share with others that YES, they did. The first 2 months of school were extremely challenging. Higher expectations meant more work, challenging curriculum and increased personal accountability for the students...very different than our previous school. In the beginning, there were late nights and lots of tears...from both of us. Ms. Dee (Head of School) tries to instill a work ethic that is unparalleled to other institutions. As a parent, I was amazed by how quickly the MDS team responded in support of my son and his success. In the words of Ms. Dee - failure was not an option. The teachers and staff went above and beyond to help him get caught up and the small setting allowed the teachers to adjust their teaching style to meet his individual needs. He was in an environment that allowed him to be his best self EVERY DAY. After the first trimester, my son's perspective about school changed drastically. His confidence shot through the roof and he expected more from himself. Mansion has a culture of achievement that is embraced by the students, families and staff. My son is forever changed by his 2 years at MDS. The tears he once had because of the work, soon became tears of sadness at the thought of leaving. Now a graduate and a student of one of the most prestigious schools in Columbus, he is equipped with the foundation to be successful, confidence to be bold and belief that the sky is the limit. Thank You Mansion Day School for all that you are!
- Posted by
5.0  1/1/2016
The Radcliff's LOVE and BELIEVE in Mansion Day School! With both my husband and I being educators, we understand the importance of building a strong foundation in children early. Our children spent different grade levels/years at the school before we relocated to the south and we are so grateful for the head start that they received! From the rigorous academic programs, to the music and art programs, Mansion taught our children to compete in the classroom early and helped them build a self confidence that still exists 8 years later. Both of our children are presidents award winners, gifted identified, and honors students. Both of them also excel socially, athletically, and in the arts. We are grateful and give thanks to the incredible owners (Ms. Dee and Peter James) and the awesome teachers for the amazing start that they gave our children!
- Posted by
5.0  6/24/2014
As firm believers in the education process, it was imperative that we find a school that would challenge our son. He had been a student at Goddard; therefore, we knew it was important to find a place that could not only keep his interests but raise his level of awareness educationally as well as personally to another level. We had been prepared to send him back to Goddard but once we toured Mansion and talked with Dee and Peter James, the heads of the school, we realized that Mansion could do the things that we were looking for. Six years later, to say we are happy with the results would be an understatement! Academically our son is at a level that he can and will compete with other children in his age group from around the world. Socially we feel confident that he will be able to handle any situation that may come his way in life because of the foundation of personal growth and responsibility that Mansion helped to developed within him. So at the end of our six years with Mansion, we were satisfied and knew that we had made the right decision to send our son to Mansion based on his tears and ours! We just say that the magic at Mansion is truly for real! -
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Columbus, OH is $12,840 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Columbus, OH is 76% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).