Palmetto Bay Academy

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
16637 S Dixie Hwy
Miami, FL 33157
Tel: (786)293-5353
Grades: 6-12 | 34 students
Palmetto Bay Academy provides a top quality educational alternative for secondary students who desire a small, nurturing environment. Our program has a proven record of success with students who aren't reaching their full potential in traditional public or private schools.
We offer rigorous academics in a socially and emotionally supportive setting.
All levels of instruction are available, from remedial to Advanced Placement.
Our goal is to help students develop the values, motivation, and self-reliance that will successfully prepare them for the future.

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other special emphasis association(s)
Alternative School Network
National Coalition of Alternative Community Schools
Other school association(s)
Grades Offered Grades 6-12
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, Processing, Gifted, Autism/Aspergers
Year Founded 2000

Student Body

Total Students 34 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
53%
State avg.: 33%
Students by Grade Palmetto Bay Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 5 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
Average ACT score 24
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(khaki pants or skirt, polo with school logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $22,750
Tuition Notes Application fee of $75 (includes diagnostic testing for placement purposes). Additional registration fees of $500 for new students and an annual book & course fee of $750.
% on Financial Aid
25%
Admissions Director Maggie Eubanks
Admissions Associate John Eubanks

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Basketball, Books to Movies Club, Chess and Games Club, Cooking Club, Creative Writing Club, Design Club, Destination Imagination, Fitness Club, Robotics Club, Showcase/Performing Arts Club, Speech & Debate, Yearbook Basketball, Cooking Club, Design Club, Fitness Club, Robotics Club, Yearbook, Books to Movies Club,
Chess and Games Club,
Creative Writing Club,
Destination Imagination,
Showcase/Performing Arts Club,
Speech & Debate,

School Notes

  • Small class size (maximum 8 students)
  • Challenging academic content
  • Integrated computer technology
  • Online courses with audio and streaming video
  • Curriculum customized to student's level
  • Study skills and organizational strategies
  • Long and short term goal setting
  • Higher-level thinking, not memorization
  • Self-paced instruction
  • Accelerate learning or recapture credits
  • Nurturing, home-like environment
  • Field trips and enrichment activities
  • Community service component
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Palmetto Bay Academy also viewed these schools: Ransom Everglades School, St Brendan Catholic High School and Carpe Diem Academia.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Coconut Grove
    Grades: 6-12 | 1085 students
    9.7 miles
    3575 Main Hwy
    Coconut Grove, FL 33133
    (305)460-8800
    9.76-12
    1085
  • Miami
    Grades: 9-12 | 1165 students
    8.7 miles
    2950 Sw 87th Ave
    Miami, FL 33165
    (305)223-5181
    8.79-12
    1165
  • Miami
    Carpe Diem Academia
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 38 students
    0.5 miles
    15924 Sw 92nd Ave
    Miami, FL 33157
    (305)971-1230
    0.5K-12
    38

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
The best school that we have had for our children's, we have been blessed for finding this school. We strongly recommend it and we congratulate Ms. Gross and the staff.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Without trying to be overly dramatic, I would have to say that Palmetto Bay Academy saved my son's life and got him back on the road to academic and personal success. My very bright son went from missing over 70 days of 11th grade due to illness with failing grades, no interest in college and behavioral issues to being the valedictorian of the Palmetto Bay Academy class of 2014 and getting into all 10 colleges he applied to. The guidance and positive acceptance of this child by PBA teachers and staff put my son back in the academic world and inspired him to turn everything around in his life. We can never be grateful enough for what Palmetto Bay Academy did for our son.
- Posted by
5.0  4/14/2016
Our son had lost direction and motivation for school. He had tested as gifted his entire and did well until middle school. We tried several high schools for him but he always seemed to get "lost" with teachers that didn't inspire him to learn or grow. We thought that there was nowhere left to try until an academic counselor suggested PBA. Our son is finishing high school there in the next two months and has been admitted to eight different colleges and is on the waitlist for three others. The school offered a personalized approach to our son's needs and got him to see the "goal line" and finish high school with a very respectable GPA. Thanks PBA!! PS Maggie Eubanks is great!!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
The excellence of the faculty members at any school is a major factor in the quality of education you receive and this is one of the main advantages of attending PBA very supportive and qualified faculty. Failing is not an option.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Mrs. Gross is the best !! She made all the difference in the world for our son. We feel blessed to have had her as a teacher, director and supportive human being. Great faculty too!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
PBA has a unique learning environment where our son was finally able to do well in school. There is no place like it! He has been at several private/boarding schools that have all claimed to be dedicated to helping him succeed, but this is the first school that showed us they meant it! Mrs. Gross and all of the teachers are truly dedicated to helping students find a pathway to achieving their full potential! They CARE! We are so grateful to have found this school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Miami, FL is $12,451 for elementary schools and $14,014 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Miami, FL is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).