Rossman School

12660 Conway Road,
Saint Louis, MO, 63141-0631
Tel: (314)434-5877
Grades: PK - 6 | 230 students
At Rossman School, a well-defined curriculum and superior instruction allow each child to experience frequent success.
Experience tells us that high expectations encourage and motivate students who will live in an increasingly global society.
We enthusiastically welcome children from all racial, ethnic and cultural backgrounds.
Students are taught respect and compassion for others, appreciation for differences among people, strength of character, positive leadership skills, self-discipline, and individual responsibility.
Our mission is a large challenge and a larger opportunity! At Rossman School, the children are the priority.
A kind and dedicated faculty, administration, and staff emphasizes personal relationships with each child.
The adults are models and spokesmen for moral leadership, and Rossman School generously supports families by holding children accountable for their personal best in both academics and strength of character.
The intent of the Rossman program is to teach a strong work ethic within a nurturing environment and make success a habit.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1917

Student Body

Total Students 230 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 30%
State avg.: 15%
Students by Grade Rossman School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 24 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 29 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 16 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $17,388
Tuition Notes includes lunch
Admissions Director Katharine Durham

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Flag Football, Gymnastics, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Field HockeyFlag Football,
GymnasticsSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 16 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Art, Afterschool Sports, Ballet, Bricks for Kidz, Chess, Chinese, Cooking, Digital Arts Workshop, Gymnastics, IMACS, Mad Science, Music Lessons, Rossman Players, Rossman Singers, Sewing, Student Council Ballet, Chess, Chinese, Cooking, Gymnastics, IMACS, Mad Science, Music Lessons, Sewing, Afterschool Art,
Afterschool Sports,
Bricks for Kidz,
Digital Arts Workshop,
Rossman Players,
Rossman Singers,
Student Council,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Whitfield School (0.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Countryside Montessori School (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Countryside Montessori School (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Saint Louis Countryside Montessori School
    Montessori School
    12226 Ladue Rd
    Saint Louis , MO , 63141
    (314)434-2821
    Montessori School
    0.6  mi  |  2  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG
  • Saint Louis
    Solomon Schechter Day School
    (Jewish)
    348 S Mason Rd
    Saint Louis , MO , 63141
    (314)576-6177
    (Jewish)
    0.6  mi  |  89  students  |  Gr.  KG-8
  • Saint Louis
    Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School
    (Jewish)
    348 S. Mason Road
    Saint Louis , MO , 63141
    (314)576-6177
    (Jewish)
    0.6  mi  |  171  students  |  Gr.  K-8
  • Saint Louis
    Whitfield School
    175 S Mason Rd
    Saint Louis , MO , 63141
    (314)434-5141
    0.8  mi  |  398  students  |  Gr.  6-12
  • Saint Louis
    St Louis Priory School
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    500 S Mason Rd
    Saint Louis , MO , 63141
    (314)434-3690
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    0.8  mi  |  447  students  |  Gr.  7-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - Rossman School is preparing my children acdemcially for the future as well as emphasizing the importance of being kind, responsible people. Their JK program is fantastic, with caring teachers who teach phonics and beginning math skills as well as leading the children in their study of Master artists such as Van Gogh and Matisse. Excellence continues in SK up through sixth grade, including specialty areas such as science and social studies. My children absolutely love going to school and I feel confident in our decision to send them to Rossman; it is more than an elementary school, it is a community. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 03, 2013 - Sending our children to Rossman School has been a wonderful decision and, in one way or another, my wife and I are reminded daily that we made the right choice. From the academics to the character development every aspect is top notch. The children are challenged but supported and are well prepared to succeed in secondary school and beyond. We absolutely love being a part of the Rossman community. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 28, 2013 - A truly wonderful school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 28, 2013 - Rossman school is a special place that challenges the children to push themselves academically but also provides an environment where they really want to learn and enjoy learning. There is a nice balance of nurturing in the younger years and challenges provided by teachers in the older years. The teachers get to know your children as individuals and push them to levels they can and should achieve. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 28, 2013 - Rossman has been an effective, high-level educational environment for our three boys. A warm, friendly haven, staffed with highly skilled and caring educators, Rossman allowed our boys to fully realize any academic potential they possessed. They are more prepared than their peers to meet the challenges of their very demanding college-prep secondary school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 28, 2013 - After looking at a number of private and public schools, we knew Rossman was the best choice for our son entering kindergarten. After the first quarter, our decision was only cemented even further. The structured learning environment is challenging and nurturing. The families have been so warm and welcoming. Our son''s academic progress has exceeded our expectations thus far. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 28, 2013 - I love that Rossman School develops both strong academic learners as well as individuals with sound character. Kindness, honesty, respect and responsibility ("the Rossman rules") are as important academics. I have heard from older students at secondary schools who did not attend Rossman comment on how impressed they are by the character of students who graduated from Rossman. I think that speaks volumes. We are extremely happy there. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 11, 2013 - Rossman is a wonderful elementary school that provides a nurturing learning environment where children thrive and become exceptionally prepared for the most challenging secondary schools. Teachers and adminstrators are warm and create a strong network of support where children can truly be themselves and achieve their own personal best. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 11, 2013 - Rossman School has provided excellent leadership skills as well as academics. Our daughter loves Rossman School. Having all the extra curricular activities are truly beneficial for my family. Its like a "One Stop Shop". Rossman School "ROCKS!" - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - We are so lucky to have to have our daughter attend Rossman School. The school offers not only an excellent education but a warm family-like environment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn''t ask for anything better! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn''t ask for anything better! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 21, 2013 - Rossman School has been a wonderful choice for our daughter. Both the lower school years and now the upper school years have been both academically challenging and emotionally and socially nurturing. The level of attention to developing the "whole student" is second to none in St. Louis! - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!