Grace-St. Lukes Episcopal School

246 S Belvedere Blvd,
Memphis, TN, 38104-0381
Tel: (901)278-0200
Grades: PK - 8 | 509 students
Grace-St. Luke's has been educating children since 1947.
We are a coeducational, Episcopal, pre-kindergarten through eighth grade school in the heart of Midtown Memphis.
While we are located in the historic Central Gardens neighborhood, our students come to us not only from Midtown but from all parts of Memphis as well as Arkansas and Mississippi. Our well-earned reputation of preparing confident learners and good citizens is known throughout the city and larger community.
As a leading independent school in the city of Memphis, it is our mission to prepare students to become creative problem solvers, lifelong learners, and responsible citizens in their communities and the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Independent Private Schools Association
National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1947

Student Body

Total Students 509 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 10%
State avg.: 15%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 75 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 16 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Dec. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,995
Tuition Notes Ranges from $7,150 for pre-kindergarten to $12,995 for eighth grade.
% on Financial Aid 16%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,200
Admissions Director Shelly McGuire

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports BaseballBasketballCheeringCross CountryFootball
GolfSoftballSwimmingTennisTrack and FieldVolleyball
BaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Honor Council, Honor Society, Thespian Society, Ambassadors Club, Student Council, Yearbook Honor Council, Yearbook, Honor Society, Thespian Society, Ambassadors Club,
Student Council,

School Notes:

  • Our NAEYC-accredited Miss Lee’s Preschool offers a play-based curriculum that encourages children to seek solutions to various challenges, be they academic, social, or emotional. In Lower School (grades SK-4), we begin our character development program and foster leadership through partnerships with younger students.  Our curricula is intentionally selected and taught to foster critical thinking skills, even at the elementary level.  Our Middle School program (grades 5-8) develops the whole child—on academic, social, emotional, and physical levels—for the rigors of high school. By fostering independence through leadership opportunities and high academic standards, our students graduate fully prepared for the challenges of high school.

  • Profile last updated: 07/30/2012

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Immaculate Comception Mid. - High School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Idlewild Presbyterian Kindergarten (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Immaculate Conception Elementa (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Memphis Idlewild Presbyterian Kindergarten
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Presbyterian)
    1750 Union Ave
    Memphis , TN , 38104
    (901)726-4681
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Presbyterian)
    0.2  mi  |  34  students  |  Gr.  K
  • Memphis
    Immaculate Conception Elementa
    (Roman Catholic)
    1669 Central Avenue
    Memphis , TN , 38104
    (901)725-2710
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  291  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Memphis
    Immaculate Comception Mid. - High School
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    1725 Central Avenue
    Memphis , TN , 38104
    (901)276-6341
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  207  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Memphis
    Memphis Cath High School - Middle School
    (Roman Catholic)
    61 N Mclean Boulevard
    Memphis , TN , 38104
    (901)276-1221
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  226  students  |  Gr.  7-12
  • Memphis
    1st Class Montessori Preschool
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1336 Peabody Ave
    Memphis , TN , 38104
    (901)274-5622
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    0.7  mi  |  23  students  |  Gr.  K

School Reviews

  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - Both of my children have attended GSL since pre-kindergarten. I am thrilled with our school choice. GSL is a great balance of strong academics with a warm, friendly atmosphere. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our son has been at GSL since PK and is now in the 2nd grade. GSL is a remarkable school and he has thrived - both academically and developmentally. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about each child. The sense of community this school fosters is fantastic and we can''t imagine sending our son to any other school. As a family with two working parents it''s great to know your child is in an environment that is not only academically challenging, but where he is happy and well cared for. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 12, 2013 - I am an extremely proud alumni of Grace-St. Luke''s school and on all accounts I believe it to be the greatest school in Memphis, TN. I believe that I can truly speak on all aspects of GSL because I not only attended school there from Mother''s Day Out to 8th grade, but I participated in almost every program there. The academics at GSL not only sufficiently prepared me for high school but led me to academic honors both during and after my time there. The teachers genuinely care about each and every student that comes through their doors and they will do whatever means necessary to help his or her students succeed in their class. I was involved in Theatre, Sports, Student Government (as president), and the Clubs offered on campus which set a precedent in my classmates and me of student involvement which has carried over to both my high school and college life. I know for a fact that I would not be the well-rounded person I am today without the values instilled in me at GSL. My parents will also vouch for how much a GSL education pays off after sending three children there. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended June 25, 2013 - GSL was a great place for me to grow up. It was a vital part of the growing up process, and I couldn''t imagine going anywhere else. I am so grateful for the abundance of time that I was able to spend at such a welcoming place. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended May 18, 2013 - GSL is a wonderful place of learning in which our son has thrived. He has attended since PreK and is now finishing 1st grade. The school provides a solid academic environment while also bringing out each child''s uniqueness and developing each child to their full potential. The teachers and staff are incredible and we are thrilled with our experience at GSL. We look forward to our son attending for years to come. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2013 - We have been at GSL since both my children were three. As a dual working parent it has been wonderful. I always know my children are engaged, learning, and feel safe. They do no want to leave when I pick them up!!! I really can''t imagine being anywhere else! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 12, 2013 - My kids have attended GSL since kindergarten, and we all absolutely love it. The school curriculum is advanced, creative, and engaging. The teachers are amazing. Their devotion to the students is obvious and they''re vital to the progressive, warm environment that makes the school so special. Parental involvement is tops, too -- a great sense of community here. As I said, we love GSL and can''t imagine going anywhere else. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!