The Fourth Presbyterian School

10701 South Glen Road,
Potomac, MD, 20854-0208
Tel: (301)765-8133
Fully accredited by both the Association of Independent Maryland Schools (AIMS) and the Middle States Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSCESS). A Christ-centered and academically challenging school, committed to preparing young men and women for college and life by providing opportunities to excel in the vital areas of faith, virtue, and knowledge.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Other school association(s)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Presbyterian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1999

Student Body

Total Students n/a
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 30%
State avg.: 30%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Average Class Size 10 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,900
Tuition Notes Financial Aid available
% on Financial Aid 30%
Admissions Director Karen Janes

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports BaseballBasketballCross CountrySoccerSoftballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountrySoccer,
Softball

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is The Bullis School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Potomac Glen Day School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Har Shalom Early Childhood Education Center (1.4 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Potomac Potomac Glen Day School
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Christian)
    9908 S Glen Rd
    Potomac , MD , 20854
    (301)299-9193
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Christian)
    0.7  mi  |  127  students  |  Gr.  K
  • Potomac
    The Bullis School
    10601 Falls Rd
    Potomac , MD , 20854
    (301)299-8500
    0.7  mi  |  623  students  |  Gr.  3-12
  • Potomac
    The Manor Montessori School
    Montessori School
    Po Box 60691
    Potomac , MD , 20859
    (301)299-7400
    Montessori School
    1  mi  |  103  students  |  Gr.  K-3
  • Potomac
    Har Shalom Early Childhood Education Center
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    11510 Falls Rd
    Potomac , MD , 20854
    (301)299-7087
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1.4  mi  |  50  students  |  Gr.  PK
  • Potomac
    Lone Oak Montessori School
    Montessori School
    10201 Democracy Boulevard
    Potomac , MD , 20854
    (301)469-4888
    Montessori School
    1.4  mi  |  75  students  |  Gr.  PK-6

