The Charles Finney School

2070 Five Mile Line Road,
Penfield, NY, 14526-0145
     Tel: (585)387-3770
Grades: K - 12 | 257 students
The Charles Finney School is private Christian school for K-12.  Our motto is "Do Something Greater".  Doing something greater has four components that are integrated throughout a Finney education: character, compassion, creativity, and community.  We strive for academic excellence and while providing an atmosphere where students can also grow socially and spiritually.  We teach students a Biblical foundation that can be applied to all subjects and real life.  Students at Finney excel because of solid academics and caring faculty.  They are given opportunities to nurture their creativity and gifts and take leadership roles.  Students can take part in interesting electives and extracurricular activities, exceptional music and art programs, Section V sports, AP courses and college level courses, and much more!  Call us for a tour or to arrange a student visit.  We look forward to meeting your family!

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Year Founded 1992

Student Body

Total Students 257 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade The Charles Finney School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 31 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Calculus AB/BC, AP English, AP Psychology, AP US History, 
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition varies by grade level. Financial aid, multiple child discounts and academic scholarships are available.
Admissions Director Tara Bator

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. C.A.T.C.H. Student Mentoring, Drama/Musical Theater, F.I.R.S.T. Robotics Team, Finney Ambassadors, Lego Robotics, NYS Bar Association Mock Trial, S.A.T. Prep, Student Government, Yearbook Lego Robotics, S.A.T. Prep, Yearbook, C.A.T.C.H. Student Mentoring,
Drama/Musical Theater,
F.I.R.S.T. Robotics Team,
Finney Ambassadors,
NYS Bar Association Mock Trial,
Student Government,

School Notes:

To apply to The Charles Finney School, go to the Admissions section on our webpage www.finneyschool.org.  Link: http://www.finneyschool.org/Admissions/Apply.aspx 

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Charles Finney School (0 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Charles Finney School (0 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Joseph Elementary School (0.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • PenfieldCharles Finney School
      (Christian)
    2070 Five Mile Line Rd
    PenfieldNY14526
    (htt)ps:-//finneyschoolorg/
      (Christian)
    0 mi | 237 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • PenfieldSt Joseph Elementary School
      (Roman Catholic)
    39 Gebhardt Rd
    PenfieldNY14526
    (585)586-6968
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.2 mi | 312 students | Gr. PK-6                      
  • PenfieldPenfield Village Nursery School & Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool
    1862 Penfield Rd
    PenfieldNY14526
    (585)381-7300
    Daycare / Preschool
    0.2 mi | 28 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • RochesterPenfield KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    1606 Penfield Road
    RochesterNY14625
    (585)586-3940
    Daycare / Preschool
    0.9 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • RochesterTrinity Montessori School
    Montessori School
    100 Golden Flyer Dr
    RochesterNY14618
    (585)586-1044
    Montessori School
    1.6 mi | 73 students | Gr. PK-6                      

School Reviews

Recommended
9 months ago
My daughter has attended Finney since 2009. We have been so pleased with what Finney has been able to offer her academically, socially, and spiritually. We consider ourselves part of the Finney Family and that is truly how it feels!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
I am a teacher who retired from Finney. This is an excellent school for academics, sports, and Christian spiritual/values education. I especially like that the school is run by several different churches and pulls in children from many surrounding school districts in both Monroe and Wayne Counties.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
1 year ago
The Charles Finney School has been the best decision we made for our son. He loves going to school and participating in all academic and athletics the school has to offer. The teacher and the staff are fabulous and always aware of what''s happening with the children. The school is a very welcoming place for parents and families alike. Our son started going to Finney in the 8th grade and we truly wish we had enrolled him years ago. My son has grown a lot socially, academically and spiritually at Finney. Even though we do not live in the Penfield area, the distance has not been a problem for our family. Great school all around.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Education is great and my kids are all thriving at Finney! Sports, music and other extra-curricular options are great for a school this size as well!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Outstanding Christian school, strong emphasis both on the spiritual and academics, both of my kids attend, highly recommended.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
The Charles Finney School is a dynamic and rewarding institution for students, teachers and families. Our students continue to win awards in art, writing, music, robotics and sports. Several of our teachers have been nominated by students and have won awards for their work at both the elementary and high school levels. A new state of the art science lab will be ready for use in the fall of 2013, and most of our classrooms use either SMARTBoard technology, Promethean technology, or large flat panel TVs synched to ipads. At Finney we focus on the whole person and strive to help our students grow spiritually, academically, emotionally and physically. If you are interested in providing your children with the opportunity to do something greater on a daily basis, consider The Charles Finney School.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
1 year ago
Finney is headed in the the right direction. There are so many positive things happening around the school. My children love attending. The teachers are loving and do a great job academically.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
My daughter has attended Finney for three years. When I am not with her, I know that I can trust the staff to take care of her in the same way that I would.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
The Charles Finney School is a special place. The teachers (and I am one) are committed to helping the students discover and embrace the joy and importance of life-long learning.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
1 year ago
I love to teach at Finney because we have great students, parents, and administrators.
- Posted by Teacher

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Monroe County, NY is $5,932 for elementary schools and $12,114 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Monroe County, NY is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos