Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy

Tel: (435)867-5555
Grades: 9-12 | 18 students
previous
next
Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy is a transitional boarding school which helps students graduating from either a residential treatment level of care or wilderness program to prepare for their next step in life.
MSPA is not a therapeutic boarding school but therapy is available from trained professionals in the community who work with MSPA and understand our unique mission and philosophy.
MSPA is focused on helping students acclimate back into society.
We utilize a solution-focused model that allows students the opportunity to make choices and assess how much the students have internalized the skills they have learned in their prior treatment.
Rather than using behavioral consequences with the students, our mentors utilize supportive relationships as the agent for encouraging change.
Education at Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy combines the best of traditional education with a unique emphasis on building self-esteem and addressing core issues.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
Grades Offered Grades 9-12

Student Body

Total Students 18 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
28%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 4 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 4 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling

Nearby Private Schools

The nearest high school is Moonridge Academy (5.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Moonridge Academy (5.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Cedar City
    Moonridge Academy
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    Grades: 8-11 | 5 students
    5.7 miles
    Po Box 1067
    Cedar City, UT 84721
    (435)586-9585
    5.78-11
    5
  • Virgin
    Falcon Ridge Ranch
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    Grades: 6-12 | 22 students
    29.6 miles
    Po Box 790099
    Virgin, UT 84779
    (435)635-5260
    29.66-12
    22
  • Hurricane
    Liahona Academy
    All-boys  | Alternative School
    Grades: 7-12 | 48 students
    33.7 miles
    325 West 600 North
    Hurricane, UT 84737
    (435)635-8515
    33.77-12
    48
  • Hurricane
    Diamond Ranch Academy
    Alternative School
    Grades: 7-12 | 145 students
    33.9 miles
    1500 E 2700 S
    Hurricane, UT 84737
    (435)635-4297
    33.97-12
    145
  • Hurricane
    Grades: 7-12 | 46 students
    34.4 miles
    65 N 1150 W
    Hurricane, UT 84737
    (435)256-1492
    34.47-12
    46

School Reviews

MSPA provided very good classroom instruction and a positive environment for our son Sean. He responded well to the personalized instruction and aced his college-prep courses. This was a dramatic turn-around from Sean's academic performance a year earlier when he received all Fs. Sean attended MSPA after completing the program at Island View in Salt Lake. Island View helped a lot in Sean's turn-around. MSPA provide the right environment for Sean to continue his progress. Sean wanted to attend college after graduation, but didn't start looking at schools until late January. We were impressed by the individual counseling and encouragement that Ariel provided. Sean was able to get into an excellent college and enrolled the following September.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
I am an alumni of Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy. I can honestly say, MSPA helped me personally and academically. I got to graduate a year early from high school. During my time at MSPA, I made a variety of friends and some of these friends have become fairly important to me. MSPA doesn't judge based on anything. They accept and help everyone who is admitted to the school, if the students'' are dedicated to receive help and such.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/17/16
Mountain Springs is an excellent school designed to help get its students back on track with real world experiences to learn from. Before MSPA I went to a wilderness program, and even though I was under the initial impression that 8 weeks in the middle of nowhere was enough, I would have slipped back into my old self if I went home. Mountain Springs gave me a place I could challenge myself. When I slipped I had people there who genuinely cared and who would help me back to my feet, and when I succeeded, I had people who believed in me. This is still the real world and if I did not want to change it did not matter where my parents would have sent me, I would have failed. I learned I wanted to change because the old me wouldn't have even half the life I have now. The people who work at Mountain Springs are some of the best people I have ever met in my life and I am thankful for them for every day I have where I am not the old me.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/17/16
The staff and teachers are very caring and get to know each student in order to motivate them to work on what they individually need. The classrooms and houses are clean and organized. Students are accepted unconditionally and feel they belong. Our daughter attended and had a positive, growing experience where she learned to deal with life's ups and downs in healthy ways.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
MSPA was a transforming juncture in our daughter's journey. The milieu of staff, students, school, peer socializing, activities, responsibilities, accountability created a real life setting for growth in a safe environment. The staff's dynamic engagement with our daughter was a surrogate for our love at a time when we did not have the skills or energy to reach her with our love. We were locked out of her world. MSPA is unique. There are many schools on the web that have glossy websites and promises. My sense is that MSPA is in a class of their own. The school is a gold standard for staff that cared for our daughter 24/7 in a deeply meaningful way. Their words and actions reflected an unwavering belief in her and love for her. MSPA stands out in the application of a matrix system that offers students and parents a concrete chart of the baseline and the progress of growth. The program facilitates the integration of meaningful behavior change. This is vastly different from the behavior of compliance-only-to-graduate from other programs which results in superficial change and the return to old behavior patterns once students graduate. This is not a nuance. It is the difference between an investment of time and money and a waste of time and money. Our daughter graduated four years ago. She has integrity and is growing into her values. There are opportunities within her grasp that without MSPA would not have been an option.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
In 2012, I began my sixteen month long journey at Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy. I came to MSPA as a scared and lonely sixteen year old girl with a sassy and resistant attitude. After all, this was my fifth treatment center, it was understandable I was a bit frustrated! I won't say Mountain Springs is a walk in the park. I learned very quickly that in order to change, one must want to change, and at first I was very resistant to this thought. That being said, once I made the decision that I could not continue living life the way I was living it, the students and staff alike were there ready to support me. I became a straight A student, got involved with triathlons and horseback riding outside of school, was voted to be Vice President of student council by my peers, helped put on MSPA's first prom and truly learned to love my life. I am now an Honor's student at University of Portland and am working for my school newspaper (one of my three jobs). None of this would have been possible without Mountain Springs. I continue to stay in touch with two of my mentors, Greg Allred and Scott Jakubowski. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone who needs a little extra support. With a little hard work and dedication, Mountain Springs has changed my life for the better and has made me realize, I can conquer the world! Thank you MSPA!
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/12/16

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Utah is $6,403 for elementary schools and $10,887 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Utah is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).