Willow Bend Academy Plano Campus

2220 Coit Road Suite 500
Plano, TX 75075-0750
     Tel: (972)599-7882
Grades: 5 - 12 | 120 students
Willow Bend Academy offers a fully accredited middle and high school with a challenging curriculum, built upon the pillars of mastery learning, tailored for visual learners and individually paced.
 Four hour focused instructional day.
Extended day to include Fine Arts available.
International students accepted, English proficiency not required.. 

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Texas Private School Accreditation Commission
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades 5 - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Mild learning Differences
Year Founded 1998

Student Body

Total Students 120 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 15%
State avg.: 37%
Students by Grade Willow Bend Academy Plano Campus Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 15 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 33%
Average Class Size 8 students
Average SAT score 1527
Average ACT score 21
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Modest - no morbid graphics, drug or alcohol promotion.)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $10,000
Tuition Notes Tuition cost includes cost of annual enrollment fee and annual curriculum fee.
% on Financial Aid 10%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,000
Acceptance Rate 98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Roxane Malecek
Admissions Associate Gayla Lewis

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. International Music Conservatory, Student Newspaper "Around the Bend"., Student Yearbook International Music Conservatory,
Student Newspaper "Around the Bend".,
Student Yearbook,

School Notes:

  • Fully accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and schools with an overall rating of "highly functional".
  • Flexible scheduling accommodates students with serious, time consuming interests such as gymnastics, hockey, ballet and music.
  • Three diplomas are offered: Honors, College Prep and General.
  • Students may pursue high school via on campus daily attendance, home study or on line studies.
  • Students may enroll in single courses via home study or on line studies to resolve schedule conflicts at their school or to make up credit.
  • International Students Accepted

Profile last updated: 01/17/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is John Paul II High School (1.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Bethany Christian School (1.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Burnham Rd KinderCare (1.4 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • PlanoJohn Paul II High School
      (Roman Catholic)
    900 Coit Road
    PlanoTX 75075
    (972)867-0005
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.1 mi | 740 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • PlanoBethany Christian School
      (Christian)
    3300 W Parker Road
    PlanoTX 75075
    (972)596-5811
      (Christian)
    1.2 mi | 61 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • PlanoThe Einstein School
    Special Program Emphasis  (Non-sectarian)
    4011 W. Plano Pkwy Ste 132
    PlanoTX 75093
    (972)365-6846
    Special Program Emphasis  (Non-sectarian)
    1.2 mi | n/a students | Gr. 5-12                      
  • PlanoBurnham Rd KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    1325 Burnham Road
    PlanoTX 75093
    (972)519-8361
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.4 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • PlanoPrimrose School Of North Plano
    Daycare / Preschool
    5801 Coit Rd
    PlanoTX 75093
    (972)964-6826
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.7 mi | 8 students | Gr. KG                      

