Heavenly Host Lutheran School

777 S Willow Avenue
Cookeville, TN 38501-0385
Tel: (931)520-3766
Grades: NS - 8 | 94 students
previous
2012-2013 Heavenly Host Lutheran School Faculty and Staff
next
2012-2013 Heavenly Host Lutheran School Faculty and Staff

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1993

Student Body

Total Students 94 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Heavenly Host Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 8 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 1 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess; Choir; Jewelry Making/Crafts; Guitar; Making Healthy Snacks; Photography; Physical Fitness; Voice Chess; Choir; Jewelry Making/Crafts; Guitar; Making Healthy Snacks; Photography; Physical Fitness; Voice,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Endeavor (1.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Endeavor (1.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Heritage Christian Academy (9.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Cookeville
    Endeavor
    Alternative School
    Grades: 7-12 | 12 students
    1.4 miles
    1200 S Willow Ave
    Cookeville, TN 38506
    (931)432-7883
    1.47-12
    12
  • Cookeville
    Grades: 9-12 | 43 students
    1.5 miles
    728 South Jefferson Avenue
    Cookeville, TN 38501
    (931)528-2543
    1.59-12
    43
  • Cookeville
    Grades: 7-12 | 12 students
    1.5 miles
    Po Box 3165
    Cookeville, TN 38502
    (931)432-4123
    1.57-12
    12
  • Algood
    Algood Christian Elementary School
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    Grades: KG-8 | 17 students
    5.7 miles
    2660 Highway 111 N
    Algood, TN 38506
    (931)537-3561
    5.7KG-8
    17
  • Cookeville
    Highland Rim Academy
    Special Program Emphasis (Christian)
    Grades: K-9 | 49 students
    7 miles
    Po Box 3022
    Cookeville, TN 38502
    (931)526-4472
    7K-9
    49

School Reviews

All 3 of my children attend HHLS in different grades, we LOVE the the Christ centered atmosphere they are in on daily basis and the great amount of learning going on too!! Heavenly Host is a wonderful school with a very caring an family like staff!
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
I have a a child in 6th grade at HHLS. My older children started attending there the second year HHLS was open 15 years ago. Although HHLS went through many "growing"pains, the school has remained dedicated to providing a Christian education to the children in addition to nurturing them in acedemic studies. With a well rounded education and a Christ filled heart, they are well equiped to enter public High School. Every year, former HHLS students graduate in the top 10 % of their class.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
My son is currently in the 5th grade at HHLS. My older children also attended HHLS. They started there when the school first opened so I have had a lot of time to observe the school. Heavenly Host is and always has been dedicated to their mission of providing a quality education in a Christ centered atmosphere. The teachers and staff go above and beyond. They offer free tutoring, after school enrichment programs and and an accelerated reading program. I love this school. They are part of my family :)
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
HHLS is a true blessing for students and their families. The academic focus and achievement is outstanding. The family and Christ focused atmosphere is a positive environment for children to thrive. Without hesitation we choose HHLS for our child to receive the best education and the best environment that provides the best opportunity for success. The staff and teachers are the best. We cannot thank them enough. Highly recommended!
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12
This is a great school.My daughter went from kindergarden through 8th,my son is there now in 5th.Everything in the curriculum is great.I would highly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12
Heavenly Host Lutheran School is a nationally accredited and locally respected school in Putnam County Tennessee. We frequently receive compliments from Cookeville High School about how successfuly our school is at preparing the students for high school. We provide year round enrichment activities(including Art, Debate, Spanish, , as well as sports, music, library, and after school programs. Heavenly Host has a classroom per grade level, computers in every room, and is connected to a church and the pastors. We have the normal school issues, but we deal with them in a Biblical and Christian fashion. We have chapel every Wednesday with the pastor, and welcome those of all faiths.
- Posted by Teacher, 04/09/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Tennessee is $7,701 for elementary schools and $8,925 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Tennessee is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos