Oldfields School

Tel: (410)472-4800
Grades: 8-12 | 184 students
previous
If theater is you passion, then come to Oldfields!  We produce excellent plays and musicals.  We also offer a Directing course, where each student casts and produces a play of her choosing.
next
If theater is you passion, then come to Oldfields!  We produce excellent plays and musicals.  We also offer a Directing course, where each student casts and produces a play of her choosing.
Oldfields School is committed to the intellectual and moral development of young women.
In a culture of kindness and mutual respect, we encourage each student to make the most of her academic and personal potential.
We seek to guide each student to grow in character, confidence, and knowledge by encouraging her to embrace the values of personal honesty, intellectual curiosity, and social responsibility.
Our motto - Fortezza, Umilitade, e Largo Core - Courage, Humility, and Largeness of Heart, are the core values and beliefs that define our school culture.

School Overview

Grades Offered Grades 8-12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia, Language-based, Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1867

Student Body

Total Students 184 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color
21%
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade Oldfields School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
67%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $50,522
Tuition Notes 5-day Boarding: $48,639 Day: $31,003
% on Financial Aid
16%
Average Financial Aid Grant $30,000
Acceptance Rate
46%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Allison A. Letourneau
Admissions Associate Tom Faxon

Sports

Total Sports Offered 15 sports
Sports Badminton, Ballet, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Indoor Soccer, Lacrosse, Sailing, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBadmintonBallet,
Cross CountryDance,
EquestrianField Hockey,
Indoor SoccerLacrosse,
SailingSoccer,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 24 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art and Design, Asian Culture Club, Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition, Black Awareness Club, Design Club, Dubious Dozen (a cappella), Eco Club, Environmental Club, F.O.C.U.S., Gay Straight Alliance, Images (a cappella), Jewish Culture Club, Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, School Literary Journal, Steppers, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol, Yearbook, Yoga, Young Democrats, Young Republicans Art and Design, Design Club, Eco Club, F.O.C.U.S., Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, Steppers, Yearbook, Yoga, Asian Culture Club,
Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition,
Black Awareness Club,
Dubious Dozen (a cappella),
Environmental Club,
Gay Straight Alliance,
Images (a cappella),
Jewish Culture Club,
School Literary Journal,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Council,
Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol,
Young Democrats,
Young Republicans,

School Notes

Please join us for our Open House:
  • Sunday, October 26th, 2014- 1:00pm-3:00pm
Please join us for our Webinar Series:
  • A Student's Perspective: October 21st, 2014- 7:00pm
  • A Parent's Perspective: October 29th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Academics at Oldfields: November 5th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Athletics and Riding at Oldfields: November 11th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • The Arts at Oldfields: November 18th, 2014- 7:00pm
Register here: 
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1496&LockSSL=true
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1405&LockSSL=true

Profile last updated: 05/26/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Towson
     Notre Dame Preparatory School
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12 | 813 students
    9.7 miles
    815 Hampton Lane
    Towson, MD 21286
    (410)825-6202
    9.76-12
    813
  • Lutherville
    Maryvale Preparatory School
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12 | 416 students
    9.1 miles
    11300 Falls Road
    Lutherville, MD 21093
    (410)252-3366
    9.16-12
    416
  • Stevenson
    St. Timothy's School
    All-girls (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12 | 200 students
    10.5 miles
    8400 Greenspring Avenue
    Stevenson, MD 21153
    (410)486-7401
    10.59-12
    200
  • Kensington
    Academy Of The Holy Cross
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 550 students
    43.8 miles
    4920 Strathmore Ave
    Kensington, MD 20895
    (301)942-2100
    43.89-12
    550
  • Baltimore
    Grades: NS-12 | 686 students
    13.5 miles
    5204 Roland Avenue
    Baltimore, MD 21210
    (410)323-5500
    13.5NS-12
    686

School Reviews

5.0  3/16/2012
We are so happy with our choice to send our daughter to Oldfields. She has blossomed into a beautiful young woman and her grades have improved immensely. It has been a success story for her. We visited many schools and right away we knew this was a good fit for her. The girls were friendly and the staff nurturing. The warm care from the staff has continued throughout the year. I loved working with the Director of Boarding Admission and knew she was a great role model for my daughter. I thought the Admission Office, Office of the Head of School had a direct approach and knew her students well. My daughter thought of her as grandmotherly and even goes up to hug her. Academically, my daughter is challenged and when she needs extra help, she knows she has several opportunities and sources to go to. I am so happy to see her interest in the sciences and she loves the hands on opportunities the school provides. As she puts it, "I really get it." She is mastering Spanish and loves her art class. We are so proud of her accomplishments academically and discovering on how to be a beautiful young woman.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Baltimore County, MD is $8,612 for elementary schools and $16,051 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Baltimore County, MD is 78% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).