St. Aloysius Academy

401 S Bryn Mawr Avenue
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-0190
Tel: (610)525-1670
Grades: K - 8 | 208 students
St. Aloysius Academy is a private Catholic elementary school committed to the spiritual, moral, and academic development of each student.
St. Aloysius prepares young boys to assume with confidence roles of Christian leadership and service.
Through the dedication and commitment of a caring faculty and staff, each student is encouraged to recognize and develop his God-given gifts and talents so that he will be prepared to meet with Christian fortitude the challenges and demands of an ever-changing world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1895
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2008

Student Body

Total Students 208 students
Student Body Type All-boys
% Students of Color 2%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade St. Aloysius Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 35 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(gray trousers, navy blazer, white shirt, tie)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Sister Maryann Weidner

Sports

Total Sports Offered 8 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Flag Football, Football, Lacrosse, Soccer, Tennis, Track and FieldBaseballBasketball,
Flag FootballFootball,
LacrosseSoccer,
TennisTrack and Field,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess Club, Leadership Council, Pottery Club, Rocket Club, Science Explorers Chess Club, Pottery Club, Rocket Club, Leadership Council,
Science Explorers,

School Notes:

  • Sponsored by the Sisters, Sevants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary
  • Accreditated by the Middle School Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Nationally recognized Blue Ribbon School of Excellence
  • Innovation in Education Award for Promoting Catholic Identity
  • 21st century skills intentionally taught - compassion, collaboration, critical thinking, creativity and communication
  • K-8 Curriculum - Religion, Reading/Elnglish Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies,Computer and Library Literacy, Music, Art, Physical Education, K-3 Karate, 6-8 Rosetta Stone Language Program (French, German, Mandarin, Spanish), K-4 Mandarin Chinese; K-5 Spanish; 6-8 Latin
  • Extended-day care

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Country Day School Of The Sacred Heart (0.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Country Day School Of The Sacred Heart (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Country Day School Of The Sacred Heart (0.3 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bryn Mawr
    Country Day School Of The Sacred Heart
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-12 | 301 students
    0.3 miles
    480 S Bryn Mawr Ave
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)527-3915
    0.3PK-12
    301
  • Bryn Mawr
    theVillage School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 6-12 | 30 students
    0.3 miles
    452 S Roberts Road
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)519-1682
    0.36-12
    30
  • Bryn Mawr
    Grades: 6-12 | 258 students
    0.6 miles
    272 S Bryn Mawr Ave
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)922-2350
    0.66-12
    258
  • Bryn Mawr
    Grades: K-8 | 231 students
    0.7 miles
    372 Highland Ln
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)525-3266
    0.7K-8
    231
  • Bryn Mawr
    Hill Top Preparatory School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 5-12 | 72 students
    0.8 miles
    737 S Ithan Ave
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)527-3230
    0.85-12
    72

School Reviews

Great School! The teachers and faculty are wonderful. The boys are encouraged to be leaders and thinkers on a daily basis. Wonderful music and sports program which the boys are also encouraged to explore and excel at.
- Posted by Parent, 06/25/13
Matt and I wish to express our most sincere appreciation for all you do to make St. Aloyisus such a wonderful, learning experience for our son. From the welcoming signs up the driveway to the inspiring emails to parents, you and your staff of excellent teachers, have made us feel like we are finally home. When my son, Matt, got in the car yesterday, I asked him how his first day went. I was elated when he said, "It was great! The best day ever. It was awesome!" In all his years of gradeschool, Matt never felt that happy. Thank you for providing my son and our entire family with this experience. We look forward to two wonderful years at St. Aloyisus!
- Posted by Parent, 10/06/12
The unique spirit of partnership and trust that exists among school staff, parents and students achieves a common goal: the academic, spiritual and social development of our boys.
- Posted by Parent, 06/01/12
St. Aloysius Academy is an amazing school. When my husband and I started the search, I did not anticipate sending them to an "all-boys" school, but after one visit to St. Aloysius, we knew this is where we wanted to send our boys. Every aspect of a child's development is nurtured in this school. My sons are learning in such a well-balanced environment: art, language, gym, karate, and music. You will not find a better a better music program in grammar school. What is really unique is that so many of the boys are involved in the music program, making it "the norm" which I am not sure would happen if my sons were in a co-educational environment. And lastly, I would like to comment on the values that the Sisters and faculty instill in our boys. It is second to none. Such values are more important than ever in today's world. Saint Aloysius truly teaches our young boys how to become men, but also teaches them how to do so by being gentleman.
- Posted by Parent, 04/09/12
St. Aloysius Academy provides excellent academic instruction at each grade level. This instruction is academically challenging and encourages each student to strive for success. The cross curriculum expands the individual's mind and develops creative instincts to further explore other avenues. The grounds are simply breathtaking, welcoming all to the campus. The families, by example, are an inspiration to their sons and offer much support to the community.
- Posted by Parent, 04/09/12
As a parent of a recent graduate and a current student I would strongly recommend considering St. Aloysius Academy for you son. The school has an excellent academic program and a strong emphasis on service and leadership. St. Aloysius prepares boys to be young men of solid Christina values.
- Posted by Parent, 03/16/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Bryn Mawr, PA is 73% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos