School Of The Blessed Sacrament School

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
147 W 70th St
New York, NY 10023-0100
Tel: (212)724-7561
Grades: PK-8 | 280 students
The School of the Blessed Sacrament is a parish based Pre-K through eighth grade Catholic elementary school.
The school celebrates diversity and encourages love of God, self and others.
Our parish, families, faculty and staff collaborate to educate the heart and mind, and empower the children to embrace challenges in a loving, faith-filled environment.
Our well-rounded curriculum incorporates strong ethical values and the development of each child’s God-given academic potential.
We integrate technology, the arts, music and physical education programs to provide a liberal arts education for the whole child.
The primary aims of a Blessed Sacrament education are to foster Christian leadership, individual responsibility and service to those in our community and beyond.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8

Student Body

Total Students 280 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
50%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade School Of The Blessed Sacrament School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 10 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 28:1
National avg.: 13:1
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed School Of The Blessed Sacrament School also viewed these schools: St Gregory The Great School, Calhoun School, St. Stephen Of Hungary School, The Ideal School Of Manhattan and Holy Name Of Jesus School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • New York
    Grades: PK-8 | 207 students
    1 miles
    138 W 90th St
    New York, NY 10024
    (212)362-5410
    1PK-8
    207
  • New York
    Grades: K-12 | 610 students
    0.6 miles
    433 W End Ave
    New York, NY 10024
    (212)497-6500
    0.6K-12
    610
  • New York
    Grades: PK-8 | 376 students
    1.5 miles
    408 East 82nd Street
    New York, NY 10028
    (212)288-1989
    1.5PK-8
    376
  • New York
    Grades: K-8
    1.1 miles
    314 West 91st Street
    New York, NY 10024
    (212)769-1699
    1.1K-8
    n/a
  • New York
    Grades: PK-8 | 336 students
    1.4 miles
    202 W 97th St
    New York, NY 10025
    (212)749-1240
    1.4PK-8
    336

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5.0  11/25/2016
My two children are at Blessed Sacrament and we are very happy with their education and with the school community.
- Posted by
5.0  11/25/2016
My 9 year old has been a student at Blessed Sacrament for 6 years now. My wife and I feel we could not have made a better choice. In our line of work as educators we have the low down on most every school in the city. We feel fortunate to have been accepted when we applied to PreK4, more so since we had been placed on a waiting list initially. And although we commute every day past so many other schools closer to our home and more convenient logistically, we know many families that travel much further than us. One thing that has appealed to us is how involved the parents often choose to be in the various school events. A real feeling of caring, comradery, and community is found here. The fact that Christian education is infused throughout and not just in "Religion" class is also paramount. When I see my child starting her day at the morning assembly, saying a group prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance, it harkens back to the education I received some 50 years ago. Except my daughter has the benefit of learning on smart boards, computers, and other more modern accommodations. There are many beneficial after school programs and the school`s music and choir is second to none. This is our idea of a 5 star school.
- Posted by
5.0  11/25/2016
We are a new family to the school, with two children in Kindergarten and PK3. The school follows the Common Core standard and the Religious Studies are truly age appropriate and nothing too overwhelming for the little preschoolers. My son (PK3) told me in the first week of school about the "kindness jar" that the teacher has on her desk- everytime she sees an act of kindness between the kids, she will call that out and write it on a note and puts it in the jar. When the jar is filled, the whole class will get a special treat/ fun activity. My daughter (K) has been learning sight words rapidly! She's so excited to start reading on her own. She loves playing math/word/subject games with her class and try to win a prize the teacher gives out. We love the scale of the school, the nurturing environment and committed teachers. And the actively involved Parent Association is amazing! We truly feel that admin, teachers and parents work and communicate well with each other and actively pursue options to resolve issues together. Education is part curriculum and part community effort and you can definitely see the pay off when you walk around the school and talk to the students. The school offers many after-school enrichment programs, as well as aftercare, homework and tutoring options. And, the newly renovated science lab, computer lab and library are amazing improvements to the school. We as parents are happy with the school community and both our children are excited to go to school every day and to learn with their teachers and friends.
- Posted by
5.0  11/25/2016
I have two daughters in SBS, one in Kindergarten and one in the Pre-K3s program. We love the school and feel so fortunate to have found such a wonderful and warm faith based community. The teachers are demanding and loving towards both of my girls, and the principal and vice principal know each and every child`s name. My Kindergartener already has homework, spelling and math tests. It`s adorable - and she actually enjoys the challenge. I`m shocked that she is already reading small books and it`s only been two months. My friends in other private and parochial schools don`t even have homework yet, let alone tests. My daughter is appropriately challenged and wants to do well in school. We feel so blessed to have found SBS.
- Posted by
5.0  11/25/2016
As a proud parent of 2 children enrolled at School of the Blessed Sacrament, 1st and 5th grades, I am pleased to share that kindness and manners are important aspects of the curriculum along with the Common Core standards. The amazing teachers and faculty are forming our children as loving citizens of the world, teaching them about community as well as being bright, well rounded students. At Blessed Sacrament, you are not just another number, you are a valued member of the family. I am grateful to have found this gem in NYC!
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
Great school for my Kindergartener. I like unpretentious nature of this school and understanding environment for bilingual children.
- Posted by
5.0  10/31/2015
My two daughters have been at SBS for 5 years now. Every year we see vast improvements. There is a new administration very open to parent ideas and involvement. The PA has taken a very active role in fundraising and community building. The teaching staff are young, enthusiastic, energetic, and loving. My kids are getting a solid, traditional, morality-based education. There are not a lot of bells and whistles: the emphasis is on the basics without a lot of fluff. They are happy and thriving. It is not a school for everyone, but if you choose to send your children to SBS you will be welcomed, and feel a part of the fantastic community.
- Posted by
5.0  10/24/2015
This is our 2nd year at Blessed Sacrament. The administration has been welcoming and responsive. ?The former vice principal, who is now the current principal, knew my child and our family within the first months of school. ?As a new parent to the school, the families have been warm and inclusive. ?The student body is diverse which was important to our city-based family. We looked at several schools that wouldn't break the bank for two children and would give us what we wanted/needed. ?We encourage you to do the same with Blessed Sacrament.
- Posted by
5.0  10/24/2015
My son is in 2nd grade and he has been with Blessed Sacrament (SBS) since Pre-K4. We are very happy with the school. 1)Administration. The administration changed two years ago and we saw a significant improvement in the school. One impactful change was to assign two principals - one for lower grade (Pre-K to 4th) and another for the higher grade (5th-8th). 2) Academics. There has been an increased emphasis on academics and this is made clear to both the students and the parents. Online tools and the test/homework results that are shared with the parents help me understand my son's grades. Summer homework is great as they prepare my son for the next school year. I have observed tremendous progress in my son's learning during the school year and the end of the school year. 3) Technology. The school promotes technology as a means of teaching and educating the students. Each classroom has a smart board, teachers use online tools to interact with parents. My son was learning coding in computer class when he was in 1st grade. Each student has an iPad in computer class. 4) Afterschool. The school has an Aftercare Program and Afterschool Enrichment Program. Aftercare allows students to stay in school until 5:30 pm after regular dismissal. A teacher stays w/ the students in Aftercare and helps them do homework. The Enrichment program has an impressive portfolio of classes (soccer, chess, science etc...) Both Aftercare and Enrichment programs are organized by the Parent's Association. There are extra fees for these programs. 5) Character Formation. One would say that character formation is almost a given as the school is a Catholic school. Having gone to Catholic school myself, I can see that SBS fosters character formation in a more encouraging way, appropriate to modern times. Every month they have a character theme e.g. respect in October etc.. 6) Parent's Association. The school has a strong Parent's Association with dedicated and committed parents. The PA is a good foundation for the school. Fund raising activities are always fun for students and parents alike. 7) Indoor and Outdoor Space. Indoor common space is limited but the church has renovated its basement so the school has access to a huge space with new floors and a theatre! The PA is working with the Community Board to close the street in front of the school for outdoor space during school recess.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York, NY is $17,677 for elementary schools and $33,996 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York, NY is 62% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).