Casa Montessori

     Tel: (818)886-7922
   
Grades: PK - 6 | 100 students
Casa Montessori, Inc., a non-profit, non-sectarian, California corporation was founded in 1971 by Mrs. Sakura M.
Long and three other directors.
Children learn concentration, order, and skills adapted to our culture by practical life activities.
They increase the activity of their senses through the sensorial materials.
The Montessori school is designed to accommodate the developmental stages of children which occur in three year cycles.
Therefore, we are ungraded.
These mixed age groupings of children stay together for blocks of time in the same room.
All materials show the theories in concrete form, and help to lead into the abstract.
The subjects are learned by an integrated curriculum.
The strategy of Montessori education is to develop the whole child through "whole views," because all knowledge is interrelated.
The school fosters the child's sense of independence and responsibility.
He develops his own discipline which Monetssori described as follows: "We call an individual disciplined when he is master of himself, and can, therefore, regulate his own conduct".

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1971

Student Body

Total Students 100 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 67%
State avg.: 45%
Students by Grade Casa Montessori Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 9 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 11:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
Admission Deadline None / Rolling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academic Chess, Computer Program, Dance & Gymnastics, Guitar, Mad Science, Orff Music Program, Piano, Soccer, Spanish Language, Visual & Creative Art Classes Academic Chess, Guitar, Mad Science, Piano, Soccer, Computer Program,
Dance & Gymnastics,
Orff Music Program,
Spanish Language,
Visual & Creative Art Classes,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is San Fernando Valley Academy (0 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is San Fernando Valley Academy (0 miles away)
The nearest preschool is San Fernando Valley Academy (0 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Northridge
    San Fernando Valley Academy
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    17601 Lassen St
    NorthridgeCA 91325
    (818)349-1373
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    0 mi | Gr. PK-12 | 117 students                      
  • Northridge
    9650 Zelzah Ave
    NorthridgeCA 91325
    (818)739-5231
    Special Education School
    0.4 mi | Gr. 4-12 | 83 students                      
  • Northridge
    17701 Devonshire St
    NorthridgeCA 91325
    (818)368-5781
    (Jewish)
    0.5 mi | Gr. KG-8 | 400 students                      
  • Northridge
    10400 Zelzah Ave
    NorthridgeCA 91326
    (818)368-7254
    (Presbyterian)
    0.6 mi | Gr. PK-5 | 241 students                      
  • Northridge
    Art Of Learning Academy
    Special Education School
    9535 Aldea Avenue
    NorthridgeCA 91325
    (818)701-7675
    Special Education School
    0.7 mi | Gr. 6-12 | 20 students                      

School Reviews

6 days ago
My child has been attending casa Montessori for 3 yrs and we are very happy with academics and extra curricular activities the schools offers . The opportunity for kids to learn and to grow on their own with their own peer group
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
This school needs to grow a little more. Right now there are only about 16 students left in the entire elementary school. Other than that it is okay.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
Kids are well taught to obey authority and follow directions. Kids sit in assigned seats and must do what the teacher tells them to do without talking to classmates or moving around.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
This can be a great school once again if more people will enroll. We once had 125 elementary students but enrollment has dropped to around 16 elementary students. We need more elementary students to get involved in extracurricular activities.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
I would like to see the school grow more. The preschool is fine, but the elementary school is under-enrolled with only 2 or 3 kids per age group after kindergarten.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
My child has excelled greatly in the past year. She is starting to read at age 3 as a result of the montessori method and her wonderful teachers! I would love to see this underrated, reasonably priced school grow and flourish. You can''t beat it for the the price and most of all the result! I will send all of my children here for as long as I can afford it. It is the only Montessori that offers an Elementary program in the San Fernando Valley that I know of.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
I just enrolled my second child because I''m so happy with the progress my daughter made here. I love the greenery of the campus and the pleasant personalities of all of the teachers.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
I highly recommend you come take a tour of this wonderful school, My children have been attending Casa Montessori for past few years, one is now in Elementary. I am always amazed at the level of critical thinking skills, and knowledge they have gained threw their Montessori education. The children are actually excited about school, and what they are going to learn and projects they plan to do with their classmates. Because of the small class size they are afforded a genuine, one on one Montessori experience. I absolutely give this school 5 stars, all the teachers are very dedicated to their students!
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Why Would I Want to....
Why Would I Want to....
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Northridge, CA is 68% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).