Montessori Community School of Salt Lake City

2416 East 1700 South,
Salt Lake City, UT, 84108-0841
Tel: (801)355-1555
Grades: NS - 8 | 208 students
Our Montessori classrooms are designed to meet the needs, interests and abilities of all the children in the class.
The teachers create and adapt the environment with this community of children in mind.
They modify the selection of educational materials available, the physical layout and the tone of the class, to best fit the ever-changing needs of the children.
Our Montessori teachers, who serve as observers and guides in the classroom, are all Montessori trained and certified.
Many of our teachers have been with us for over a decade and have upwards of twenty years experience with the Montessori method.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
International Montessori Council (IMC)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1985

Student Body

Total Students 208 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 18%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 24 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $8,500
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary according to class and hours. Please see our website for more details.
Admissions Director Lynn Bandley
Admissions Associate Britney Jones

School Notes:

    • Traditional Montessori Curriculum
    • Early Childhood Dual Language Spanish/English Classes
    • Specialty Classes in Music, Dance, Theatre, Environmental Expeditions, Spanish, Art, Yoga and P.E.
    • Promoting independence, responsibility, respect, community service and a strong sense of self worth.

    Profile last updated: 07/02/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is University Academy (1.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Salt Lake City J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2335 Redondo Avenue
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)486-3197
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  325  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Salt Lake City
    Redeemer Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1955 E Stratford Ave
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84106
    (801)487-6283
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1.5  mi  |  120  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Salt Lake City
    University Academy
    Special Education School
    501 Chipeta Way
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)587-3154
    Special Education School
    1.7  mi  |  21  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Salt Lake City
    Seps Learning Center
    Alternative School
    2120 S 1300 E Ste 202
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84106
    (801)467-2122
    Alternative School
    1.9  mi  |  28  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Salt Lake City
    University Kids
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    545 S. Guardsman Way
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)582-1669
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2.1  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK

School Reviews

  • Recommended April 18, 2014 - My daughter received invaluable early childhood development at MCS. It set her up to be a lifelong learner with an independent and curious mind. My son started this year and loves his Toddler classroom!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - Our son enjoys attending his school everyday. The presence of preschool kids with different ages in two levels, allows them to interact with older and younger peers and improve their social skills. The also like the dual language set up of his class where he is learning Spanish. The fun activities make school a favorable environment for kids at this age. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 14, 2014 - We moved our son to this school when he was three after a disappointing experience at a different early childhood preschool. What a difference!! First of all, teachers at MCS are ALL professionally trained Montessori teachers, most of whom have been teaching this program for years, often decades. Equally important, the continuing education is clearly rigorous and ongoing, and the teachers remain PASSIONATE about what they do and its value--which is clearly transmitted in a palpable, excited-about-learning feel as soon as you enter the building. My son is now in his fourth year--completing first grade at this point-- and we couldn''t be happier for several reasons. First, he is doing phenomenally academically. Montessori gives kids a chance to excel and move ahead as they are ready. Second, the teacher to student ratio is amazing--2 teachers to 20 students in his class. Third, being in an age group/class for three years gives teachers a chance to really get to know and deeply care about each individual child. This has been a great comfort, especially last year when my son''s father and I got divorced--his school and teachers were such a stable and nuanced part of his support system. We are so glad we found MCS and that we are staying past early childhood into the elementary years. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 22, 2014 - I have been so impressed with this School. The Staffing, the Administration, and especially the teachers. They truly have my child''s best interest at heart. My child has only been here 6 months and the difference in her is astounding. I am so grateful we have found this school. I plan on keeping her here for as long as I can (8th grade)! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 10, 2014 - My child started as a third year (kindergarten) and we are going to stay for elementary school. The Montessori system has a little bit of a learning curve, but our child immediately thrived in the self-driven environment of the multigrade classroom. Although he came in already reading, writing and doing addition and subtraction on his own, I was impressed that at our first parent -teacher conference, the teachers had honed in on exactly what he needed to work on rather than leaving him to his own devices. The open plan Montessori classroom style means that the teachers have to work with each child individually and know them each well. This is a small school, but there are still ample opportunities for after-school activities and enrichment programs. There seems to be a good diversity in the student and teacher population, and we have been delighted by the cheerfulness, warmth and efficiency with which the school is run. Despite the "no tests, no homework, no grades" approach, the school seems to be a serious academic environment with high standards for achievement -- just a different route for getting kids there. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - This is my son''s fourth year at MCS and we love it! Thanks to MCS my son has confidence, independence and a LOVE OF LEARNING! The teachers are patient, calm and respectful. MCS offers a wide variety of classes within the weekly curriculum. The whole child is valued at this school. It''s a very positive place for children and their families! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our daughter is in her second year of the toddler program at MCS and we couldn''t be happier with our experience. Her teachers are warm, loving and patient, and I am continually amazed at how well they understand my child and her personality. They really value and nurture each child''s uniqueness, while guiding them to be respectful, independent young people. We have watched our daughter''s confidence, social skills and independence blossom. We are so happy knowing that she is in a warm, nurturing environment with adults who REALLY understand toddlers. And at the same time, she is building a wonderful foundation for future learning. The teachers go above and beyond their job description and are always available when we have questions (potty training help! Discipline - what do I do? Is this normal?) or if we just need to talk. Thrilled with our experience. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 29, 2013 - My daughter is starting her fourth year at MCS. We love it . Her academic ability is far beyond her age group, especially in mathematics. They have have Spanish, music, dance and art classes weekly. My favorite part of her experience there is how they really see and nurture the whole child. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!