Rocky Hill School

Tel: (401)884-9070
Grades: NS - 12 | 267 students
Rocky Hill School is a college preparatory, coeducational, family-oriented school for 300 students in preschool through grade 12, serving just about every city and town in Rhode Island.  In a unique waterfront setting, Rocky Hill students experience our rich history and a challenging, college preparatory curriculum.
Through small classes, accessible faculty, a diverse and rigorous program, integrated technology, and an engaging environment, we are especially skilled at helping students discover and develop their full potential.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1934

Student Body

Total Students 267 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 17%
State avg.: 19%
Students by Grade Rocky Hill School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 58%
Average Class Size 12 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AB Calculus, BC Calculus, Biology, Chemistry, English, Environmental Science, French, Latin, Physics, Spanish, Statistics, Studio Art 2-D, Studio Art 3-D, Studio Art Drawing, US History  
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Preschool Program (3 & 4 year olds): 2 half days - $4,900 3 half days - $7,000 5 half days - $9,700 2 full days - $8,400 3 full days - $10,200 5 full days - $15,100 Kindergarten-Grade 2: $25,900 Grades 3-5: $26,250 Grades 6-8: $28,800 Gr
% on Financial Aid 24%
Average Financial Aid Grant $14,000
Admissions Director Catherine T. Washburn
Admissions Associate Maria Emmons

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Sailing, Soccer, Softball, TennisBasketballCross Country,
Field HockeyGolf,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
SailingSoccer,
SoftballTennis,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 15 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, Certamen, Choral, Community Service, Drama, Environmental, Karate, Kayaking, Lifetime Fitness, Math Team, Multicultural, Polar Bear Club, Robotics, Sailing, Yoga Band, Certamen, Choral, Drama, Environmental, Karate, Kayaking, Math Team, Multicultural, Robotics, Sailing, Yoga, Community Service,
Lifetime Fitness,
Polar Bear Club,

School Notes:

  • The mission of Rocky Hill School is to educate the whole child-mind,body,and spirit. As a school community,we encourage our students to become good citizens and life-long learners, guiding them as they strive for knowledge and self-awareness.

    Rocky Hill School is a family-oriented and energized educational community. We are proud of our heritage, traditions, academic programs, and the people who create the pulse of our daily activity: faculty, students and parents. Together, we are dedicated to encouraging our students in their intellectual, physical, creative and community pursuits, which both support and challenge. We are a community that strives to demonstrate mutual respect for one another, as individuals, by incorporating kindness and caring into positive interactions among our classmates, teachers, mentors and colleagues.

    Visiting families often ask what makes Rocky Hill School unique. First and foremost, is our size, which affords us the opportunity to interact in small learning groups, provides us with an opportunity to connect with each of our students, and provides children with opportunities for growth they may not get at larger schools. At Rocky Hill, every child may participate in activities they have never tried before, encouraged, and supported, in the pursuit of individual interests. Valuing family is not a cliché here; it is reality.

    Rocky Hill School fits the concept of a true country day school and we intentionally want to retain who we are and what we do best, as we move forward in the 21st century. Secondly, we offer a superlative location, with 88 acres along the Potowomut River and Narragansett Bay. Our curriculum is multifaceted, incorporating experiential learning; we are ideally located to take full advantage of the outdoor classroom concept. Our biology and marine science curriculum allow us to use our environment for on-task field work, while the river and bay serve as a water laboratory.

    Of prime importance to our uniqueness is the Rocky Hill School model for teaching and learning, which reflects our mission and builds on the two aforementioned qualities: size and location. Our collaborative model offers students and faculty the opportunity to interact with one another in round table, laboratory or mini-seminar style classrooms which encourages active and engaged participation among students and teachers.

    The Harkness Table - an oval table with seating for 10-14 students plus a faculty member - serves as an anchor in our classrooms and laboratories, ensuring that students are focused, engaged, and accountable. Furthermore, the technology in our wireless environment provides myriad "anytime, anywhere" learning opportunities.

    The Rocky Hill School Model encourages all students to articulate and champion their own ideas, as well as listen and respond respectfully to their peers. Authentic understanding is only accomplished through experience, and experience is only meaningful when students enjoy frequent and diverse opportunities to practice skills, test ideas, and apply knowledge. Our direct, hands-on approach to learning centers upon such experiences.

