Philosophy Day School

5.00 (6 reviews)
12 East 79th Street
New York, NY 10075-0100
Tel: (212)744-7300
Grades: NS-5 | 111 students
The Philosophy Day School was founded in 1994 by parents who wanted their children to have the finest education possible.
It finds its genesis in the Ark Nursery and Kindergarten established in 1975 and expanded into the Abraham Lincoln School in 1994.
Philosophy Day School, our current name, more clearly acknowledges the principles and origins of the school.
The mission of the Philosophy Day School is to provide a rigorous classical education incorporating knowledge and approaches to life from Eastern and Western civilizations.
We help students develop honesty, integrity, character and a life-long love for the pursuit of wisdom as a foundation for a happy, successful and generous life.
The school serves students in Nursery through Grade 5.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Institute for Independent Education
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-5

Student Body

Total Students 111 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Philosophy Day School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 15 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Yearly Tuition Cost $27,500
Admissions Director Elizabeth Katz
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Philosophy Day School also viewed these schools: The Town School, School Of The Blessed Sacrament School, Friends Seminary, Calhoun School and Leman Manhattan Preparatory School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • New York
    The Town School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-K | 153 students
    0.9 miles
    540 E 76th St
    New York, NY 10021
  • New York
    Grades: PK-8 | 280 students
    0.9 miles
    147 W 70th St
    New York, NY 10023
  • New York
    Grades: KG-12 | 728 students
    3.2 miles
    222 E 16th St
    New York, NY 10003
  • New York
    Grades: K-12 | 610 students
    1.1 miles
    433 W End Ave
    New York, NY 10024
  • New York
    Grades: PK-12 | 750 students
    5.5 miles
    41 Broad St. & 1 Morris St.
    New York, NY 10004

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (6 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
We love Philosophy Day! Our daughter has been there for many years, and is excited to go every day. The school is like a large caring family, with everyone sitting together for lunch including the headmaster. The academics are top notch, but just as important is the commitment to "character development" (something I see in my daughter as a direct result of the school). The teachers are all devoted to the children & I don't know of a child who doesn't love the school. From Shakespeare to Sanskrit, Mozart to Yoga, the children are exposed to a world of knowledge. The parents are especially diverse which gives the school a wonderful international feeling. No one has an "attitude." We have friends & family at many Manhattan private schools, so we know Philosophy Day School is truly special.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Posted July 4, 2012 Philosophy Day School is one of a kind. Our son has been in the School for the past 5 years and we have been consistently satisfied with the academics and the personal development of our child. The individualized attention the children receive on a daily basis is unprecedented. Excellent sports program, outstanding music and drama curriculum (children sing Mozart and perform Shakespeare plays) and above all provides a strong classical education that opens the doors to the the most renowned Schools. Math is also a strong aspect of the curriculum. Philosophy Day School attracts many international families that add to the uniqueness of this School. Don't miss the School Tour where you''ll have a chance to visit a beautiful building and meet the brilliant Headmaster.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Philosophy Day School is a gem on the Upper East Side. While the academics at the school are of a very high standard and the small class size ensures plenty of individual attention, what sets this school apart from others is it's true dedication to developing children of character and instilling a love of learning so that the children love going to school. We have seen our children develop into confident individuals who really care about their classmates.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   10/06/12
Truly an academic gem. An oasis of knowledge. Our second year in PDS and it just got better. Believe it or not parents of higher grades swear that it gets even better. Looking forward to enroll our youngest child also.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/27/12
I have a daughter in 3rd grade and the academics are very strong. The music and drama are truly wonderful, but best of all is the kind, courteous and respectful atmosphere throughout. They teach character and values and love of learning.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   06/20/12
This school is a gem. We have two sons there, and though they are very different, both have thrived -- the older one is graduating this year, having gotten into five schools, including our top choice. The teachers love their calling, and they are led by an inspired headmaster. Academics and the arts are valued highly -- the concerts, plays and art are magnificent -- and character development is taken seriously too. The philosophy is that children are capable of more than is usually demanded of them. A wonderful, loving environment -- they are helping raise terrific children there.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York, NY is $17,677 for elementary schools and $33,996 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York, NY is 62% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).