Grace School

10219 Ella Lee,
Houston, TX, 77042-0770
Tel: (713)782-4421
Grades: NS - 8 | 486 students
Grace School is committed to providing students from 20 months through eighth grade with a high-quality, Christian education enriched by an intentional and engaging learning environment.
We enable our students to become independent thinkers—achieving true academic success.
 We strive to develop thoughtful, compassionate young people eager to engage in the world around them.
Our class sizes are intentionally small and attentive to the individual learner.
Our vibrant, welcoming community gives our students the confidence to do their best.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
Religious Affiliation Presbyterian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Learning Programs Supported none
Year Founded 1975

Student Body

Total Students 486 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Grace School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 55 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director K.C. McMordie

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Drill Team, Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Drill TeamFootball,
SoccerSoftball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. After-school Enrichment Classes, Band, Choir, Lunch with the Lord, Men & Women of Integrity, Recreation Ministry Sports, Student Council, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts Band, Choir, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts, After-school Enrichment Classes,
Lunch with the Lord,
Men & Women of Integrity,
Recreation Ministry Sports,
Student Council,

School Notes:

    Founded in 1975, Grace School is a private Christian school serving students from 20 months through eighth grade. Located on a 13-acre campus in beautiful Houston, Texas, our school provides a challenging academic program to a diverse, co-ed student population.Grace School is dedicated to academic excellence and strives to develop thoughtful, compassionate young people eager to engage in the world around them. The school has three divisions: Primary School (Two's through Prekindergarten), Lower School (Kindergarten through fifth grade), and Middle School (sixth through eighth grade). Each division has its own individualized plan for developing life-long learners but work collectively to uphold the ideals and educational integrity of Grace School. Our goal is to provide a nurturing yet rigorous faith-based learning environment—small in relative size, but attentive to the individual learner.Grace School is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).
    • Our mission is to provide a rigorous educational program that embraces the teachings of Jesus Christ in a safe and inclusive environment.
    • Our vision is to inspire compassionate, thoughtful students eager to engage in the world around them.
    • We Believe….teaching and learning should be relevant, current, and rigorous.
    • We Believe….teachers should have a deep understanding of the developmental level of their students.
    • We Believe….effective educators are committed, self-motivated, courageous, and intentional.
    • We Believe….it is paramount to foster the growth of the mind, body, and spirit.
    • We Believe….leadership is shared by all and collaboration is used to advocate, nurture, and sustain an effective instructional program.
    • We Believe….in school-initiated family and community relationships.
    • We Believe….in developing the God-given gifts, talents, and uniqueness of each individual.
    • This mission statement is the heart and soul of what we do at Grace School. It is our visible investment in your child, the reason behind our methods, and the faith that propels us forward. We hope you will partner with us as we relentlessly pursue excellence.

