Lycee International de Los Angeles (LILA) - PASADENA CAMPUS

30 N. Marion Ave.,
Pasadena, CA, 91106-0910
Tel: (626)695-5159
Grades: NS - 5 | 146 students
LILA is an international, preschool through 12th grade school, committed to academic excellence in a nurturing and intimate environment that encourages personal initiative, creativity and curiosity.
Students are challenged through the rigorous and well-balanced bilingual curricula of the French and International Baccalaureate institutions.
Our goal is to develop confident, caring, and open-minded critical thinkers who will thrive in a diverse competitive world.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
International Baccalaureate (IB) World School
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarians
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 5
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 146 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 35%
State avg.: 41%
Students by Grade Lycee International de Los Angeles (LILA) - PASADENA CAMPUS Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 90%
Average Class Size 12 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(School dress code enforced)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $14,400
Tuition Notes This is an average tuition amount. Tuition depends on grade.
% on Financial Aid 25%
Average Financial Aid Grant $5,000
Acceptance Rate 90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Juliette Lange
Admissions Associate Ellen Turner

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Dance, Gymnastics, Soccer, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryDance,
GymnasticsSoccer,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Soccer, basketball, baseball, cross country, track and field, dance, art, music Soccer, basketball, baseball, cross country, dance, art, music, track and field,

School Notes:

    • At LILA we adopt ways of thinking and expression that reflect an appreciation for cultural differences and multiple world views. Diverse groups learn more from each other when exchanging different points of view, introducing new pieces of information, and confronting alternative ideas. LILA’s small and nurturing classes facilitate the sharing of different viewpoints.
    • Being immersed in a truly multicultural environment helps develop the ability to better understand one’s own culture - what makes it different, but also in which ways it is similar.  This, in turn, helps maintain a strong sense of one’s own background. 
Teachers, staff and students come from all over the world, each bringing their own experiences and perspectives.  
Our students study and live in a world community every day.
    • As adults, we did not grow up in the same world children live in today. The evolution of technology and society has created a vastly different landscape where communication, adaptability, problem-solving and agility are essential. At LILA, we believe it is important to equip our students with life skills that ensure their future success.
    • LILA's core values are: first and foremost, academic excellence; collaboration, communication and community; commitment to the curriculum; utmost respect for all individuals within the school community; cultural diversity; and intellectual curiosity and open-mindedness.
    • LILA teaches a bilingual program from preschool through 12th grade culminating in the French Baccalauréat or the International Baccalaureate. Students are taught to read, write, and speak both languages by the end of their elementary education. Satisfying both the Core Standards and the French Ministry of Education’s requirements necessitates a rigorous schedule; the percentage of each language of instruction varies at each grade level.
    • LILA aims to offer more than the mere knowledge of at least two languages. Our ultimate goal is to form fully bi-literate students capable of functioning in two linguistic worlds. To achieve this goal, LILA specifically avoids dividing students based upon their dominant language. At the very foundation of the educational program is a policy of integration: young Americans must be integrated into French classes and French children must study English along with their American classmates. Thus, by getting to know one another, students are able to appreciate both the French and American cultures; they are able to compete in both systems; they are able to feel at home in an American living room and à l’aise at a French dinner table.
    • 5 campuses: - Burbank - Los Feliz - West Valley (Tarzana) - Pasadena - Orange (Santa Ana)
    • Students from the Los Feliz, West Valley and Pasadena campuses are shuttled to the Burbank campus for secondary school.

    Profile last updated: 02/03/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Halstrom Academy - Pasadena (0.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Grace Christian Academy (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Pasadena Progressive Montessori School (1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Pasadena Grace Christian Academy
    (Christian)
    73 N Hill Ave
    Pasadena , CA , 91106
    (626)792-7725
    (Christian)
    0.2  mi  |  29  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pasadena
    St. Philip The Apostle School
    (Roman Catholic)
    1363 Cordova St
    Pasadena , CA , 91106
    (626)795-9691
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.3  mi  |  529  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pasadena
    St. Gregorys Am Hovsepian School
    2215 E Colorado Blvd
    Pasadena , CA , 91107
    (626)578-1343
    0.8  mi  |  204  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pasadena
    Halstrom Academy - Pasadena
    (Nonsectarians)
    35 N. Lake Ave., Ste. 150
    Pasadena , CA , 91101
    (626)500-0050
    (Nonsectarians)
    0.8  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  6-12
  • Pasadena
    Villa Esperanza Services School
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    2116 East Villa Street
    Pasadena , CA , 91107
    (626)449-2919
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    0.9  mi  |  78  students  |  Gr.  K-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended June 24, 2014 - My children have been here for nearly 6 years. A common problem I share with many parents is that our children don''t want to leave at the end of the day because they''re having so much fun with their good friends, and because they are at home and at ease. Is this really a problem? No. In this day and age of so many fears, educational dilemmas, and a wide variety of learning needs, it is my greatest delight that my children love their school, they have good friends, there is zero bullying, and problems (which are few) are resolved promptly and totally. Phillipe Detzen, our principal, provides strong leadership that is also compassionate, thoughtful, and quite nuanced to meet the needs of each child. There is fun in learning, and creativity is nurtured. My 3rd grader reads at an 8th grade level. I wish I could take credit for that, but it''s due to her fine education at this school, which we love. (On a side note, bilingual education is great for the brain, in youth and in life. Google it.) The bottom line? I highly recommend this school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 24, 2014 - Lila school is an awesome and exceptional international school, my kids love this school and have been here for 6 years, it feels like a second family. They have absolutely flourished at Lila and it has been a wonderful experience for them. They have a small class, with well educated kids who are all friends! The teachers are very accessible as is the administration, all the teachers are amazing, attentive, caring and dedicated. It is a great place to learn, grow and become a more well rounded individual. What an amazing opportunity for the kids to be bi-lingual and learn in an international multi-cultural environment! That''s the best gift we can offer them in life and I am glad we did it. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2014 - We were keen for our daughter to learn a second language and after touring every school around, public, private, monolingual and bilingual we were immediately taken with the feel of the LILA community. We have now been at the Pasadena campus for a couple years and we could not be happier with how well our daughter has taken to the teachers and to a language not spoken at home. LILA has a very diverse group of families that help expose the kids different traditions and cultures at the same time providing a personal educational experience. We look forward to seeing our daughter progress through LILA all the way till grade 12. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2014 - A wonderful and caring atmosphere where children can thrive. The most culturally diverse school in Pasadena. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2014 - We have our 5 years old daughter in LILA Pasadena and my 3 years old is already enrolled for next year. She started in LILA Los Feliz but we moved to Pasadena last year. We love it. This is not a very big school so the ambient is very different than the one in big ones with thousands of kids. This allows everybody to know each other which is great for the kids and allows a strong community spirit. The dual language education was our main reason to choose LILA and it is amazing how fast the kids learn the language and moreover without "pain" but fun. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2014 - My son is completing pre-school and I couldn''t be happier. Our family has always had an interest in our children being bi-lingual. While neither my wife nor I are fluent in French, our son already understands French fluently. But that''s not all. Lila shapes, motivates and promotes students. Our son enjoys learning. His motor skills have improved leaps and bounds. His socialization also has also improved greatly. All my encounters with the staff and school, in general, have been positive. This is a dedicated, professional, and caring staff with an incredibly experienced head of school. My wife and I feel lucky that we found Lila and feel that we are getting more than our money''s worth. It''s a great feeling when you believe you''ve found the right school. Lila is the right school for us, I encourage you to discover if it''s the right school for you. A happy parent. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2014 - My kids went to several Internationals Schools as we travel a lot and i really loved this year spent here. The teachers are great, the parents really friendly and everything is made smoothly ! I hope we will have the same level of education & comfort in our next destination. Really the best of American & French cultures ! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 07, 2014 - Our kids (5 and 7) have been going to LILA Pasadena for almost 5 years now. We absolutely love it, and they do too. This is a smaller school (about a 120 students), with a great sense of community and very involved parents. The immersion curriculum is well thought through and implemented. The director is a smart, dedicated and thoughtful leader, who knows all the kids well, makes sure they are encouraged to achieve more but also get everything they need. The teachers are enthusiastic and full of ideas, well trained, supportive of the kids and close to them, with strong academic credentials. Their program includes the traditional curriculum but also a strong emphasis on understanding the world. They take upon themselves to innovate to make sure every child thrives. I also love the fact that my kids have friends who come from all over the world and go on vacations everywhere. My kids think the world is their backyard.... - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 07, 2014 - LILA has been such a wonderful place to send my son (4) to preschool. He is just doing so well there and I have no complaints just compliments. It is a priority in our family to have a dual language education and LILA has surpassed our expectations. We feel so lucky that we found LILA. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 29, 2014 - I have three children at LILA Pasadena and so far our experience has been wonderful. All of my children started in Pre-K and my eldest is now in the fourth grade. The teachers are focused caring and create environments that are perfect for learning. As a parent who understands some French, but is not a native speaker I feel very supported and I am amazed at me eldest''s facility with the her new language as well as her abilities in English. My husband and I had at first committed to sending our children to LILA only through the fifth grade and now we can''t imagine any other school that we could be this happy with. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 14, 2014 - I am a very satisfied parent of LILA Pasadena, and currently have one son enrolled in the school. He began with LILA as Pre-K student and am thrilled to say it has been such a positive experience for him. The quality of education, structure of the program and amazing teachers he is learning from will undoubtedly make him a unique person with so many positive attributes that will carry him far in his future and help him do amazing things. Merci LILA, and here''s to many more years! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2014 - Both of my children are now enrolled at LILA Pasadena. They each started in pre-k and my elder son is graduating 5th Grade this year. He will move to the Burbank campus for the remainder of his studies. We are very attached to LILA and are proud of our teachers, staff, campus, as well as our families and students. Ours is a very caring community which comes together often to celebrate the diversity of our student body. Many children are tri-lingual and I love the fact that my children are exposed to so many different cultures and backgrounds. Parents share important friendships at LILA Pasadnea as well as our children. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Rankings or Comparisons?
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
7 Ways Kids Can Avoid Summer Brain Drain
The summer "Brain Drain," also known as the "Summer Slide" is a term commonly used by educators and parents alike to describe the learning loss that takes place for many students during summer months. We polled the experts and found the 7 best ways parents and kids can combat the problem head on.
Marketing the Small Private School: Communicating with Your Community
The foundation of any successful small private school marketing program is having clear, consistent and authoritative in-house communications. We take a look at what is involved in this second article on marketing the small private school.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!