Richmond Christian School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
6511 Belmont Rd.
Chesterfield, VA 23832-0238
Tel: (804)276-3193
Grades: K-12 | 275 students
previous
Newly crowned homecoming king with our elementary attendants (children of alumni).
next
Newly crowned homecoming king with our elementary attendants (children of alumni).
Richmond Christian School is a co-educational, college preparatory, Christian day school for students from K5 to the 12th grade.
The school is set on 33 acres in Chesterfield County, southwest of Richmond, Virginia, and is easily accessible to major highways. Richmond Christian School currently serves approximately 220 students representing over 190 families who attend around 100 different churches.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Year Founded 1951

Student Body

Total Students 275 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
26%
State avg.: 26%
Students by Grade Richmond Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
30%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 10 courses
Advanced Courses AP Art History, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Computer Science, AP English Lang. & Comp., AP Literature & Comp., AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP US Government, AP US History, AP World History
Average SAT score 1550
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Special dress on Chapel Day)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $6,200
Tuition Notes Multi-child discounts available. Tuition is payable over 12 months.
% on Financial Aid
5%
Average Financial Aid Grant $2,000
Acceptance Rate
85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Trevor Collazo, Principal
Admissions Associate Glenda Raborn, Guidance

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Chapel Praise Teams, Chess Club, Drama Club, Handbell Choirs, NHS & NJHS, School Spirit Club, Science & Math Club, Signs of Glory, Spanish Honor Society, Student Government, Video/Graphic Design Club Art Club, Chess Club, Drama Club, NHS & NJHS, Signs of Glory, Chapel Praise Teams,
Handbell Choirs,
School Spirit Club,
Science & Math Club,
Spanish Honor Society,
Student Government,
Video/Graphic Design Club,

School Notes

  • RichmondChristian School exists to support families in their Biblical responsibility to nurture and train their children. Thus, Richmond Christian School provides opportunities which allow students to realize their God-given potential in the spiritual, academic, social, physical, and vocational realms.

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Richmond Christian School also viewed these schools: Millwood School, Banner Christian School, The Steward School, Trinity Episcopal School and St. Christopher's School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Midlothian
    Grades: PK-12 | 217 students
    10.1 miles
    15100 Millwood School Ln
    Midlothian, VA 23112
    (804)639-3200
    10.1PK-12
    217
  • Richmond
    Grades: K-12 | 204 students
    3.1 miles
    1501 S. Providence Rd
    Richmond, VA 23236
    (804)276-5200
    3.1K-12
    204
  • Richmond
    Grades: PK-12
    12.4 miles
    11600 Gayton Rd
    Richmond, VA 23238
    (804)740-3394
    12.4PK-12
    n/a
  • Richmond
    Grades: 8-12 | 500 students
    8 miles
    3850 Pittaway Dr
    Richmond, VA 23235
    (804)272-5864
    88-12
    500
  • Richmond
    St. Christopher's School
    All-boys (Episcopal)
    Grades: NS-12 | 1005 students
    8.8 miles
    711 Saint Christophers Road
    Richmond, VA 23226
    (804)282-3185
    8.8NS-12
    1005

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
My children have attended RCS since Kindergarden. Every teacher we have had has been an amazing example for my children. The teachers are very committed to what they do and it's clear they are there because they love the children. It's not a job for them it is a calling and a mission. I am thankful to every one of them and the time and attention they have poured into my children. My kids have excelled academically and I am thankful for what the have NOT learned in public school.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I am a mother of a wonderful daughter who now attends RCS. I graduated from RCS many years ago. RCS gave me a secure foundation, good education, but more importantly it gave me a very strong faith, belief and relationship with the Lord. After graduation, I choose to go into the medical field so I could help and minister to others. I did not have any problems getting into a great university and medical school. In fact, I did quite well. My daughter is also enjoying attending RCS. She is learning a lot and is enjoying the art and music programs they have. Her teachers are very intelligent and have teaching degrees and a lot of them have masters. These teachers show the children God's love and teach them with a lot of tenderness, love and compassion. RCS is so blessed to have such wonderful, caring Christian teachers. It is located on 33 acres of land, large cafeteria, beautiful chapel and gym, large computer room w/28 computers.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Richmond Christian School has been in existence for the past 60 years. It is NOT affiliated with any denomination, but it is a Christian school based upon God's Word.. Our daughter graduated from RCS and had no problems getting into a fine university and then Medical school. Our granddaughter is presently attending RCS and loves it. All the teachers have degrees and are licensed., and they love the children and it shows. The academic program is excellent and accredited. RCS is located on 33 beautiful acres. The classrooms are nicely decorated and the school has been recently updated. It has a large cafeteria, beautiful gym, and a lovely chapel. It also has a large, well equipped library, computer lab, an active music, art, and sports departments, as well as lots of other extracurricular activities. We are so thankful and grateful for RCS's commitment and standards.
- Posted by
5.0  5/21/2012
Richmond Christian School has been a blessing for our whole family. Our son has been enrolled at RCS since Kindergarten and this is our 3 year at the school. RCS is fully accredited and provides quality academics, which is very important to us. But what speaks volumes are the students! From elementary to high school, RCS students have a great sense of commaraderie. And like a previous reviewer posted, the older students are mentors to the younger students and it is impressive to witness those relationships. The faculty and staff truly care about the students. If you are looking for a great place for your child to go to school, come check out RCS!
- Posted by
5.0  5/21/2012
School a bright future and continues to uphold Christian values and provide a quality education.. The teachers and staff are truly committed and show a genuine love for the students. I can recommend RCS without any reservations.
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
We have two children (5th grader and 1st grader) at Richmond Christian School and we highly recommend it. The teachers are student focused but what really impresses us is how the older students are true mentors to the younger students without even knowing it. When the high school students see the younger students at a sporting event or other school function, they take time with the younger children. It has been a great experience for both of our children.
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
Our family is very enthusiastic about Richmond Christian School! We are in the middle of our 3rd year and feel blessed to be a part of a school that not only has quality academics, but offers students a Godly world view in their daily experiences.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Chesterfield, VA is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).