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I am from overseas, and my 2 children have been in this school since 2010. It has a great environment and great teachers who are dedicated and committed in their work. I like the Christian values that they teach and my kids enjoys the school tremendously. Nested in a nice and green environment, gives a very calm feel to the students....and that was our first impression when we first came to the school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Fourth school represents the best in Christian education. There is a blend of solid Christian teaching ( e.g. chapel, biblical teaching integrated into the curriculum), talented and caring faculty and staff, and excellent academics. I highly recommend this school, and am pleased to have my three kids attending. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We love the small small classes and student/teacher ratio. The facilities are adequate but the campus is beautiful with room to expand as the school grows. The teachers are all friendly and willing to talk to you and work with the kids as much as they need. They have a full-time learning specialist to help kids with mild to moderate learning disabilities. There is Bible class, and the values of Christianity are infused in the learning experience without emphasis on any particular denomination or worldview although the school is supported by a Presbyterian church. The parents are very supportive and the atmosphere is inclusive of everyone. Overall, we have been very happy here and will be sad to leave after 8th grade. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our oldest child joined the school well into the first semester and felt right at home. The teachers, staff, and students warmly welcomed him. He has continued to thrive for the last four years along with our other two children who are now attending as well. It''s rigorous curriculum challenges my children taught by warm, loving teachers who encourage them as they learn. It also offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities- sports teams, band, choir. And it teaches Spanish in K-4 and Latin in 5-8. It is a unique, Christ-centered school in the DC region. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Fourth School provides a solid academic foundation with a Christian worldview. Our highly qualified and certified faculty know each of their students and tailor instruction to meet their specific educational needs. Graduates attend Christian, private, or public high schools prepared with a Christian worldview and excel in all areas. - Posted by Administrator
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - You need to bring your children to this wonderful Christian School! The campus where your kids will play is beautiful and filled with peace. The teachers, staff and academics are outstanding. My older son will be graduating from 8th grade after 9 years here; firmly grounded in his Christian beliefs which is critical as he heads to high school. Past grads have been accepted at Nat''l Cathedral, St. John''s, Bullis and other schools. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our children have had the best education - learning more about God and the world he created in an academically rigorous environment. The teachers care about both the heart and the mind and strive to develop the next generation as one with faith, virtue and knowledge. The community of families care for each other and are there for each other. Stop by and visit the campus. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - The Fourth Presbyterian School has everything you could want in a school. It offers a family friendly environment, strong Christian values and is fully accredited. It has provided our children with a strong Christian base and sense of community, while maintaining a forum for academic excellence. Also, it has provided an avenue for which they can participate in a variety of sports. We love the Fourth school! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I have worked at Fourth School for just over one year as a teacher. The administration and parents are a great support to me in growing as a teacher through classes and volunteering constantly. As Athletic Director, we''re committed to offering students the chance to not just compete in three seasons each year, but grow their relationships as they build healthy habits for life! Itís not just a school, but a great community to be a part of! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is an amazing Christian school with small class sizes and a wonderful, caring environment. It has a beautiful campus and a great parent community. I am so glad our 3 children have grown up here. It is a home away from home. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - October 31, 2013 - I am the second grade teacher at Fourth School and have been with the school since 2000. I love teaching at this school because it stresses a strong academic curriculum where I can share much information with my students. The school also has small classes and hosts an extremely supportive parent community. The students at Fourth School are considerate of others and exhibit kindness across the grades. I would highly recommend this school for its academics and emphasis on individualization. It is a joy to represent and teach at Fourth School. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - What a wonderful environment 4th School is to teach and mentor in! I love having a small class of students that I can work with one-on-one. My ability to challenge the students and to supplement and scaffold in areas that may be difficult is amazing due to the class sizes, the excellent curriculum, and the wonderful faculty here! I am so proud to teach at this lovely school. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is my first year teaching at The Fourth Presbyterian School and having some experience working in other schools in the public school system, I must say that I was impressed with the requirement that I not only teach literacy and math, but I also have designated and separate history, science, and Bible periods throughout the week. This is rare in any public school and many private schools, as teachers are usually expected to simply squeeze these "special" subjects into their literacy and math blocks when they can. The depth of understanding that results in this feature of the school''s curriculum is incredible! I would highly recommend this school because of its exceedingly high and impressive academics, and the sense of community that is shared amongst the staff and parents. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is my fourth year teaching at Fourth. The high academic standards the school maintains are essential in a competitive educational market. I am constantly encouraged by the dedication of my colleagues to ensuring our students are learning at a level consistent with or exceeding 21st century standards, while also upholding strong Christian values and instruction. There is nowhere else I would rather be teaching! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Fourth is an excellent school that prepared to excel academically in one of Maryland''s top public high schools. I learned how to live out my faith in Jesus Christ in the classroom, on the field, and with my unsaved friends. I found a sense of community and support at Fourth that I did not know could exist in a school enviroment, and I developed deep bonds with my classmates who I now call my best friends. I treasured my time at Fourth, and I wish I could relive those years! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is my sixth year teaching at the Fourth Presbyterian School. I spent over a decade teaching in the public school system, which provides a high quality education, but cannot compare with the level of individualization and differentiation we are able to give our students on a daily basis. Our fully accredited academic program is rigorous and we utilize a variety of teaching strategies to help each student achieve his or her best. Class sizes are small and we offer accommodations for children with mild to moderate disabilities. The students at our school are encouraged to grow daily in their knowledge of God, their relationships with each other, and their understanding of how to serve those around them. The Fourth School offers a balance of challenging academics and fun school-wide activities that make it a wonderful place to work. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I am a teacher at the Fourth School. It is a blessing and a pleasure to teach 10 years at this school. I came to this school from a public school environment and was eager to begin an innovative, challenging, and exciting new phase of life. This school has given me the opportunity to utilize my God given talents of teaching, nurturing, loving, and giving back to the children. I am able to reinforce appropriate behavior by sharing Godly principles, and this is most rewarding. I work alongside co-workers who are gifted professionals, highly qualified. I have grown as a teacher because of the ongoing, professional development and peer collaboration that is encouraged and provided by our capable leadership. The beautiful, picturesque 35-acre campus provides wonderful opportunities to explore with my students and participate in many hands on activities. The students are excited about learning! The school location is great! The small class size, strong academic curriculum, enriching specials (Art, Music, Media, Computer Lab, PE, and Spanish) make this the perfect school where children will learn and grow. The parents are amazing! I highly recommend this school! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We have been at the school for 12 years, and our three children have grown up on this lovely, peaceful campus learning and enjoying God''s creation. The students all get individualized attention and a caring, nurturing environment in which to learn. My son has loved being the band and the soccer, basketball and baseball teams. The school offers terrific field trips. There is a wonderful parent community. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I was very blessed to attend Fourth Pres. School from Pre K through the 8th grade. The learning was comprehensive, extensive and complete, and the solid biblical teaching will stay with me forever. I was able to transition to the Bullis School for 9th grade prepared in my studies and ready to fit in for the many activities. alumni student - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - The Fourth School is a unique place in our area...one of academic rigor and nurture in your faith. The teaching staff is top notch and we are blessed to be a part of such an amazing school...beautiful campus, wonderful staff, excellent academics, sports teams, great music and arts programs, and so much more! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - All three of my children attend Fourth Presbiterian School. It has been a Blessing for me and my family. I love the staff. I feel a sense of safety, joy and peace when I send them to school. My children are very happy. They have made great friends. They love their teachers. I love the Biblical teachings that are intertwined into the curriculum. It''s awesome to know that they receive excellent academics and that they also receive Christian values that are fundamental to my family. I love this school and highly recommend it. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is my 3rd year teaching middle school science at the Fourth Presbyterian School. I came here to help train up the next generation in the areas of Faith, Virtue, and Knowledge. The students are both hard-working and diligent and the parent community is supportive and eager to help. I believe that we offer a wonderful Christian education that nurtures our students'' spirit and pushes them towards their high calling in this world. This is a great school by every measure. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - My kids (Pre-K, 3rd grade and 6th grade) love this school. It is academically challenging with excellent teachers who make it fun to learn. One of the teachers is the actual Maryland History Teacher of the Year. My children quickly made friends at school although they hardly spoke English when we came here. To send our kids to Fourth School was one of the best decisions we ever made. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We have been going to the school for 9 years. The school is excellent academically and AIMS accredited to back up this statement. My 8th grader will graduate with a high school Math and History credit to make his transition easier to high school. It is a warm, loving environment and rare in the sense that everybody knows eachother and is encouraged by eachother. Only in this school have I seen 8th graders playing with, hugging and encouraging the younger children. It''s truly been an extension of a family for us. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Although it sounds cheesy and fake, some of my fondest memories originate from Fourth Presbyterian School. The teachers, the friends, and the activities that I were a part of made my time there unique and unforgettable. A Christian-based school, Fourth Pres. did much more than teach facts and figures, it taught me about Godís love. What makes Fourth Pres. unique is its inclusive environment for everyone. With small classes, and attentive teachers, class was engaging and exciting. My favorite thing about Fourth Presbyterian School is the relationship between the teachers and the students. Each teacher personally knows the student, even for myself, after moving to middle school, I have visited and seen teachers who taught me. The school does nothing better than making it the right fit for every student. Whether itís in the classroom, or on the field, the students feel a sense of companionship with the other students. I am proud to have gone to Fourth Presbyterian school for six years, and I wouldnít trade those years to be anywhere else. Thank you Fourth Pres. for making those years memorable and happy. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I have three students at 4th school and have one child ready to enter next year. We moved to the area two years ago excited to find a Christian school near Bethesda. We have since moved to McLean and it is still an easy 20 minute drive for us. We found the teachers to be very experienced and highly qualified academically as well as spiritual mentors to our kids. The administration and teachers worked with us to adjust after a big move from helping us meet people to giving my oldest child help with her fear of fire drills (which she can now laugh about). I have had my children in public school as well as homeschooled for a while and I can say our family has had the best school experience at Fourth Presbyterian School. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - The first time I drove onto this campus, I was stunned by how beautiful it was. I am into my second year teaching here and continue to be blessed by both the faculty and families that attend Fourth school. Fourth provides an encouraging, challenging, and exciting environment for kids to learn in. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I have been blessed to teach art, theatre, and history at Fourth School for 14 years and have had the opportunity to introduce students to great works of art at the National Gallery, the challenges and joy of performing Shakespeare at the Folger Children''s Shakespeare Festival, the importance and relevance of the words, "all men are created equal" in the Declaration of Independence, and qualities that make a great leader while standing on the battlefield in Gettysburg. I have watched 8th graders experience "lightbulb" moments as we do close readings of the Emancipation Proclamation or Lincoln''s Second Inaugural Address; seen 7th graders delight in understanding how cinnamon changed the world as we learn about Columbus; helped 6th graders connect the start of the Roman Empire with the birth of Jesus Christ; delighted in 5th graders being able to place all 55 nations of Africa on a map and know something about each! This school is unique and a wonderful place to help raise the next generation of Christ. The administration is amazing in vision and support, and the faculty is tremendous. I am indeed blessed to work here. I also sent my daughter to school here. - Posted by Teacher

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!