New Hope Academy

7009 Varnum Street
Hyattsville, MD 20784-0207
     Tel: (301)459-7311
        
   
Grades: PK - 12 | 263 students
New Hope Academy is a private school, fully certified by the Maryland State Department of Education, serving students in PreK3-12th grades.  New Hope International High School draws students from throughout the world, offering a well rounded education.   New Hope has an excellent college-prep curriculum  focused on Math, Science and Technology, but coupled with an aray of creative electives   New Hope also includes grades K-8, and a fully licensed preschool program for ages 3-5 years.
Located on an eight-acre campus in Landover Hills, Prince George's County, Maryland, (suburb of Washington, D.C.), this spacious former public school has a computer lab as well as high-end computers in every classroom, a science lab, a foreign-language studio, an art studio, a library,  a gymnasium, and a professional quality dance studio.
We offer before and after-school care, a summer enrichment day program for elementary-aged students, and a wide variety of extra-curricular  performng arts and sports activities. New Hope is known for its academic excellence,  individualized personal attention, and supporting parents in their efforts to raise a child with strong moral values and noble character.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Other
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported indivually determined by testing
Year Founded 1990

Student Body

Total Students 263 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 70%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade New Hope Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 50%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 2 courses
Advanced Courses AP Calculus AP US History  
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(uniform shirt and blue jeans)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes PreK-12th domestic and international student tuition ranges from $7000-$13000
% on Financial Aid 20%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,400
Acceptance Rate 80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Janelle Hartley

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Ballet, Basketball, Cheering, Dance, Flag Football, Golf, Indoor Soccer, Soccer, Track and FieldBalletBasketball,
CheeringDance,
Flag FootballGolf,
Indoor SoccerSoccer,
Track and Field

School Notes:

For comprehensive information about our school, including pictures, descriptions of programs, student projects, and more, please visit our web site at www.newhopeacademy.org.

Profile last updated: 07/30/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Elizabeth Seton High School (1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Mary's School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. Mary's School (0.3 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • HyattsvilleSt. Mary's School
      (Roman Catholic)
    7207 Annapolis Road
    HyattsvilleMD 20784
    (301)577-0031
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.3 mi | 207 students | Gr. NS-8                      
  • Landover HillsAscension Lutheran School
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    7415 Buchanan St
    Landover HillsMD 20784
    (301)577-0500
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    0.6 mi | 130 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • HyattsvilleKingdom Christian Academy
      (Christian)
    6312 Old Landover Rd
    HyattsvilleMD 20785
    (301)341-9898
      (Christian)
    1 mi | 14 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • BladensburgElizabeth Seton High School
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    5715 Emerson Street
    BladensburgMD 20710
    (301)864-4532
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    1 mi | 570 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • HyattsvilleSt. Ambrose Elementary School
      (Roman Catholic)
    6310 Jason Street
    HyattsvilleMD 20785
    (301)773-0223
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.3 mi | 224 students | Gr. PK-8                      

School Reviews

1 month ago
My child attends middle school at New Hope Academy. She participates in dance, drama and music. It is nice to have everything in one place. It can be very challenging as a parent to work, transport kids to various extra-curricular activities, and find time for homework. With everything in one spot she goes to the aftercare program and has homework time, then on to her practices. When we get home, many times she is almost done with her homework and we can have family time. It is fun to hear everything she is learning. She truly enjoys school and we are impressed with the curriculum, especially the Saxon Math. We are very happy to have found New Hope Academy!
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
Our son has been at New Hope Academy (NHA) for three years and has had a great experience academically and socially. He came to NHA in 4th grade from a Montessori school (where he also had a wonderful experience), and he transitioned well that first year, thanks to his teacher who took the time to work with him on managing his time re: his homework and studying for tests. We have learned since then that at NHA, there are teachers like this in every grade. They take a great interest in their students, they know them and their academic capabilities, and they encourage??and sometimes push??them to do their best. The same is true of the rest of the staff. They truly care about the students and the cool part is that it?'s reciprocated. Walk down the halls and you?'ll see that the love is there from both sides??the students?' and the staff?'s. It?'s a wonderful feeling to know that when you say goodbye to your child at morning drop-off, you leave knowing that they are in good hands.
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
We have two children currently enrolled at New Hope and have been with the school for the past 7 years. We love the nurturing environment of the school and would whole heartedly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quality education for their children. We love that our kids are exposed to both Spanish and Korean languages in addition to their academic and arts programs. What is also advantageous is that the school offers several sport, music and arts electives so that parents don''t have to enroll their kids in a separate program if they don''t want to. No shuttling to and from various venues! The school allows kids to learn at their own pace while at the sme time challenging them to do their best. Most importantly they are very diverse and embrace and celebrate all races and religions while no forcing any one particular one on the kids. Kids are thought to love and respect everyone.
- Posted by Parent
9 months ago
Children begin learning foreign languages in grade school. General music class includes instruction in recorder, trumpet, piano and guitar. There is also a wonderful art and dance/drama program. General education includes individualized reading and math. Parental involvement is encouraged and that helps me stay connected with my child''s educational growth. My whole family has had a wonderful experience at this school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
We have 2 children enrolled in NHA and have been extraordinarily pleased by the education they have received. With the low student:teacher ratio, the teachers get to know each child and family in order to work together to get the best possible outcomes from each child. In speaking with other parents who have their children in various private/public school options, I feel that my children are getting a very competitive education and are thriving at New Hope.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
I recommend NHA. My 2 sons graduated from 8th grade, attended then the science and tech program at ERHS and one now graduated this May 2013 from Cornell University with a degree in Civil Engineering and my other son is a sophomore in Mechanical Engineering at CalTech in Pasadena, Calif.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
New Hope Academy has truly enabled my three children and fostered a love for learning. The teachers are nurturing. The academics are challenging. There are strong art, music and sports programs. The high school has an international component which exposes the students to various cultures.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
So Many Choices
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student first name:
Student last name:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Phone:
City:
State:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Prince Georges County, MD is $7,614 for elementary schools and $11,770 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Prince Georges County, MD is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos
New Hope Academy (2002) 0:31

New Hope Academy (2002)
2 years ago

View more school videos