Northwest Christian School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
16401 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85053-0850
Tel: (602)978-5134
Grades: NS-12 | 1298 students
The purpose of Northwest Christian School is to provide an educational program which upholds a standard of scholastic and behavioral excellence, furnishes instruction in biblically-based Christian faith which enables students to develop a Christian world view, and prepares students to fulfill their God-ordained role in the home, the church, their country, and the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
AdvancED
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-12
Year Founded 1980

Student Body

Total Students 1298 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
17%
State avg.: 36%
Students by Grade Northwest Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 67 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 20:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
34%
Average Class Size 23 students
Number of AP Courses 5 courses
Advanced Courses Anatomy & Physiology, AP English 5-6, AP English 7-8, Calculus 3-4, Physics 3-4
Average SAT score 1104
Average ACT score 22
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(solid color polos, uniform or cargo shorts, Dockers-style pants)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $7,656
Tuition Notes MDO - toddlers: $5.00/hr.; 2-day preschool: $2002; 3-day preschool: $2563; 5-day preschool: $3,487; half-day K: $5027; full-day K: $6226; Elementary: $6226; 6th Grade: $6523; Middle School $ 7513; High School: $8448 annually. Monthly payment plan availab
% on Financial Aid
5%
Acceptance Rate
97%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Michelle Reddy
Admissions Associate Amber Perona

Sports

Total Sports Offered 15 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Bowling, Cheering, Cross Country, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter Track, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
BowlingCheering,
Cross CountryFlag Football,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
TennisTrack and Field,
VolleyballWinter Track,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 32 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Adventure Cru Club, Ambassadors Club, Book Buddies, Bowling Club, Cheer, Chinese Adventures, Christian Warriors/Mart. Arts, Crusader Chess Club, Crusader Golf, Crusadettes on the Run, Cub Scouts, Drama, Finger Talkers, Girl Scouts, Guitar: Beginning, Guitar: Intermediate, JumpBunch, Junior Crusaders: Sports, Junior National Honors Society, Kindermusik, Machines and Mechanics, Math Busters, Mathletes, Music Theater Workshop, National Honors Society, Phonics Intensive, Praise Band, Public Speaking 1, Robotics, Social Etiquette Fun, Young Marines, ipad Movie Making Book Buddies, Bowling Club, Cheer, Crusader Golf, Cub Scouts, Drama, Finger Talkers, Girl Scouts, JumpBunch, Kindermusik, Math Busters, Mathletes, Praise Band, Robotics, Young Marines, Adventure Cru Club,
Ambassadors Club,
Chinese Adventures,
Christian Warriors/Mart. Arts,
Crusader Chess Club,
Crusadettes on the Run,
Guitar: Beginning,
Guitar: Intermediate,
Junior Crusaders: Sports,
Junior National Honors Society,
Machines and Mechanics,
Music Theater Workshop,
National Honors Society,
Phonics Intensive,
Public Speaking 1,
Social Etiquette Fun,
ipad Movie Making,

School Notes

  • Applications are currently being accepted for the 2015-16 school year.

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Phoenix
    Grades: PK-12 | 426 students
    10.2 miles
    1751 W Indian School Road
    Phoenix, AZ 85015
    (602)265-4707
    10.2PK-12
    426
  • Phoenix
    Grades: NS-12 | 787 students
    9.8 miles
    14400 N Tatum Blvd
    Phoenix, AZ 85032
    (602)992-5100
    9.8NS-12
    787
  • Milwaukee
    Wisconsin Lutheran High School
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    Grades: 9-12 | 758 students
    1453.1 miles
    330 N Glenview Ave
    Milwaukee, WI 53213
    (414)453-4567
    1453.19-12
    758
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1750 students
    1007 miles
    13077 Westella Dr
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-7900
    1007PK-12
    1750
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1206 students
    1015.1 miles
    7455 Awty School Ln
    Houston, TX 77055
    (713)684-4850
    1015.1PK-12
    1206

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
I am an extremely picky former home school mom of 5 years. This school sounded too good to be true, but after 3 years, I can honestly say it has exceeded my expectations. My child is a freshman now and is involved in the Adventure Club (hiking, shooting, climbing), band, football, mission trips, discipleship groups, student government, weight training and theater. His classes challenge him and he is seeking a leadership scholarship to Grand Canyon University and excels with technology. The freshman class is really tight, and I feel blessed beyond measure at the circle of friends NCS has put around him. The superintendent's door is always open and I attend the monthly Coffee with the Principals; parent participation makes this school great too without the drama and financial challenges other private schools seem to be troubled with. It is the best decision we could have made.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
This is my 3rd year at Northwest Christian School and I''m so proud that my children attend this school. The school offers so many activities, sports for students to be a part of no matter what their age or interests. The junior high school and high school sports programs are amazing. The classroom instruction is stellar--my children are getting a solid education elementary age through high school. But, most importantly they are surrounded by good people: their teachers, administration, and friends. God's light shines on this campus in all they do. So blessed that my children can be a part of NCS.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
HI, I am the grandparent of one of your kindergarten students and would like some information on several of your extra-curricular programs. 1. Cub Scouts 2. Chess Club 3. Book Buddies Thanks Tom Shelby
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Northwest Christian School has impressed me in a number of ways. The teachers are certified by ACSI and the Arizona Department of Education. Each of the teachers and staff members my children interacted with truly cared about them. My children have been prayed for, prayed with and encouraged. Academically each of my children was challenged at their level of need. My three kids came in three flavors. One needed academic support and another needed academic challenge. We found both at NCS. Socially my children found their niche in athletics and fine arts. We have continually been blessed to be a part of NCS.
- Posted by
5.0  4/4/2013
It is a joy to teach at Northwest. I strive to bring biblical truths in every subject and enjoy teaching children the Word of God. The staff prays together and works cohesively as one team working toward a common goal: to train young people to have a biblical worldview in an ever changing world.
- Posted by
5.0  1/8/2013
What a blessing NCS has been to our three kids; all are considered lifers. NCS prepared them for their Chrisitian Walk and World View, College, Life as a Christian in a World lacking Christian Values. Have no regrets what so ever in sendin our kids to NCS and investing the thousands of dollars; more than well worth it! An investment that has infinite value and last many lifetimes and generations to come.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Phoenix, AZ is $7,980 for elementary schools and $15,858 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Phoenix, AZ is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).