Veritas Christian Academy

17 Cane Creek Rd,
Fletcher, NC, 28732-0287
Tel: (828)681-0546
Grades: PK - 12 | 356 students
Veritas Christian Academy is an independent, co-educational, PreK - 12, college preparatory school with an educational culture built on the classical Trivium and historic Biblical Christianity.
Veritas provides an academic curriculum that trains students in the grammatical, dialectical, and rhetorical arts with an equal emphasis on the acquisition of the empirical and mathematical sciences preparatory to, or at the level of, College Board Advanced Placement standards.
The program aims not only to equip students with knowledge of the different disciplines, but also to aid their understanding of learning as the pursuit and application of truth.
The program's distinctives include Latin instruction that begins in third grade, a full year of informal and formal logic, a full year of rhetoric, the writing and defense of a senior thesis, and the age-appropriate teaching methodologies required of each subject.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported High Functioning Autism and related conditions
Year Founded 1998

Student Body

Total Students 356 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 10%
State avg.: 17%
Students by Grade Veritas Christian Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 59 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 45%
Average Class Size 20 students
Number of AP Courses 7 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Chemistry, AP Latin Virgil, AP Literature and Composition, AP US Government, AP US History  
Average SAT score 1807
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Khaki pants/shorts/skirts/logo polo shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition ranges from $5,564 in Pre-Kindergarten to $10,556 for seniors.
% on Financial Aid 25%
Average Financial Aid Grant $3,800
Acceptance Rate 85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Dana Bell

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Golf, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryGolf,
SoccerTennis,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess Club, Chorus, Drama, Nature Appreciation, Studio Art, Yearbook Chess Club, Chorus, Drama, Studio Art, Yearbook, Nature Appreciation,

School Notes:

  • To graduate from Veritas Christian Academy a student must have at least a C average (70% or higher) in every course taken in the curriculum. The school does not rank students. A minimum of 23 credits is required for graduation.
  • Profile last updated: 03/21/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Arden Christian School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Arden Christian School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Carolina Day School (6.3 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Arden Arden Christian School
    (Baptist)
    2568 Hendersonville Rd
    Arden , NC , 28704
    (828)687-0704
    (Baptist)
    1.3  mi  |  19  students  |  Gr.  5-11
  • Arden
    Montessori Country Day
    Montessori School
    158 Bradley Branch Rd.
    Arden , NC , 28704
    (828)654-9933
    Montessori School
    1.9  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-K
  • Arden
    Christ School    
    All-boys  (Episcopal)
    500 Christ School Rd
    Arden , NC , 28704
    (828)684-6232
    All-boys  (Episcopal)
    2.2  mi  |  249  students  |  Gr.  8-12
  • Hendersonville New Leaf Academy
    All-girls | Special Education School
    2075 N Rugby Rd
    Hendersonville , NC , 28791
    (828)697-5029
    All-girls | Special Education School
    3  mi  |  40  students  |  Gr.  6-11
  • Arden Nativity Preschool & Kindergarten
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (formerly AELC, ALC, or LCA))
    Po Box 208
    Arden , NC , 28704
    (828)687-8381
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (formerly AELC, ALC, or LCA))
    3.1  mi  |  113  students  |  Gr.  K

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 13, 2014 - My wife and I have two children in the Lower School at Veritas and our third will attend upon reaching the age to do so. We have been extraordinarily pleased with the education as well as the Christ-like mentoring and teaching provided by the entire staff. I would sell all that I possess if necessary to ensure our children complete their education at Veritas Christian Academy. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 17, 2013 - We are entering our 7 th year at VERITAS. We have 3 children in 1st, 4th, and 6th. What a blessing and privilege to have our children attend such an amazing academic school in such a wonderful atmosphere! Our 6th grade has attended since kindergarten and is more than prepared to be successful as a middle schooler. VERITAS is truly a place of respite where our children can be loved on and taught a Christian worldview. They also partake in classical learning that, not only, prepares them for college, but also, gives them the foundation to be thriving adults in today''s challenging world. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 05, 2013 - I have 2 kids entering our 6th year at Veritas. I also have a child in high school at a public school, so I feel that I am familiar with both academic environments. VCA offers by far the more superior education. Kids graduate truly being prepared for college. There are plenty of AP courses, and the teachers are obviously wonderful. At the public school, there is little personal attention. At VCA, the teachers truly know my children and encourage them in all ways. Also, my children actually get to play on the sports teams . There is wonderful theater as well. It has been the perfect school for us. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - We educated two daughters at Veritas. The education was exceptional in many ways. The academic rigor is unrivaled by any school in the region. The "Classical" education with its emphasis on trivium (grammar stage, logic stage and rhetoric stage) provided a cohesive educational approach. The early grades were enriched with various mnemonic devices designed to impart enormous content in efficient, engaging ways. Years after my children completed the primary grades I found myself sometimes reciting some of the Shurley Grammar Jingles that were the foundation for later refinement and deep understanding of grammar. Both my daughters developed an ability to edit text at the level of a professional copy editor. While I thought the "logic" stage of the middle school years was somewhat indistinct, the high school years proved me wrong when I witnessed how the logic stage was another foundational step. The quality of genuine scholarship that Veritas nurtured in both our children gave them a solid preparation for becoming lifelong learners. The commitment and passion demonstrated by the faculty was remarkable. It was often evident that their occupation as educators was their mission. While not every teacher enthralled us, and we certainly had disagreements at times, we never saw a reason to doubt the teacher''s genuine and heartfelt desire to seek the best for our children. Even when differences arose that pertained to Christian beliefs, there was an attitude of respect and an effort to avoid conflict with our beliefs as parents. I have always appreciated the thoughtful stewardship of financial resources displayed by the Board of Directors and leaders in the school. In no small part, this explains why Veritas has maintained relatively affordable tuition rates compared to other schools in our area like Carolina Day School. This also means their is more socioeconomic diversity among the student body than might be encountered at other schools. There were ample Advanced Placement courses for our children including AP Latin and Greek of course. Believing that in a pluralistic society like ours tolerance is paramount, I have often wished Veritas would drop its requirement for at least one parent to be a professing Christian. However, Veritas officials made compelling arguments that Veritas does not wish to be an evangelical school. Instead, it wishes to "partner" with parents in ways that would never be divisive. A school with an evangelical focus might be unable to sail between Scylla and Charybdis to avoid the perils of evangelizing to a child thereby undermining a parent who was a nonbeliever. While Veritas cannot guarantee a result regarding academic attainment or good character development, I continue to believe there is no better setting for providing children the best chance to achieve both. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - My wife and I have 2 kids going into their 3rd year in the lower school at Veritas. We were both educated in public schools in NC and now, like every other parent, we want to provide the best education possible for our own children. Our experience at Veritas has been overwhelmingly positive. The curriculum, teaching methods and educational standards are what you would expect of an elite private school. What has impressed me the most, however, is the culture of caring that is pervasive throughout the school. Faculty, students and parents all genuinely care not only for the well being of the kids, but for their families. When you see a teacher hug one of the children and tell them they love them and they are proud of them, you know your child is getting an experience that cannot be duplicated in a public school environment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - We are so happy that our daughter is at VCA! The teachers are excellent: caring Christians who really care for the students. The work-load is challenging, but reasonable. Our athletic teams do well, and I love that my daughter''s volleyball coach has real spirit of encouragement that carries over into the team. Her art teacher is wonderful, and she is involved in the drama program as well. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - Can''t imagine sending my kids anywhere else. This is a great combination of high academic standards in a Christian setting. Wonderful teachers care about every student and are willing and able to help each individual thanks to caring people and small class sizes. Thank you Veritas! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - We are in our 4th year at Veritas. It is an excellent education, but more over, the teachers and administration are the mentors and examples every parent would want for their child. This a loving, safe and Christ-Centered environment. It is one big happy family with strong academics - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - Veritas is an incredible school where grace is exhibited on every level. My child is challenged in the classical curriculum and encouraged in her Christian faith. The "tried and true" methods of teaching are practiced, and students truly learn. Small class sizes allow for excellent teacher relationships and mentoring. The Athletic Program is thriving and many students have received scholarships to attend colleges and universities. Theatre Veritas (Drama Program) is second to none and performs in two quality productions each year. We couldn''t be happier with this school! - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!