The John Crosland School

5146 Parkway Plaza Boulevard,
Charlotte, NC, 28217-0282
Tel: (704)365-5490
There are places in the world that are special and beyond description.
The John Crosland School happens to be just such a place.
We are a community of teachers, learners and creators that have bound together to craft an educational experience for children with learning disabilities and Attention Deficit Disorder that transcends "school".  The mission of The John Crosland School is to provide students in grades K-12, who have specific attention and learning differences, the individualized education to achieve their highest potential.
The school creates an environment that nurtures and protects what we value most in our children: their curiosity, talents, character, humanity, and dreams.  Our vision  is that we be an innovative pioneer in the attention and learning disabilities fields.
Crosland is now one of the leading independent schools in the U.S.
for creating academic success, and has helped more than 3000 students achieve their full potential.

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Southern Association of Independent Schools
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported LD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Processing Disorders, Reading, Math and/or Written Expression Disorders, etc.
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 90 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 31%
State avg.: 17%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 17 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Solid colored collard shirts, no graphics, all Crosland t-shirts and sweatshirts, solid navy or grey sweatshirts or sweaters, and solid bottoms)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition is on website.
% on Financial Aid 26%
Admissions Director Portia Eley

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports BasketballCross CountryFlag FootballGolfTennisBasketballCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
Tennis

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. After School Enrichment Activities (i.e. karate, crafts, etc.), Chess Club, Competitive Bridge Building Group, Crochet Club, Please visit our website for more information on extracurriculars, Service Project Club Chess Club, Crochet Club, After School Enrichment Activities (i.e. karate, crafts, etc.),
Competitive Bridge Building Group,
Please visit our website for more information on extracurriculars,
Service Project Club,

School Notes:

    • The first school in the Charlotte region dedicated to helping children with learning disabilities and ADHD
    • K-12 college preparatory school
    • Dually accredited by SACS and SAIS

    Profile last updated: 11/25/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Rod Of God Christian Academy (2.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Nations Ford Christian Academy (2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Victory Christian Center (3.1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Charlotte Nations Ford Christian Academy
    (Christian)
    7410 Nations Ford Road
    Charlotte , NC , 28217
    (704)521-4191
    (Christian)
    2  mi  |  39  students  |  Gr.  K-5
  • Charlotte
    Rod Of God Christian Academy
    (Christian)
    7300 S Tryon St
    Charlotte , NC , 28217
    (704)527-9900
    (Christian)
    2.1  mi  |  10  students  |  Gr.  2-12
  • Charlotte
    Park Road KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    3322 Park Road
    Charlotte , NC , 28209
    (704)525-0852
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2.9  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • Charlotte
    Holy Trinity Catholic Middle School
    (Roman Catholic)
    3100 Park Rd
    Charlotte , NC , 28209
    (704)527-7822
    (Roman Catholic)
    3  mi  |  956  students  |  Gr.  7-9
  • Charlotte
    Victory Christian Center
    (Christian)
    7224 Old Pineville Road
    Charlotte , NC , 28217
    (704)391-7339
    (Christian)
    3.1  mi  |  426  students  |  Gr.  PK-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 13, 2014 - No review yet, but would like to visit the school and meet the faculty. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 11, 2013 - Our dzaughter has learning deficiencies in math and reading. She was struggling in the public school system to the point that we knew we had to make a change. The John Crosland School has been an absolute blessing. She''s in her 6th year at Crosland, now in high school and loves it. More importantly, she''s excelling academically! The teachers and staff are amazing and truly dedicated to educating these great kids. Great School - highly recommended! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 11, 2013 - The John Crosland school has turned around my daughter''s academic life. She went from struggling in school and getting C''s and D''s to becoming a straight A student. The smaller classroom sizes, the knowledge of the teachers on how to redirect her wandering mind, the ability to teach in the way that she learns - all have been contributing factors to her success. The school is a beautiful example of what is meant by the phrase "its takes a village to raise a child". Teachers, staff, and other parents all band together to ensure that every child sees their way to academic success. School events are of high quality, the athletic program is amazing, music and art program are outstanding, and the facilities are exactly what is needed to provide a well rounded program. Visit The John Crosland school, feel the love and hear about the program. Its a community unlike any other I''ve experienced. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - The John Crosland School has allowed our daughter the ability to soar educationally by offering smaller classroom sizes with a low teacher to student ratio. The teachers are all deeply committed to the success of their students by offering tutoring and openly communicating educational success plans with parents. I also appreciate the collaborative nature in which the parent council collaborates with the parents as they are committed to building a John Crosland parent Community. The John Crosland School has allowed our daughter to focus on strategic thinking skills through emphasis on athletics and the arts. I could not be happier with our experience at the John Crosland School. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - My wife and I are delighted to have found this school for our son. This is his third year and he is thriving educationally and emotionally. The teachers are excellent educators who are nurturing but challenging. Indeed, since becoming a Crosland student, his aptitude in math and science has shot up exponentially. There also a number of extracurricular activities that are available. He enjoys karate. Overall, just a great school! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - My son is learning disabled and is in his sixth year at The John Crosland School. Simply put, I could not imagine him attending any other school. The faculty and administrative staff are highly qualified, caring and attentive. It has been a wonderful experience, and my son has benefitted enormously. I highly recommend Crosland! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - JCS (formerly Dore Academy) has been a god send for us and our son. He has been with this schooll since fourth grade and now a senior. They have been able to teach him in ways he can learn. He once couldn''t do homewrok and thes tress was incredible. He lives much more stress free and is doing great. The secret to JCS is it''s wonderful teachers. We are in a beautiful new builing in a great location. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!