Rossman School

Educating children in pre-kindergarten (age 4) through sixth grade, Rossman School provides a solid foundation in academics, athletics and the arts while emphasizing strong character development. Nestled on a 20-acre campus in Creve Coeur, MO, and equipped with state-of-the-art technology, Rossman implements a stimulating, carefully designed curriculum that inspires a love of learning. An 8:1 student-teacher ratio allows Rossman`s experienced faculty to develop personal, nurturing relationships with each child, and a small community of one class per grade provides a close, supportive climate.
Through careful attention to the whole child, Rossman prepares students for responsible citizenship, meaningful participation, and strong leadership in a global society.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-6
Year Founded 1917

Student Body

Total Students 230 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 18%
Students by Grade Rossman School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 29 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 27 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $19,100
Tuition Notes includes lunch
Admissions Director Katharine Durham


Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Intramural Sports Only, Soccer, Track and FieldBasketballIntramural Sports Only,
SoccerTrack and Field,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Enrichment Courses, Afterschool Sports, Chess Club, Choir, Student Council, Theater Production Chess Club, Choir, Afterschool Enrichment Courses,
Afterschool Sports,
Student Council,
Theater Production,

School Notes

  • At Rossman School, a well-defined curriculum and superior instruction allow each child to experience frequent success. Experience tells us that high expectations encourage and motivate students who will live in an increasingly global society. We enthusiastically welcome children from all racial, ethnic and cultural backgrounds. Students are taught respect and compassion for others, appreciation for differences among people, strength of character, positive leadership skills, self-discipline, and individual responsibility. Our mission is a large challenge and a larger opportunity! At Rossman School, the children are the priority. A kind and dedicated faculty, administration, and staff emphasizes personal relationships with each child. The adults are models and spokesmen for moral leadership, and Rossman School generously supports families by holding children accountable for their personal best in both academics and strength of character. The intent of the Rossman program is to teach a strong work ethic within a nurturing environment and make success a habit.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lake Saint Louis
    Grades: K-6 | 134 students
    1.9 miles
    1701 Feise Road
    Lake Saint Louis, MO 63168
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: NS-6 | 111 students
    4.8 miles
    1515 Bennett Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63122
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: PK-12 | 1240 students
    3.7 miles
    101 N Warson Road
    Saint Louis, MO 63124
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: K-8 | 132 students
    0.9 miles
    348 S Mason Rd
    Saint Louis, MO 63141
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: PK-K | 25 students
    0.9 miles
    12226 Ladue Rd
    Saint Louis, MO 63141

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (13 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn't ask for anything better!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn't ask for anything better!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
After looking at a number of private and public schools, we knew Rossman was the best choice for our son entering kindergarten. After the first quarter, our decision was only cemented even further. The structured learning environment is challenging and nurturing. The families have been so warm and welcoming. Our son's academic progress has exceeded our expectations thus far.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman School has been a wonderful choice for our daughter. Both the lower school years and now the upper school years have been both academically challenging and emotionally and socially nurturing. The level of attention to developing the "whole student" is second to none in St. Louis!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
We are so lucky to have to have our daughter attend Rossman School. The school offers not only an excellent education but a warm family-like environment.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman is a wonderful elementary school that provides a nurturing learning environment where children thrive and become exceptionally prepared for the most challenging secondary schools. Teachers and adminstrators are warm and create a strong network of support where children can truly be themselves and achieve their own personal best.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman School has provided excellent leadership skills as well as academics. Our daughter loves Rossman School. Having all the extra curricular activities are truly beneficial for my family. Its like a "One Stop Shop". Rossman School "ROCKS!"
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman school is a special place that challenges the children to push themselves academically but also provides an environment where they really want to learn and enjoy learning. There is a nice balance of nurturing in the younger years and challenges provided by teachers in the older years. The teachers get to know your children as individuals and push them to levels they can and should achieve.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman has been an effective, high-level educational environment for our three boys. A warm, friendly haven, staffed with highly skilled and caring educators, Rossman allowed our boys to fully realize any academic potential they possessed. They are more prepared than their peers to meet the challenges of their very demanding college-prep secondary school.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
A truly wonderful school.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
I love that Rossman School develops both strong academic learners as well as individuals with sound character. Kindness, honesty, respect and responsibility ("the Rossman rules") are as important academics. I have heard from older students at secondary schools who did not attend Rossman comment on how impressed they are by the character of students who graduated from Rossman. I think that speaks volumes. We are extremely happy there.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Sending our children to Rossman School has been a wonderful decision and, in one way or another, my wife and I are reminded daily that we made the right choice. From the academics to the character development every aspect is top notch. The children are challenged but supported and are well prepared to succeed in secondary school and beyond. We absolutely love being a part of the Rossman community.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   07/24/15
Rossman School is preparing my children acdemcially for the future as well as emphasizing the importance of being kind, responsible people. Their JK program is fantastic, with caring teachers who teach phonics and beginning math skills as well as leading the children in their study of Master artists such as Van Gogh and Matisse. Excellence continues in SK up through sixth grade, including specialty areas such as science and social studies. My children absolutely love going to school and I feel confident in our decision to send them to Rossman; it is more than an elementary school, it is a community.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 25, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Saint Louis, MO is $11,040 for elementary schools and $16,686 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Saint Louis, MO is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).