New School Of Monmouth County

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
301 Middle Road
Holmdel, NJ 07733-0773
Tel: (732)787-7900
Grades: K-8 | 52 students
previous
At The New School of Monmouth County, memories are captured and shared for a lifetime.
next
At The New School of Monmouth County, memories are captured and shared for a lifetime.

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded 1969

Student Body

Total Students 52 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
8%
State avg.: 31%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
100%
Average Class Size 18 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline May. 1
Yearly Tuition Cost $11,950
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • New York
    Grades: NS-8 | 164 students
    23.2 miles
    111 E 22nd St
    New York, NY 10010
    (646)410-2238
    23.2NS-8
    164
  • Long Branch
    Grades: NS-8 | 201 students
    12 miles
    345 Second Ave
    Long Branch, NJ 07740
    (732)222-6464
    12NS-8
    201
  • Lincroft
    Grades: K-9 | 598 students
    6.4 miles
    550 Newman Springs Rd
    Lincroft, NJ 07738
    (732)741-3133
    6.4K-9
    598
  • Wynantskill
    Grades: PK-6 | 273 students
    159.1 miles
    42 Dana Ave
    Wynantskill, NY 12198
    (518)283-0333
    159.1PK-6
    273
  • Brooklyn
    Grades: PK-8 | 215 students
    20.9 miles
    650 Livonia Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11207
    (718)498-7175
    20.9PK-8
    215

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
The New School of Monmouth County is innovative in its hands-on, project-based and holistic approach to education, and allows children to explore learning far beyond the boundaries that traditional lesson plans dictate. Children are taught to learn with open minds and to care for those around them with open hearts. If you are looking for an educational utopia, this is a close as it gets. TNS fosters a life-long love of learning and allows children to follow their own path towards knowledge. Encouraged with enthusiasm, limited only by themselves, an ever-evolving and fluid curriculum allows children to continually and fully explore a wide variety of subjects. No arbitrary grading system, no tests to fret over, and no homework to impinge on family time or free play, the sky is the limit. Here at the The New School, children never cram to learn for the test, because life isn't just about the test. Best of all, children truly love going here. The New School of Monmouth County teaches tomorrow's leaders - today.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
The New School is a fabulous environment for kids to grow and learn. Its strength is it develops each child by emphasizing a love of learning (bootm up) instead of top down rote learning. As a result the children are incredibly well adjusted, very strong communicators, taught how to handle conflict resolution and allowed to become real people who are never affraid to engage adults directly and look to understand why and how. the instructors are excellent, the facilities are limited but this also adds to the group feeling from the students of "it's our school." We''re thrilled and see this as a springboard for bigger and better things in our children's lives.
- Posted by
5.0  5/13/2016
The New School is incredible!! I could stop there but I want to take the time to try to explain why. I say try because it may take a visit to TNS to really understand what this amazing place is all about. TNS is far from new! Susan Chilvers founded it almost 46 years ago and is still the director of the school. She is unlike any school director you will ever meet always ready to share a story and always there to listen to yours! She is a hands on director walking into each and every class room being an integral part of their learning knowing each and every child and family personally. Her teachers have been with her for many many years. TNS is a welcoming family I am glad to call ours. The minute you walk in you will feel at home. If you happen to visit in February you may get lucky and visit on soup day! A delicious smell will come from the kitchen centered in this lovely house! This is one of the many traditions The New School has to offer. One of my favorites is Gingerbread Night in December and I am looking forward to our first Boat Day in the summer. TNS follows the traditional curriculum but in a non traditional way. There is no homework and there is no testing. At TNS Children learn because they love to learn not because they need to score high for a test. Children will have time to play and spend time with their friends and family instead of being worried about hours and hours of homework. At TNS there is time for outdoor play and an unhurried lunch with friends. There is time for the arts because it is an important part of learning. There is time for a talk at drop off and pick up because you and your child are important. There is room for parents to participate in their child's learning. At TNS children learn to LOVE learning and will do so at their own pace in a multi aged group. There are 3 classes: The little class (K-2nd grade ), the middle class (3rd 5th grade) and the older class (6th 8th grade). Each year a theme is chosen around which projects and learning evolve. This year's theme is community and culture. The children will work on projects within their own class but will also have a chance to connect with children from the other classes creating opportunities to learn from each other and to teach each other as well. Naturally while working with each other conflicts may arise. Conflict resolution is at the core of the school's believe system. Children will learn early on how to resolve conflict which will benefit them for the rest of their social and professional life. Even though our children have not been at the new school for that long, we can already see tremendous change. They are more confident and compassionate in the way they communicate with each other and with us as parents. They have become more independent, creative and passionate learners and thinkers. As a parent it makes me smile a big smile and I am thankful to have found TNS each and every day I drop the kids off. We are lucky to live close to TNS but I have seen people drive as far as an hour back and forth to have their children learn at TNS. I have seen people move for TNS. It is that amazing of a place.
- Posted by
5.0  5/4/2016
I love that the school recognizes the individual potential in every student and does everything possible to foster a favorable learning environment for that student to do their own personal best. I love that my child comes home energized and not burned out. I love that her flame is fanned and not extinguished. I love that unlike traditional education, her only competition is herself - which motivates her from within to do better than she would in a arbitrary, artificial environment of tests, grades, and busy-work that comes home. I love that the teachers know the kids so well that their "report cards" are individualized conferences and in-depth, written summaries of their work. I love that the children have so much freedom to be themselves but that the freedom comes with the requisite responsibility and maturity that is necessary to keep the freedom. I love that every conflict is used as a teachable moment rather than as a punishable offense. I wish I could turn back the clock and send my other two children there. Although they are also independent thinkers, it would have been easier for my family if the environment we nurtured at home was echoed in their school environment. The transition from home to TNS is seamless, as their philosophy is aligned with ours. For the other two in Public Ed, if felt as if every value we instilled here at home was undermined in school, and the transition from home to school and vice versa was fractured. This was extremely confusing to my children and unsettling to me, as I felt that I had to continually buck the system to advocate for my children's inherent right to be autonomous individuals rather than one in a collective group that just regurgitated facts without grasping true knowledge.
- Posted by
5.0  1/1/2016
The New School has not only been a gift to our children but also to us as parents. The school has embedded a such love of learning within our children that they are so excited to go to school everyday. The school's approach to education utilizes all the senses as well as the outdoors within the learning process whereby the children are not relegated to sitting at the same desk all-day long. Also, through the project based component the children identify and collaborate on projects of their choosing. This teaches them the lifelong skills of exploration, problem solving, conflict resolution and communication. Through the process they become self-motivated learners who not only ask questions - but take the initiative to utilize their resources to find the answers. We are extremely thrilled with the independent thinkers and learners our children are becoming. We could not recommend this school enough to interested prospective parents!
- Posted by
5.0  9/18/2014
We love the New School. Our boys are growing into caring, intelligent, and thoughtful young men with the gentle guidance and atmosphere of curiosity here. We could not be more pleased that they are in such a safe and nurturing school environment.
- Posted by
5.0  5/21/2012
Awesome, incredible, unusual curriculum where my children learned how to love learning, challenges and how to think for themselves, as well as how to take an active role in their learning process. Wish there were more "New Schools" around!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Monmouth County, NJ is $10,800 for elementary schools and $16,573 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Monmouth County, NJ is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).