School Reviews

Recommended
2 weeks ago
I have taught and worked at Willow Bend Academy for 16 years and have seen hundreds of students become stronger, more confident, and academically successful during their time at WBA. The wonderful asset of attending WBA is that the curriculum is chosen for each student taking into account the child?''s needs and abilities. Our 8:1 Student/Teacher ratio is a HUGE help for students because our teachers give much personalized attention to each student. Students are taught with Christian love and morals, and are encouraged to do their best in every way. Students are able to accelerate their studies, continue at the normal rate, or recover lost time and failed classes. Because the school day is four hours long, students have more time for outside activities and interests than they do in traditional schools. I want to also commend our National Honor Society for winning a national award for their outstanding community service project this past school year. Willow Bend is a GREAT school!
- Posted by Administrator
Recommended
1 month ago
Willow Bend Academy is one of the best schools that i have ever attended. The main reason that I came to this school is because I really was not making much progress in my old school. I did not think that I would enjoy Willow Bend Academy because it was a school that you basically work four hours straight. It turns out that I was wrong. I ended up loving their method of schooling. This school has helped me manage my time for both school and my personal life. I feel like I am a far more efficient person now. These time management skills will greatly help me for college and the rest of my life. Willow Bend Academy offers a wide range of courses that you can take. The school is is unique because they fit the curriculum to the student, and not the student to the curriculum. I came to this school with a great struggle in Mathematics. Thanks to the amazing teaching that i received, I have been making straight A''s in Math for three years. Every single course that I have taken has been fit to my style of learning. You can rest assured that your child will be receiving a quality education if you enroll him or her in Willow Bend Academy. Another reason that I love this school is that God is at it''s heart. All of the faculty members are strong Christians. I like this fact because I am a Christian myself. I also thoroughly enjoy the devotionals that we have three times a week. This school is an overall great environment to learn about the Lord Jesus Christ. I strongly encourage you to enroll your child in Willow Bend Academy if you get the opportunity. I promise that you will not regret it. -William Merrill
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 month ago
Willow Bend Academy is a school that focuses on the students as individuals. No student is the same or learns the same, and this school understands that. The school tailors an educational plan with individually-chosen curriculum to match the student. Because each student is working individually on his/her own courses, all students do not progress at the same rate. Students can elect to work at an increased rate, leading to early graduation. On the other hand, students who need a little more time or attention can work at a rate that suits him/her, which is aided by the low student to teacher ratio. The shortened work day focuses on academics, so students can work continuously throughout the school day. Even though the curriculum is at the level where the student can best function, that does not mean the students are left to make their way through the courses on their own. The teachers monitor their students?'' work and progress daily and are available and willing to work with the students on a one-on-one basis during the school day. The teachers are dedicated, caring, and supportive, and always have the students?'' best interests in mind. These professionals commit their time to each and every student, making each student feel important and respected.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
1 month ago
I have a 6th grade daughter at WBA. We wanted her to start middle school in an environment that would maximize her strengths (Eng/Reading) and improve her growth areas (Math). We found that place! WBA has been a great fit for us. We love the small class sizes (8-1) and increased teacher time she gets each day. The self paced instruction lets her take more time on the subjects she needs to, and to move faster in the areas she has already mastered. I would recommend WBA with 10 stars - Thank you Willow Bend Academy!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 month ago
I have taught and worked at Willow Bend Academy for 16 years and have seen hundreds of students become stronger, confident, and academically successful during their time at WBA. The wonderful asset of attending WBA is that the curriculum is chosen for each student taking into account the child?''s needs and abilities. Students are taught with love and encouraged to do their best. Students are able to accelerate their studies, continue at the normal rate, or recover lost time and failed classes. Because the school day is four hours long, students have more time for outside activities and interests than they do in traditional schools. I want to also commend our National Honor Society for winning a national award for their outstanding community service project this past school year. Willow Bend is a GREAT school!
- Posted by Administrator
Recommended
1 month ago
It has been just about half a year since I came to Willow Bend Academy (WBA). I am spending my senior year here. This school is pretty small, but a small school does not mean a small education. The atmosphere of this school is very familiar. This school has a morning class and an afternoon class, and students choose whichever they would like to join. The school time is about 4 hours, meaning the students can have a lot of free time for self-development. In my case, I?''ve chosen the afternoon class, and I spend my morning time reading the Bible and practicing the guitar. The unique thing this school has is that the students in this school can take tests whenever they are ready. If a student wants to graduate early and go to college, he or she can simply study a lot and take tests. The class size is small and I think there is only a little academic competition between the students. However, the students in WBA are able to have much longer time asking the teachers for help, meaning the students do not really have to hire personal tutors. Also, all the teachers in WBA are dedicated to helping the students. They are ??always, always, and always" willing to help the students. I am very positive about this. This school provides appropriate courses for ESL students. My younger sister is taking the course and she is satisfied. As a senior, I am finishing my college applications. This well-organized school always processes my school documents, such as my transcript, quickly. I do not think this school has an old-fashioned system that public schools have. Although WBA does not provide any AP courses, this school provides SAT preparation. Therefore, there is not a problem of getting into college from this school. After the first break time, the teachers take turn to give a devotion to the students. Even if the students are not Christians, they do not have to worry. It is still valuable to know some Christians values and apply them to their lives because it always works. After the devotion time, the students are given certificates of tests that they took earlier. Giving out the certificates encourages the students to do their best everyday. Overall, Willow Bend Academy is a great school to go to. I hope you readers consider this school when you choose the school you will go to. I especially recommend this school to those who need personal time and those who need special care from teachers.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 month ago
Willow Bend is a unique private school. Instead of testing to see if your child is smart enough to attend the school, they test your child to determine where he/she is at academically and they will meet your child there. If your child needs to review material, they will. If they are able to move forward quickly, they do. The students must master material before they move forward. There are no children left behind at Willow Bend!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 month ago
Being in Willow Bend Academy (WBA) is such a great thing in my life. I have never been in an amazing place like this before. At the beginning, I was a little bit shy about a new school, but then, everything here surprised me. All the best things that an international student like me can have are here: best people, best lessons, friendly and perfect environment. Our school?''s motto is ??Master learning ?? Master life.?" Not only studying subjects, but I also learn lessons about life, about how to become a better person. Every week, we have a topic for everyone to think about and discuss. It?''s an opportunity for student to improve their English speaking skills. The special thing about WBA is each student has his own pace to study. I can study without distraction and bothering others. My teacher is an excellent person. He can teach students many subjects, so that I just stay at my desk to study and ask him anytime I need. Thus, I feel comfortable when I study because I don?''t need to run from class to class every time. Moreover, at WBA, I don?''t have to worry that I cannot catch up with other students and with the study program, because every student has his own study, and will not move on until passing the test. That will prevent me from moving on but failing or skipping the lesson, as I did as my old school. In conclusion, there are many interesting things about WBA. I love this school so much and I?''m really proud to be a part of it. - Misa Nguyen-
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 month ago
Being in Willow Bend Academy (WBA) is such a great thing in my life. Our school?''s motto is ??Master learning ?? Master life.?" Not only studying subjects, but I also learn lessons about life, about how to become a better person. The special thing about WBA is each student has his own pace to study. I can study without distraction and bothering others. I feel comfortable when I study because I don?''t need to run from class to class every time. I love this school so much and I?''m really proud to be a part of it. -Misa Nguyen-
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 month ago
The teachers and staff really do care about these students. They are patient with every student. Students are able to learn the material at their own pace. Students are taught how to set goals. I love that the ratio is 8 students per teacher. This allows for more 1 on 1 teaching/tutoring with every student as needed. Students MUST master the material before they are allowed to move forward to the next book. I have heard many stories from past students who come back to let us know how their experience at Willow Bend Academy helped them in college/university and even their entry into the Marine Corp. It really blesses us to hear of their success stories. Not only are students required to master learning (not just memorizing), they are taught life lessons on how to master life.
- Posted by Administrator
Recommended
1 month ago
This school is a perfect fit for self-starting students needing to go at their own pace. The student will benefit from quality one-on-one time with their instructor. The student will learn planning and responsibility as well as benefit from the care of loving teachers.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
2 months ago
Willow Bend does a very good job of meeting students where they are. Those who wish to accelerate their learning can do so, and those who need to get caught up will find the help they need. The teachers are gifted and dedicated. I think I would have learned more in high school if I had attended a school like this.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
4 months ago
Do you guy except Vietnam international student from 9 to 12 grade? If yes can you send me some information about it.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
Don't Forget These Admissions Deadlines
Getting into a private school is a time-consuming process. We look at the various deadlines involved.
What to Research Before Choosing a Private School
When making an important decision that will impact the lives of your children, you need to have all the facts in place. We compiled a list of the most important factors to consider when choosing a final private school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Plano, TX is $9,745 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Plano, TX is 72% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos