Almaden Country School

6835 Trinidad Drive,
San Jose, CA, 95120-0951
Tel: (408)997-0424
The Mission of Almaden Country School is to discover the gifts in every child.
We provide a safe and affirming environment for learning--empowering children to strive, explore, and build a sense of personal value.
Our teachers create a rich academic foundation that corresponds with the developmental stages of childhood.
We offer a wide variety of opportunities for children to extend their intellectual.
social, and personal potential.
Our students become delightful people--confident, kind, concerned, and ready to make significant contributions to our world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarians
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1982

Student Body

Total Students 423 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 32%
State avg.: 41%
Students by Grade Almaden Country School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 38 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 12:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 49%
Average Class Size 20 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(uniform-navy pants/skirt and polo shirt)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 6 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $15,710
Tuition Notes Tuition ranges from $5,200 for 3 day preschool to $15,710 for middle school (includes books and computer use).
% on Financial Aid 20%
Admissions Director Janet Redding Richardson
Admissions Associate Helen Herr

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Football, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballFootball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. "Starmites" Singing & Dancing Troupe, Chess Club, Community Service, Robotics Club Chess Club, Robotics Club, "Starmites" Singing & Dancing Troupe,
Community Service,

School Notes:

  • Character Education Program

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Apostles Lutheran School (1.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Spectrum Center Schools-randol Campus (1.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Spectrum Center Schools-randol Campus (1.3 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • San Jose Spectrum Center Schools-randol Campus
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    762 Sunset Glen Dr
    San Jose , CA , 95123
    (408)281-2435
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    1.3  mi  |  50  students  |  Gr.  PK
  • San Jose
    Holy Spirit School
    (Roman Catholic)
    1198 Redmond Ave
    San Jose , CA , 95120
    (408)268-0794
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.4  mi  |  523  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • San Jose
    Apostles Lutheran School
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    5828 Santa Teresa Blvd
    San Jose , CA , 95123
    (408)578-4800
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    1.5  mi  |  193  students  |  Gr.  K-11
  • San Jose
    Challenger School-Almaden
    (Nonsectarians)
    19950 Mckean Road
    San Jose , CA , 95120
    (408)927-5771
    (Nonsectarians)
    1.9  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • San Jose
    Challenger School-Shawnee
    (Nonsectarians)
    500 Shawnee Lane
    San Jose , CA , 95123
    (408)365-9298
    (Nonsectarians)
    2.1  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  PK-8

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - We are so happy we sent our children to Almaden Country School. Both of our children started their ACS years in preschool and graduated from eighth grade. ACS provided an educational experience that challenged and supported our two very different children, meeting their individual needs every step of the way. The curriculum is excellent and our children were well prepared for the private high schools they are now attending. The enrichment programs like drama and the middle school electives helped them develop their confidence, creativity and knowledge of the world. Our years at Almaden Country School were filled with learning and laughter. ACS has left an impression on both the mind and the heart. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 22, 2014 - The questions parents asks when deciding on a school for their children is whether that school will provide a nurturing environment, inspire a love of learning, encourage and enable each child to find what makes them exceptional and prepare them for future success. I am a parent of an Almaden Country School (ACS) alumnus that began at in the 4-year old program and attended through Middle School. My daughter was accepted into her first choice West Catholic high school, recently graduated with honors from a prestigious university, captained a Division I sports team and is now a supervisor in Europe for Tesla Motors. She is confident, self-aware, empathetic and hard working. I firmly believe ACS provided a critical foundation for her and many of her classmates who are on a similarly successful trajectory. Test scores are important and ACS students do extremely well on standardized tests. But as we know well, the workplace of the 21st century will be characterized by constant change. It is impossible to know what technical skills will be the most valuable. In preparing the children, ACS focuses on the key ingredients for a successful knowledge worker in an ever changing environment: teamwork, creativity, ethics, resilience, curiosity and time management. ACS is a unique school that places the child at the center of every important decision. The culture encourages family involvement in a strong, caring community of learners. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 22, 2014 - I have been part of the Almaden Country School community for over 2 years. I could not be more pleased with the teachers'' dedication (and preparation), the administration''s responsiveness, the student-teacher ratio, and the school''s overall philosophy. The parents are friendly, supportive, and caring. When I joined the school, I immediately felt like a welcome member of the community. I especially like the school-wide events; they are relevant, inclusive, and help bring the school together. When I am in the classrooms, I notice that the children are eager, articulate, and clearly enjoy learning. One of the aspects I appreciate most about the Almaden is that the administration is forward-thinking (Ole''s written pieces in the local media are thought provoking) and child-centered. One can tell just by talking with them that they truly care about the students and their development. I am so happy that our family joined ACS. It is an amazing school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 19, 2013 - Of course we feel that Almaden Country School is an amazing school for our children. We have been at ACS for nine years now. The community is welcoming and provides a nurturing environment where the students and faculty thrive. But you can''t help and wonder if it is it enough. Are our children learning the skills they need to get into a great high school of their choice? Once there, are they able to keep up with their peers? After recently attending open houses at St Francis HS and Presentation HS, the answers were apparent. Almaden Country School graduates have a presence. They are not only attending these top high schools; they are leaders there. It was reassuring to speak with the ACS alum at both schools. They continue to thrive with confidence and ease. It is not a coincidence that these great kids are doing so well, especially when they refer to their ACS experience as a contributing factor to their success. I could go on and on about the fabulous programs at ACS which have truly enriched our children, but there is great comfort knowing that ACS is preparing them for their long educational journey which lies ahead of them! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2013 - I am an alum of Almaden Country School and was one of the first students when the school first opened in the early 80''s. I attended the school from Kindergarten through 5th grade and have such fond memories at the school like playing on the blacktop, walking in the annual Halloween parade, and performing with my classmates during the school plays. The smaller class sizes and curriculum coupled with exceptional teachers played a significant role in laying the foundation and building blocks for my educational and professional career. 20 years later and still living in the area it was now my turn to pick an elementary school for my son. Immediately Almaden Country School came to mind, but I felt I had to verify if the core values and overall "feeling" I had when I was a child were still in tact. After a very hospitable tour and evaluation of the school, I walked away with a renewed confidence that my son would be in good hands at ACS. It is hard to put into words, but when you are on the school grounds something just feels "right." Walking through the halls, joyful memories and experiences that were tucked away resurfaced and I felt the same special aura that I had felt years ago. It is pretty amazing that after so many years the traditions, values, and spirit of the school are still there. I now have two sons enrolled at Almaden Country School, and have witnessed them develop into well-rounded people both, academically and socially, as a result of the school''s teachings and values. I highly recommend Almaden Country School to any family. The care, development, and individual attention your child will receive is paramount and unmatched in the area. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 12, 2013 - Our family has been at ACS for nearly 10 years. Before our children started, we visited the school and were so impressed by the confident students who looked you right in the eye and talked directly to you. Now we are watching our children develop into strong students who have an interest in art, music, drama, science, technology and so much more. ACS is an incredible community for our children and our family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 18, 2013 - We''ve now had children in all 3 of the Early Childhood classes- Begindergarten, JrK, and Kindergarten- and I cannot imagine a better start to their schooling. We''ve had outstanding teachers at all levels, who have prepared my kids both academically, socially, and emotionally. My son entered ACS as a shy student who didn''t particularly like going to school, and he is finishing Kindergarten with confidence and a tremendous love for school. The ACS community feels like an extension of family, and we feel grateful to have found this gem of a school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - I recently had the opportunity to watch the ACS 7th graders interact at 5:15 a. m. at the San Jose Airport before heading out for their annual field trip. You could imagine the excitement. You also could imagine that with the excitement and very little sleep the night before, they may not have been fully cognitive at 5:15 in the morning. But what I witnessed was a group of excited but respectful children, interacting and following direction of the lead chaperone in a way that he never needed to raise a voice above conversation tone. The respect the chaperone delivered with his words and direction matched the actions of the children. The class has been taught "Definite Dozen" terms, which includes learning to be responsible, respecting differences and using character over reputation. It was obvious that these teachings had moved off the page and into action and you could see the sigh of relief from their parents watching with the comment "this is why we send our child to Almaden Country School." To add, I also witnessed the impact on other travelers at the San Jose Airport thinking to themselves, "I wonder what school that is?" It was a pleasure watching confident, respectful and happy young adults, which is exactly why our family chose ACS. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We have two daughters at Almaden Country School and we are constantly impressed by every aspect of the school. From the strong academics to the incredible enrichment programs, this school offers a warm, caring environment where kids get to be kids. The teachers are passionate, the parents involved and the kids thriving; what more could a parent want? - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We have two daughters at Almaden Country School and we are constantly impressed by every aspect of the school. From the strong academics to the incredible enrichment programs, this school offers a warm, caring environment where kids get to be kids. The teachers are passionate, the parents involved and the kids thriving; what more could a parent want? - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We have two daughters at Almaden Country School and we are constantly impressed by every aspect of the school. From the strong academics to the incredible enrichment programs, this school offers a warm, caring environment where kids get to be kids. The teachers are passionate, the parents involved and the kids thriving; what more could a parent want? - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Rankings or Comparisons?
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
7 Ways Kids Can Avoid Summer Brain Drain
The summer "Brain Drain," also known as the "Summer Slide" is a term commonly used by educators and parents alike to describe the learning loss that takes place for many students during summer months. We polled the experts and found the 7 best ways parents and kids can combat the problem head on.
Marketing the Small Private School: Communicating with Your Community
The foundation of any successful small private school marketing program is having clear, consistent and authoritative in-house communications. We take a look at what is involved in this second article on marketing the small private school.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!