Villa Joseph Marie High School

1180 Holland Road,
Southampton, PA, 18966-0189
     Tel: (215)357-8810
Grades: 9 - 12 | 368 students
Founded and sponsored by the Sisters of St. Casimir, Villa Joseph Marie High School, a private Catholic college-preparatory school for young women, defines itself by the special charism of its foundress, Mother Maria Kaupas, and by the life and teachings of Jesus Christ.
Modeling Mother Maria's belief in a life of faith, love, and service, the dedicated faculty encourages and celebrates the dignity, potential, and uniqueness of each student.
A Villa graduate is a Christ-like woman committed to a life of faith and service, a lifelong learner, and an empowered global citizen.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1932

Student Body

Total Students 368 students
Student Body Type All-girls
Students by Grade Villa Joseph Marie High School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 38 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 18 students
Number of AP Courses 13 courses
Advanced Courses AP Government, AP Environmental Science, AP American History, AP European History, AP Physics, AP Calculus, AP Literature, AP Psychology, AP Art, AP Biology, AP Statistics, 
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(uniform required)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Nov. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,600
Tuition Notes All-inclusive tuition. No fees.
Admissions Director Laura Lasky

Sports

Total Sports Offered 13 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryField Hockey,
GolfLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Chorus, Community Service Corps, Concert Band, Darfur Awareness Club, French Club, Health Services Club, Italian Club, Jazz Band, Knitting Club, Latin Club, Newspaper, Liturgical Choir, Mathletes, Media Club, Mock Trial, Music Ensemble, National, Forensics, Yearbook Forensics, Yearbook, Art Club, Chorus, Community Service Corps, Concert Band, Darfur Awareness Club, French Club, Health Services Club, Italian Club, Jazz Band, Knitting Club, Latin Club, Newspaper, Liturgical Choir, Mathletes, Media Club, Mock Trial, Music Ensemble, National,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is George School (3.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Katharine Drexel Regional Catholic School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Joy Bell Preschool (1.4 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • SouthamptonSt. Katharine Drexel Regional Catholic School
      (Roman Catholic)
    1053 Holland Rd
    SouthamptonPA18966
    (215)357-4720
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.3 mi | 383 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • SouthamptonJoy Bell Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool
    1400 Buck Road
    SouthamptonPA18966
    (215)860-1097
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.4 mi | 33 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • RichboroOhev Shalom Of Bucks County Preschool & Kdgn
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    944 2nd Street Pike
    RichboroPA18954
    (215)322-9583
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    1.6 mi | 16 students | Gr. PK-KG                      
  • RichboroRichboro KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    1100 Second Street Pike
    RichboroPA18954
    (215)364-3575
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.7 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • Feasterville TrevoseBreezy Point Day School
    Daycare / Preschool
    1126 Bridgetown Pike
    Feasterville TrevosePA19053
    (215)752-1987
    Daycare / Preschool
    2.3 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-1                      

School Reviews

Recommended
6 months ago
I had two daughters graduate from Villa. Loved the school, faculty and girls. My daughters are still very close with friends they met in Villa and both went on to college. I would recommed Villa without reservation.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
6 months ago
Amazing school--some of the best years of my life thus far! I was offered an amazing education which helped me in college and grad school. I am still best friends with the girls I met there. Villa not only fosters academic growth and maturity but emotional and social maturity as well. If a rigours private education is what''s appropriate for your daughter personally, then I strongly reccomend Villa Joe!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
I absolutely loved my four years at Villa! The teachers truly care about helping students learn, and they challenge students to reach their greatest academic potential. Villa also has numerous clubs and sports; while there, I participated in Mock Trial, Band, Quintessence (Villa''s literary magazine), and National Honor Society, and also served as a class officer. There are AP classes available, and most of my AP classes counted toward college credit. Villa definitely helped me grow into a strong, compassionate, hard-working, and intelligent woman, and I''m lucky to have attended such a great high school.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
Villa was definitely one of the best experiences of my life. It is commonly joked around that Villa is not a real place because of the fun things we did there like spirit days and Mini THON. The way teachers and students were really able to get to know each other on a more personal level was great because of how small classes are. The relationships between students and teachers is what truly made the environment feel fun and safe. The athletic department is continuously growing and getting better. If I had to pick any school I could go to again, I would definitely pick Villa.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
I received a wonderful education at VJM. I graduated many years ago (45 to be exact) and I admit there have been many changes to VJM. So many doors have opened for the young women who have chosen the Villa as their path for their future. I am proud to say that I am a Villa graduate and cherish the memories. A private school gives a student the attention needed to become a success. I would highly recommend the Villa.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
Villa is absolutely amazing! This school prepared me so well for college. The academic programs are challenging and the teachers are incredible. The girls in my class are still my best friends even after high school. Villa really is a sisterhood. The school has so much to offer and it is so easy to get involved in something you love! I strongly believe every girl should go to Villa, my life wouldn''t be the same without my phenomenal high school experience!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
Villa is the best decision I have ever made for my daughter, bar none!!! From the day she walked in the doors as a shy, introverted, easily intimidated little girl to the day she walked back out as a confident, strong, self-confident young woman it was a fantastic experience!! Heather had 9 girls in her English class Freshman year. That was the AP English class with Ms. McBrinn. That class lead her to achieve an almost perfect verbal SAT score. Mrs. Tyburski''s AP Bio class, and Heather''s subsequent score on the AP test, allowed her to have a Biology minor in college without taking any additional classes. She was able to just slide right in to the classes that gave her the minor. Mrs. Michelle hunted her down and insisted that Heather apply to the Pennsylvania Governor''s School, something I had never heard of before. Heather applied and was accepted, spending 6 weeks at the University of Pittsburgh over one summer. That was a fantastic experience in and of itself, but it also lead to multiple, generous scholarship offers for college including 2 full rides. Socially, Villa was a great experience as well. The Senior Trip they took to Disney will forever be a fantastic memory. The dances, proms, field days, ring day, skits (it''s not Villa without skits!), talent shows, and just general camaraderie among the girls make Villa what it is. My daughter graduated in 2004, but we just went back for a retirement party for Ms. McBrinn and Mrs. Tyburski, among others. We were welcomed as if we had been there last week!!! Once a gem, always a gem!!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
6 months ago
Attending villa were some of the best 4 years of my life. The teachers, staff, and girls I went to school with we''re amazing- many of them 10 years later I''m still friendly with. I would recommend villa to any girl looking to become strong and independent with so many opportunities available.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
6 months ago
I only went to Villa for 1 year, but in hindsight, I should have stayed & not gone to public school. I thought I knew better, but as my wise parents said..."you will be sorry", & I am. Great school. Great teachers. Great students.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 year ago
The instrumental program is out of this world! The teachers are unlike any other anywhere! The clubs list is missing quite (like photography club) a few and needs to be updated....Villa is always growing and expanding! We offer sooo many opportunities from academics, to sports, to clubs, to extra curricular s like science fair! I wouldn''t want to go anywhere else!
- Posted by Student/Alumni

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Country:
State:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Related School Videos

View more school videos