Rossman School

12660 Conway Road
Saint Louis, MO 63141-0631
Tel: (314)434-5877
Grades: PK - 6 | 230 students
previous
next
At Rossman School, a well-defined curriculum and superior instruction allow each child to experience frequent success. Experience tells us that high expectations encourage and motivate students who will live in an increasingly global society.
We enthusiastically welcome children from all racial, ethnic and cultural backgrounds.
Students are taught respect and compassion for others, appreciation for differences among people, strength of character, positive leadership skills, self-discipline, and individual responsibility.
Our mission is a large challenge and a larger opportunity! At Rossman School, the children are the priority.
A kind and dedicated faculty, administration, and staff emphasizes personal relationships with each child.
The adults are models and spokesmen for moral leadership, and Rossman School generously supports families by holding children accountable for their personal best in both academics and strength of character. The intent of the Rossman program is to teach a strong work ethic within a nurturing environment and make success a habit.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1917

Student Body

Total Students 230 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 40%
State avg.: 18%
Students by Grade Rossman School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 50%
Average Class Size 29 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 25 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $18,525
Tuition Notes includes lunch
Admissions Director Katharine Durham

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Flag Football, Gymnastics, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Field HockeyFlag Football,
GymnasticsSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Sports, Student Council Afterschool Sports,
Student Council,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Christian Brothers College High School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Countryside Montessori School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Moog Center For Deaf Education (0.8 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint Louis
    Christian Brothers College High School
    All-boys (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 801 students
    0.5 miles
    1850 De La Salle Dr
    Saint Louis, MO 63141
    (314)985-6100
    0.59-12
    801
  • Saint Louis
    The Moog Center For Deaf Education
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK | 31 students
    0.8 miles
    12300 S 40 Dr
    Saint Louis, MO 63141
    (314)692-7172
    0.8PK
    31
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: PK-KG | 25 students
    0.9 miles
    12226 Ladue Rd
    Saint Louis, MO 63141
    (314)434-2821
    0.9PK-KG
    25
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: KG-8 | 132 students
    0.9 miles
    348 S Mason Rd
    Saint Louis, MO 63141
    (314)576-6177
    0.9KG-8
    132
  • Saint Louis
    Churchill Center & School
    Special Education School
    Grades: UG | 179 students
    1 miles
    1021 Municipal Center Dr
    Saint Louis, MO 63131
    (314)997-4343
    1UG
    179

School Reviews

Rossman School has been a wonderful choice for our daughter. Both the lower school years and now the upper school years have been both academically challenging and emotionally and socially nurturing. The level of attention to developing the "whole student" is second to none in St. Louis!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn''t ask for anything better!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman School provides a fantastic combination of challenging academics in a nurturing, family-like environment. The daily P.E. sessions, coupled with music, art, Spanish, weekly assemblies, cultural performances, field trips, community service, and public speaking opportunities make Rossman truly special. My girls are excited to attend Rossman each year and I couldn''t ask for anything better!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We are so lucky to have to have our daughter attend Rossman School. The school offers not only an excellent education but a warm family-like environment.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman is a wonderful elementary school that provides a nurturing learning environment where children thrive and become exceptionally prepared for the most challenging secondary schools. Teachers and adminstrators are warm and create a strong network of support where children can truly be themselves and achieve their own personal best.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman School has provided excellent leadership skills as well as academics. Our daughter loves Rossman School. Having all the extra curricular activities are truly beneficial for my family. Its like a "One Stop Shop". Rossman School "ROCKS!"
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman school is a special place that challenges the children to push themselves academically but also provides an environment where they really want to learn and enjoy learning. There is a nice balance of nurturing in the younger years and challenges provided by teachers in the older years. The teachers get to know your children as individuals and push them to levels they can and should achieve.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman has been an effective, high-level educational environment for our three boys. A warm, friendly haven, staffed with highly skilled and caring educators, Rossman allowed our boys to fully realize any academic potential they possessed. They are more prepared than their peers to meet the challenges of their very demanding college-prep secondary school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
A truly wonderful school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
After looking at a number of private and public schools, we knew Rossman was the best choice for our son entering kindergarten. After the first quarter, our decision was only cemented even further. The structured learning environment is challenging and nurturing. The families have been so warm and welcoming. Our son''s academic progress has exceeded our expectations thus far.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I love that Rossman School develops both strong academic learners as well as individuals with sound character. Kindness, honesty, respect and responsibility ("the Rossman rules") are as important academics. I have heard from older students at secondary schools who did not attend Rossman comment on how impressed they are by the character of students who graduated from Rossman. I think that speaks volumes. We are extremely happy there.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Sending our children to Rossman School has been a wonderful decision and, in one way or another, my wife and I are reminded daily that we made the right choice. From the academics to the character development every aspect is top notch. The children are challenged but supported and are well prepared to succeed in secondary school and beyond. We absolutely love being a part of the Rossman community.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Rossman School is preparing my children acdemcially for the future as well as emphasizing the importance of being kind, responsible people. Their JK program is fantastic, with caring teachers who teach phonics and beginning math skills as well as leading the children in their study of Master artists such as Van Gogh and Matisse. Excellence continues in SK up through sixth grade, including specialty areas such as science and social studies. My children absolutely love going to school and I feel confident in our decision to send them to Rossman; it is more than an elementary school, it is a community.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Saint Louis, MO is $10,316 for elementary schools and $16,284 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Saint Louis, MO is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos