St. John's Episcopal School

Upcoming Events and News:

  • Upper School Science Teacher honored for her 40 years of service - 06/06/2015 - When Jean Smedira joined the faculty at St. John’s Episcopal School as the Science teacher in 1975, the whole school resided in the basement of St. John’s Episcopal Church. The school was only 13 years old, but it was growing and Mrs. Smedira could feel the ex...more
  • St. John's students travel to Belize - 07/16/2015 - This spring, twenty-one of our Upper School students spent a week in Belize where they learned first-hand what service learning really means. The students teamed up with World Leadership School to immerse themselves in the culture of Belize and to serve the co...more

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1961

Student Body

Total Students 160 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 60%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade St. John's Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 35 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 16 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling
% on Financial Aid 32%
Admissions Director Margaret Curry

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Lacrosse, Soccer, Winter TrackBasketballCross Country,
LacrosseSoccer,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 1 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. OASIS - Olney Arts School in a School OASIS - Olney Arts School in a School,

School Notes:

Welcome to St. John's!  We are delighted you are considering St. John's Episcopal School for your family!  St. John's believes in a purposeful education for your child by taking intentional steps to ensure they are challenged to become confident learners, and to prepare them for what comes next.

Our rigorous, research-based academic program, featuring small class size and an accelerated curriculum, coupled with our strong belief in faith-based character education and community service, truly is the model for a balanced and transformational education.  Each day, your child will enter an environment of cross-curricular learning, with teachers who work collaboratively to inspire and challenge them.

Choosing St. John's means your child will learn the importance of moral character and global citizenship in a safe and nurturing community environment.  Choosing St. John's means your child will be inspired each day.But, don't take my word for it, come and see for yourself.  To begin the application process, I encourage you to schedule a personal tour of St. John's. 

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Our Lady Of Good Counsel High School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is The Julia Brown Montessori Schools (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Julia Brown Montessori Schools (0.4 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Olney
    Grades: PK-3 | 148 students
    0.4 miles
    3400 Queen Mary Dr
    Olney, MD 20832
    (301)774-5700
    0.4PK-3
    148
  • Olney
    Olney Adventist Preparatory
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    Grades: K-8 | 113 students
    1 miles
    4100 Olney Laytonsville Rd
    Olney, MD 20832
    (301)570-2500
    1K-8
    113
  • Olney
    Grades: 9-12 | 1200 students
    1.4 miles
    17301 Old Vic Boulevard
    Olney, MD 20832
    (240)283-3235
    1.49-12
    1200
  • Olney
    Oakdale Christian Academy
    Daycare / Preschool (Methodist)
    Grades: K | 12 students
    1.7 miles
    3425 Emory Church Rd
    Olney, MD 20832
    (301)774-5369
    1.7K
    12
  • Olney
    Gates of Discovery
    Daycare / Preschool (Jewish)
    Grades: NS-PK | 10 students
    1.8 miles
    16620 Georgia Avenue
    Olney, MD 20832
    (301)593-3410
    1.8NS-PK
    10

School Reviews

St. John?''s Episcopal School is a wonderful caring and nurturing environment where students are gently pushed to their fullest academic potential by teachers who instill values that build confidence, social skills, and the importance of giving back to the community. This is our ninth year as part of the STJES community and we are very pleased with the well-balanced education our children are receiving ?? we?''ve observed our son and daughter stretch themselves academically and socially and spiritually. Opportunities to participate in declamation day, MAESA Fair, National Spanish Exams, Maryland State Solo and Ensemble Music Festival, International Festival, weekly Chapel Service, Model United Nations, and community service trips abroad to New Mexico, Costa Rica and Belize ?? and more to help develop the ??whole?" child. STJES is vitally committed to graduating students of character and faith, and prepares and inspires students for life-long success. Our son is very well prepared to attend Georgetown Preparatory High School in the Fall. Our children have blossomed at STJES!! You have to visit the school to understand what a truly wonderful place it is.
- Posted by Parent, 04/10/15
We decided to enroll our daughter in the St. John?''s Pre-K 3 class when traditional child care was not working for us. I assumed we would enroll her in St. John?''s for two years of Pre-K, and when the time rolled around for kindergarten, we would place her in a Montgomery County public school. However, the teachers and staff at St. John?''s have made our decision to stay with St. John?''s well worth it. Our daughter has had a wonderful time meeting new friends, and doing the activities that the teachers and staff painstakingly take the time to plan. We appreciate the small class sizes, and love that the teachers make our daughter comfortable and happy. We have also witnessed firsthand the success of the school?''s work on character development, as all of the students seem exceptionally polite, and friendly. Not only has St. John?''s provided a warm and fun environment, but it does not hurt that our daughter has really learned a lot in the course of her education. I never thought I would send my kids to a private school, because I could not understand the extra cost, but after two wonderful years, my husband and I have decided that no matter what, our daughter will stay for the long run.
- Posted by Parent, 04/10/15
St. John''s has exceded our expectations! The tuition is completely worth the quality of academics, amount of personalized attention, extra curricular offerings and overall philiosphy of the school. Our child is florishing under expert educatonal instruction and the genuine nurturing values of the faculty and administration. The STJ community of families are wonderful too. Best decision ever!
- Posted by Parent, 04/10/15
St John''s is not only a terrific place for my child to get an education, but It is also a warm and inviting environment where there are many opportunities to explore and grow. My child has been at St John''''s for 8 years now starting in Kindergarten. The faculty is a dedicated and wonderful group and my decision to send my child to St John''s is validated on a daily basis.
- Posted by Parent, 12/19/14
Our sons have been at STJES since 2009. We are very pleased. They have both grown academically and benefit from the small class size and accelerated instruction. They have also grown as young men, which I think comes partly from STJES?''s emphasis on character. Our older son went to Costa Rica last year with his class and will go to Belize this year. We are confident that STJES has prepared him well for high school.
- Posted by Parent, 12/19/14
I have been a St John''s parent for 6 years. Both my daughters have thrived in the environment and that is hugely because of the great caring teachers who truly enjoy what they do. We know our daughters are getting a great education when we see their enthusiasm in learning and sharing all that they learn everyday. The art and music programs are wonderful and the global/international studies focus is exactly what our kids need today to become the well rounded young adults of tomorrow. We love this school and highly recommend it to friends and family.
- Posted by Parent, 04/18/13
My daughter has been at St John''s for 6 years now starting in Kindergarten. The school has provided a great education, but more than that it is a safe, environment where my daughter is loved and known. It also provides a strong program in arts and has an International program as well. The faculty is outstanding, and the overall sense of community is great. I highly recommend the school.
- Posted by Parent, 10/27/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, MD is $12,751 for elementary schools and $21,832 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, MD is 76% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).