    Profile last updated: 10/02/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Alexander-Smith Academy (0.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Ascension Episcopal School (0.1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Wesley Academy (1.3 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Houston Ascension Episcopal School
    (Episcopal)
    2525 Seagler Rd
    Houston , TX , 77042
    (713)783-0260
    (Episcopal)
    0.1  mi  |  95  students  |  Gr.  K-6
  • Houston
    Walnut Bend KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2526 Walnut Bend
    Houston , TX , 77042
    (713)784-5000
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    0.8  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • Houston
    Alexander-Smith Academy
    (Nonsectarians)
    10255 Richmond Ave #100
    Houston , TX , 77042
    (713)266-0920
    (Nonsectarians)
    0.8  mi  |  70  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Houston
    River Oaks Academy
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    10600 Richmond Ave
    Houston , TX , 77042
    (713)783-7200
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    0.9  mi  |  35  students  |  Gr.  1-12
  • Houston
    The Tenney School
    Special Program Emphasis (Nonsectarians)
    2055 South Gessner Road
    Houston , TX , 77063
    (713)783-6990
    Special Program Emphasis (Nonsectarians)
    1  mi  |  61  students  |  Gr.  6-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended November 07, 2013 - I am currently a Grace School parent and educator. This school is a Houston gem! Rarely, do you find an institute where children''s hearts and minds are nurtured yet challenged with age appropriate rigor. The real world application and "out of the box" thinking that occurs here is a joy to watch. The students and faculty serve others with happy hearts. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - My children have been at Grace School for the last 6 years. They have created a home here that would be hard to replicate. The staff is warm and caring. The parents are involved and supportive as well. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - I have been a Grace School Board member for the past few years. The Head of School, the Heads of Primary, Lower and Middle School and teachers can be commended for their dedication to provide an exceptional educational experience to the children of Grace School. The strong Christian environment coupled with an outstanding educational curriculum, art and athletic programs provide the children with one of the best Private School experiences in Houston. - Posted by Administrator
  • Recommended October 29, 2013 - Our two sons have attended Grace School from preschool forward. Our eldest is now in 4th, and our youngest in 1st. Both absolutely love their school, and look forward to going everyday. The teachers are engaging, and the atmosphere is very family oriented. Feels like a small town setting in the midst of a bustling city. Grace can''t be beat! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 24, 2013 - This is my fifth year teaching and my second year at Grace. My teaching experience at Grace School has been nothing but amazing! The class size is small enough so that I am able to provide support and challenge each and every one of my students. I am able to get the opportunity to truly understand each child so that I can make an impact on their learning. The administration and faculty are wonderful to work with. We all truly care about each other and the success of all of our students. I couldn''t imagine being at a better place than Grace! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 24, 2013 - I have been a teacher and parent at Grace School for the last six years and I have never experienced a community as nurturing and welcoming as the one that is provided at this school. The teachers are dedicated to continued learning and strive to provide a curriculum and learning environment that is equitable, challenging, engaging, and relevant. My son has attended Grace since the age of two and throughout that time he has grown in all areas and is thriving. Seeing the positive effect that Grace has had on him is a true testimony to the amazing program and staff at this school. I would recommend Grace to anyone who is in search of a school and community that is committed to their child''s development and success. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 24, 2013 - I am a parent and a staff at Grace School. And I can say that this is a great school with supportive teachers, and great parent involvement and support. The campus is beautifully kept and you can see how the children and staff enjoy being there. It is a school with academic rigor, and lots of extracurricular activities needed to perform in the real world including music, art, computer class library, science lab, Spanish and Bible. As a staff I really enjoy watching the kids coming from the gym because health and fitness class is always fun and filled with music. This is a school with cultural and racial diversity found only in the best schools. It is truly an amazing place. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 14, 2013 - I have one daughter that graduated from Grace in 2009 (currently a freshman at OU) and a daughter that is in 5th grade. Grace has always been her school "home." The teachers have made such an impact in her spiritual and academic life. With the challenges that life brings at every turn it''s always a comfort to know that school is a safe place for her to learn and grow, but also a safe place to fall. Her teachers have gone the extra mile time and time again. Everyone truly becomes a family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 14, 2013 - I love working at a school where everyone cares about each other, students and faculty are well known, and I feel like I am a member of the Grace School Family! I have been teaching at Grace School since 2008. My child is in the Early Childhood program. She is excited to wake up in the morning and be with her friends and teachers. We plan on keeping her at Grace School until the 8th grade. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 10, 2013 - Grace School is the best environment for kids ! I LOVE working at Grace!. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 10, 2013 - I have been a teacher at Grace School for 4 years and am now a parent of the school as well. I trust the teachers here to create a positive atmosphere and also embrace the teachings of Jesus Christ in doing so. My daughter has transitioned well and asks everyday to ''go to school with mommy.'' It definitely gives me the peace of mind I need to continue with my day. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 10, 2013 - Grace School is an extraordinary place to work and has a high level of professionalism and teamwork that I have rarely seen in other schools and is more like a family in many ways. Grace School strives for excellence and utilizes new and innovative techniques to help students learn and succeed. Most importantly, Grace School emphasizes the teachings of Jesus Christ and helps students to build a firm foundation in their faith that will last a lifetime. I am also a parent and wouldnt'' want my child anywhere else! Grace is the place to be! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - Grace is a wonderful environment! This is my second year teaching at Grace. The staff is great, the parents are great, and the curriculum is age appropriate. Children are challenged with a variety of activities daily. They are able to explore things hands-on. We are not afraid to get messy! We have made play-dough and a piƱata this school! We believe that children learn from their experience from the environment they are experiencing. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - Best-Value Private Christian School If there was a Princeton Review for primary, lower, and middle school private education, The Grace School would be ranked in the top three schools in Houston based on academic quality and cost of attendance. Truly, amidst a sea of educational options, The Grace School is a beacon to many in its academic excellence while firmly holding to its faith based heritage. My wife and I have watched our daughter blossom into her own person since attending The Grace School. Through the nurturing faculty and staff, The Grace School offers a distinctive uniqueness to each child by encouraging them to develop mentally, socially, spiritually, and physically as a whole person. We believe a Grace School education is the greatest gift we can give our daughter to help her prepare for a successful future. Bottom line: Best value for our money, Christian environment, phenomenal teachers, engaged administration, and state of the art facilities. -- Betsy and John - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - I am a preschool teacher at Grace School, and cannot explain in words how much I LOVE working here. The families are all so very nice and their children are as sweet as can be! We have Chapel every Wednesday, the kids LOVE learning about Jesus and praising him through fun songs and dances. Grace School is an excellent place for children to learn about Jesus and academics as well. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - It is an honor to serve at such an amazing school! Grace School is dedicated to the growth and development of the students in every area of life. I have always felt so taken care of by the community of people and I cannot imagine teaching anywhere else! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - Grace School has beyond met our expectations!!!!!!!! Our daughter is in her second year here and the environment is such a loving, safe and comfortable one that she has just been able to grow. She loves coming to school and is excited to see what everyday holds. The teachers and staff have made our family feel so welcome!! We love to share with friends and family all the exciting things going on in the classroom at Grace. Our daughter''s learning has excelled because of the exceptional environment provided at Grace. We are proud to be a Grace family and would recommend Grace to ANYONE!!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - I have been a teacher at Grace School for over 8 years in primary school. Our quality program has helped students reach new heights while caring to the whole child. We help prepare students for future success throughout their education. We also center our program around Christ to help build a strong faith-based foundation. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended October 05, 2013 - I am a current Grace School parent and I''m extremely pleased with my child''s experience. My son is a PreK 4 student and LOVES his school!!! We took him out of the daycare he attended since he was a baby and put him here...night and day! This is our first year and we thought it would be a hard transition but not at all. The people here are so loving and 10 students compared to the 28 in his last school is amazing. His teacher knows exactly what he needs and is always attentive. Communication is wonderful as well. I couldn''t imagine him attending any other school. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Rankings or Comparisons?
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
7 Ways Kids Can Avoid Summer Brain Drain
The summer "Brain Drain," also known as the "Summer Slide" is a term commonly used by educators and parents alike to describe the learning loss that takes place for many students during summer months. We polled the experts and found the 7 best ways parents and kids can combat the problem head on.
Marketing the Small Private School: Communicating with Your Community
The foundation of any successful small private school marketing program is having clear, consistent and authoritative in-house communications. We take a look at what is involved in this second article on marketing the small private school.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!