  • Profile last updated: 02/08/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Eleanor Briggs School (2.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is London Bridge Child Care Center (1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is London Bridge Child Care Center (1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • East Greenwich London Bridge Child Care Center
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    146 Duke St
    East Greenwich , RI , 02818
    (401)886-5347
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1  mi  |  3  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG
  • Charlestown Charlestown Early Learning Center
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    Po Box 220 4605 Old Post Rd
    Charlestown , RI , 02813
    (401)364-0645
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1.4  mi  |  66  students  |  Gr.  K
  • Lincoln Lincoln Seventh-day Adventist School
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    Po Box 153
    Lincoln , RI , 02865
    (401)723-7999
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    1.5  mi  |  59  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • East Greenwich Our Lady Of Mercy Regional School
    (Roman Catholic)
    55 4th Ave
    East Greenwich , RI , 02818
    (401)884-1618
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.6  mi  |  391  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Warwick Eleanor Briggs School
    All-boys | Special Education School
    116 Long St
    Warwick , RI , 02886
    (401)732-1540
    All-boys | Special Education School
    2.6  mi  |  28  students  |  Gr.  1-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended March 14, 2014 - This is the second year at RHS for my two children and they are settled and happy. They especially love the science and technology parts of the day. The teachers are all caring and provide appropriate challenges to each of my children. The small size can be difficult socially at times, however, the classes do seem to bond well and protect each other. We love the amount of time they spend outdoors and using the beautiful campus as an extension of the classroom. We are also impressed by the way each child has grown in confidence since beginning last year. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 14, 2014 - As a parent there is nothing I want more than to have my child educated in a community that values the whole child-Rocky Hill does just that. The small class size along with the highly dedicated faculty allow children to develop academically, artistically, athletically and emotionally. The teachers have been outstanding and go well beyond the "school day" to enrich student''s learning, My daughter looks forward to each and every day. The amazing marine environment is such an added benefit. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Our children have attended RHS from preschool through grade school. The campus is beautiful, and the kids spend a lot of time outdoors and we feel they are safe and getting a great connection to nature and the ocean. The class sizes are very small, which is a positive and a negative. The kids get a wonderful opportunity to participate actively in their learning, have close relationships with their teachers, and get challenged individually. The down-side of small class sizes are two-fold in my opinion. Because there are fewer kids in the class, the social challenges and the level of academic challenge overall are dependent on the group of students in the class maybe moreso than in a larger school, but again - they do try to meet each child''s individual needs. The teachers our kids have had have been engaged, enthusiastic, and very nurturing. There is a constant focus on making good people as well as successful people, which we like. The arts and music programs are strong. I cannot comment on highschool as our kids are younger. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Our second eldest (of four) is a sophomore and this is our first experience at RHS. Frankly, it has been tremendous. The beautiful campus setting and the welcoming student body are wonderful. Make no bones, freshman year was not easy due to the adjustment to a new school and the intensive academic load. However, the engagement between students and faculty, certainly enhanced by very small class size and the Harkness methodology, is exceptional. For a small school, the breadth of extracurricular offerings are expansive with opportunities to play sports, engage in the arts, or follow an individual passion with an independent study. In fact, the smallness affords kids a chance to play on a team or experience an activity which might not happen if they were at a larger institution. Would strongly urge a visit to make an informed decision and highly recommend RHS. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - As a parent with two children at Rocky Hill School, I could not be happier. My children are receiving a great education and are challenged on a daily basis. My children are engaged and happy and frequently thank us for sending them to Rocky Hill. The faculty and staff are welcoming to parents and are readily available to talk and the small class size means that my children receive a great deal of individual attention. The school integrates academics with high quality sports, music and arts education giving our children the opportunity to explore their interests and become well-rounded. Finally, the location of Rocky Hill on Narragansett Bay is stunning . Students have the opportunity for hands on learning in their outdoor classroom. Overall, our family experience at Rocky Hill has been very positive and we look forward to several more great years with the school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - My son is in his third year at Rocky Hill, and we''ve found the school a terrific fit for our family. Small classes mean a great deal of personal attention, and students have a freedom to learn as participants in their own education. There is a sincere focus on diversity, recognizing and celebrating all people for the individuals they are, which will be valuable and important when moving on to college and a diverse professional life. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Rocky Hill is a school that is like an extended family. The embraced my daughter when she started in 2012 - 7th grade. This family environment allows my daughter to excel and shine brighter than she ever did in public school. From day one she felt like she had been at the school since 1st grade. The comfort that every teacher knew who my daughter was before even starting school was fabulous! This small beautiful campus environment on the water is breathtaking. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Our child''s first year at Rocky Hill has gone really well so far. The high contact with faculty and small class sizes are a great improvement over public school experiences. Also, the round table seminar format and use of technology is a huge leap over public schools for preparation of the future college environment. We have seen great improvement in ability to use computer and techology, as well as a significant improvement in self-confidence and a maturing approach to debate and discussion. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - We are proud parents of 2 children currently attending Rocky Hill School; 1 in Middle school and 1 in the Upper school. We are happy to share that children of all academic capabilities fit in well at Rocky Hill School. It is wonderful to have a school with great academic rigor, REAL diversity, and flexibility. RHS is large enough that both of our children are able to find their place academically. While developing socially, spiritually, athletically and theatrically they are able to develop a healthy sense of self in a well-rounded environment. We find that RHS provides a calming, quiet powerful start to their day, which helps the children to build a partnership with their teachers. Our world is changing fast and we feel that Rocky Hill is focused and that our children will thrive as adults because of their experiences and problem solving skills attained at RHS. It has been our experience that Rocky Hill partners with us as parents to help mentor our kids to be the best they can be, to help make the world around them a better place and to feel confident in their abilities. It is a small school, but large enough to accommodate different learning styles. The Harkness table model is a wonderful setting where discussions are encouraged and used quite effectively. We have found it to be an exceptional learning tool when tough issues arise as the faculty addresses them immediately. The campus is well situated on the beautiful Narragansett Bay enabling unlimited educational possibilities. Our family is active at the school because we believe in the Rocky Hill mission and feel blessed to be a part of such a welcoming community. There is a real sense of community and this is demonstrated, as you will often see children from all three divisions collaborating and working together. My children come home happy and look forward to going to school the next day, what better testimony for a wonderful school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - I am a parent with two children at RHS, who are getting their Middle and Upper School educations at Rocky Hill. My two children are thriving, and both have found their own individual voices as they develop. The characteristics that I most value at RHS are the emphasis and respect given to individuality and individual attention, and the strong, challenging academic curriculum that encourages critical thinking. Faculty are extremely available, easily accessible, and not afraid to "think out of the box," if it will benefit your child''s education. In addition, they strongly encourage the student to learn how to advocate for themselves (a skill that will be crucial as they go through life). I would be remiss if I didn''t point out that the campus is quite beautiful, and with wonderful opportunities in sailing, the environment and athletics. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - As a parent I am delighted in the quality of the education, support and staff that Rocky Hill School provides my daughter. My daughter looks forward to school; she is challenged academically and has grown so much as a person since entering Rocky Hill School as a freshman. The forum the school provides to learn and interact with staff and students is amazing. The choices they offer for classes and for afterschool sports and activities is extensive and larger than I thought a small school could provide. I wish I could have attended a school like this when I was a student. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Highly recommended - excellent staff and learning environment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - I have a first grader and a preschooler at Rocky hill. They are both so happy. I told the first grade teacher the other day that my daughter skips to school. There are nine children in her first grade class. The teacher is amazing. She is easy going, gives them a ton of individualized attention and teaches them to respect one another. She is easily accessible on e-mail. The teaching model is project based learning. The first month of the year, they learned about masterpieces. Each student created 3-4 masterpieces based on certain historical art figures. They spent time every day on these pieces, tweaking them, adding to them. At the end of the month, they went on a field trip to RISD. I loved it! It taught my daughter not to rush, to think about what she is creating, lessons that will help her slow down and follow through with not only artwork but with all school projects. They have also done multiple research projects. The projects are done over a number of weeks. The children will research a topic at the library, such as a favorite animal. They will then brainstorm on different facts about the animal and their habitat. They will list the facts in categories, then write an essay and present it to their class in a fun way. She has improved tremendously with her reading and writing skills. She has always loved learning about mathematics and the teachers have been giving her more complex problems to enhance her problem solving skills. My son is in the preschool. He has two to three teachers with 13 children. The classroom is full of manipulatives, imaginary play and art projects. My son is comfortable and happy. He gets along well with the other students. He loves his teachers. He takes a number of classes with specialty teachers, Spanish, music, art, science, library, and gym (Specialty classes that my daughter takes every week as well). He feels like a true part of the larger Rocky hill environment. The older children visit his classroom and read to him. They are so sweet with the little ones. Overall, my husband and I have been thrilled with Rocky Hill. My children were new this year and I was nervous about their transition. The principal of the school got me in touch with parents over the summer and we had multiple playdates and the transition was smooth. We were also very intimidated at first regarding the costs. However, the school offered us a fair financial aid package. And I am so glad we went for it. We are hoping to be there for many more years! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Rocky Hill is a nurturing educational environment. The staff knows each student very well and are advocates for them. The classes are small and the harkness tables give every student a front row seat. The experiential learning with their waterfront campus is awesome. The students are encouraged in the arts and technology. While they do not compete in D1 sports, the teams are cohesive and competitive. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!