Gladwyne Montessori

920 Youngsford Road,
Gladwyne, PA, 19035-0190
Tel: (610)649-1761
Grades: NS - 8 | 234 students
Gladwyne Montessori is a remarkable community of learning for ages 2 to Middle School.
We are focused on realizing the potential in every child - by providing an environment where self-reliance, purposeful learning and social harmony are fostered.
Guided by the philosophy of Dr.
Maria Montessori and reinforced by contemporary research, we are an outstanding alternative to traditional education, nurturing students who are bright, capable, caring and extremely prepared to succeed as critical thinkers in the 21st Century.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Association of Delaware Valley Independent Schools (ADVIS)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1962

Student Body

Total Students 234 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 29%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade Gladwyne Montessori Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 36 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 39%
Average Class Size 20 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $19,822
Tuition Notes Tuition listed is for 2014-2015 Kindergarten. Elementary tuition is $20,368 and Middle School Tuition is $20,764. Stepping Stones and Primary program tuition for ages 2 to 4 ranges from $5347 to $18643.
% on Financial Aid 17%
Admissions Director Bonnie McKeever
Admissions Associate Amanda Beeler

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Ballet, Baseball, Basketball, Dance, Flag Football, Soccer, Track and FieldBalletBaseball,
BasketballDance,
Flag FootballSoccer,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, Chess Club, Robotics Band, Chess Club, Robotics,

School Notes:

  • Gladwyne Montessori is an educational experience unlike any other...engaging and connecting students to learning since 1962. Using an extensive collection of fascinating materials, we inspire a student to grow at her own pace...to feel the immense reward of mastering a new skill with purpose and passion...to thrive within a community filled with wonder and respect.

    Through our rigorous, yet flexible, curriculum, your child gains a deep understanding and appreciation of superior academics, coupled with the ability to think clearly, communicate skillfully and work well with others.

    We offer a rich, inspiring curriculum designed around each student's individual needs. Rigorous academics meet engaging activities as your child is introduced to a world of learning for students age 2 through Middle School.

    Using an array of unique child-sized materials, the Gladwyne Montessori experience begins with our Stepping Stones program and continues with our Primary, Elementary and Middle School divisions. We also offer an excellent weekly Parent/Toddler program for our youngest children.

    As your child progresses through our vibrant classrooms, he advances from simple to abstract concepts. He feels the reward of doing things himself. He develops self confidence. He feels a sense of responsibility toward others and the world around him.

    He learns how to learn.

  • Profile last updated: 09/17/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is The Baldwin School (2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Wetherill School (0.8 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Wetherill School (0.8 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Gladwyne Wetherill School
    Montessori School
    1321 Beaumont Dr
    Gladwyne , PA , 19035
    (610)649-2299
    Montessori School
    0.8  mi  |  24  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG
  • Wynnewood The Gateway School
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    24 Old Gulph Rd
    Wynnewood , PA , 19096
    (610)642-5444
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1  mi  |  16  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG
  • Wynnewood
    Friends' Central Lower School
    (Friends)
    228 Old Gulph Rd
    Wynnewood , PA , 19096
    (610)642-7575
    (Friends)
    1.2  mi  |  264  students  |  Gr.  NS-5
  • Narberth Noreen Cook Center For Ece Of Har Zion Temple
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    1500 Hagys Ford Road
    Narberth , PA , 19072
    (610)667-6534
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    1.2  mi  |  149  students  |  Gr.  NS-K
  • Wynnewood Main Line Reform Temple
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    410 Montgomery Ave
    Wynnewood , PA , 19096
    (610)642-0304
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    1.8  mi  |  54  students  |  Gr.  K

School Reviews

  • Recommended November 21, 2013 - My children began at GMS when they were one and two years old; they are now 25 and 26 and spent their babyhood, primary and elementary years there ( before there was a Middle School. ) Some of their most important academic qualities were formed there: intellectual curiousity and boundless initiative. At GMS, they learned it was very cool to be smart . They also learned that few things in life come without risk and that the best accomplishments are those they achieve with the cooperation and collaboration of others. The School has grown remarkably in 20 years but is still committed to the core Montessori principles of hands-on learning materials, individualized and small group learning and the search for method and process rather than rote learning and a search for "the right answer". Often, the "right answer" is usually just another question pointing you in the direction of understanding. I am so grateful that school started for us at GMS. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 21, 2013 - When we first moved to the area our children were 4 and 2. We researched all of the schools and preschools in the area. GMS is the one that provided the most nurturing/hands on/ academic experience around. Year after year we were not only delighted by the teachers but the community as well. The biggest surprise was the strength of their elementary program (which my daughter went thru).My children are now confident, independent learners. I attribute a lot those qualities to GMS. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 21, 2013 - Sending our Son to Gladwyne Montessori is the best decision we have made as parents, hands down!!! Not having known a lot about the school, our next door neighbor encouraged us to visit and we were sold in an hour. I encourage you to visit in person, take an hour or two out of your day and see how engaged the students are, it will blow you away. It is remarkable that a classroom full of three, four and five year olds are so passionate about their work, helping each other along the way and not creating chaos like other schools we visited. There are a lot of misconceptions about Montessori education and in reality it is the future of how we should educate our children. My son is curious, engaged, passionate and HAPPY, all because of Gladwyne Montessori….The teachers are remarkable men and women who keep my child safe, teach him about the world and encourage him to explore what HE is interested in, rather than what’s going to be “on the test.” There is also a very comforting sense of community within the school, without that “Main Line” snob factor that you have to deal with at other schools. The teachers and staff are accessible, friendly and incredibly passionate about teaching and their classrooms. Just visit and see for yourself why this place is so special…..take my word for it!!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 19, 2013 - Gladwyne Montessori is a wonderful learning community. Exceptional staff and teachers that teach and nurture their students - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 19, 2013 - I have three daughters who attended GMS. The school was a great experience for our daughters and our family. The approach to education helped our daughters learn how to learn and the skills they developed at GMS have been key as they moved on in school. All three are thriving in challenging schools. As parents we found a supportive community that made being a parent at the school fun. The faculty was always responsive and we felt they truly knew our daughters as people. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 19, 2013 - GMS is a place where my children have thrives. The school allows children''s innate curiosity to be ignited so they are turned on to learning. It inspires individuality rather than conformity. It is a loving place with fantastic teachers who really care about each and every child and their success. Now that I have a child in elementary who has been there since he was 1, I see how the primary prepared h and it is pretty amazing! He is such a confident and warm person, with pride, self respect, confidence and knowledge. Thank you GMS. It''s an amazing and special school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - This school is a Gem - creates a joy of learning, a passion for curiosity, peacemakers and "out-of-the-box" thinkers. Most children are way ahead in subjects, plus they love school! I had little understanding of Montessori in the beginning.... now realizing it''s the most hands-on/effective way to learn key life and academic skills. GMS'' individualized, highly-integrative and multi-age environment is really the key and they have been executing this "21st Century" style of education for over 50 years. Plus, the teachers are really amazing and so caring, encouraging you to join the school''s "family". Wish we hadn''t succumbed to the Main Line attitude/brain washing that entering a bigger/elite school earlier was better.... absolutely not true.... plenty of time for these competitive social, academics & athletic cultures when your child is psychologically ready/matured. Plus, our kids almost always get their first choices on schools when moving on. It''s no secret our students go on to great academic, leadership and athletic achievements in high school....its the GMS fingerprint. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 05, 2013 - I am a VERY proud parent at Gladwyne Montessori School. My four year old daughter is developing a strong sense of self, purpose and of others. While developing leadership skills preparing her for the world ahead! Critical today! Thank you GMS - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 26, 2013 - Gladwyne Montessori offers an alternative (but becoming more main stream) teaching style and a dedicated/tenured group of teachers. Recent changes in pre-school offerings (more flexible schedules, expanded classroom space and staff) and the addition of a middle school provide a more complete path for kids/parents looking for an independent and engaging K-8 learning environment. My family especially likes the sense of community and special activities. Most important, though, is to have young kids that were truly excited to get back to school in September. Can you say the same about your child? - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, PA is $12,590 for elementary schools and $22,409 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, PA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).