Montessori Community School of Salt Lake City

2416 East 1700 South,
Salt Lake City, UT, 84108-0841
Tel: (801)355-1555
Grades: NS - 8 | 208 students
Our Montessori classrooms are designed to meet the needs, interests and abilities of all the children in the class.
The teachers create and adapt the environment with this community of children in mind.
They modify the selection of educational materials available, the physical layout and the tone of the class, to best fit the ever-changing needs of the children.
Our Montessori teachers, who serve as observers and guides in the classroom, are all Montessori trained and certified.
Many of our teachers have been with us for over a decade and have upwards of twenty years experience with the Montessori method.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
International Montessori Council (IMC)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarians
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1985

Student Body

Total Students 208 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 18%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade Montessori Community School of Salt Lake City Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 24 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $8,500
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary according to class and hours. Please see our website for more details.
Admissions Director Britney Peterson
Admissions Associate Britney Peterson

School Notes:

    • Traditional Montessori Curriculum
    • Early Childhood Dual Language Spanish/English Classes
    • Specialty Classes in Music, Dance, Theatre, Environmental Expeditions, Spanish, Art, Yoga and P.E.
    • Promoting independence, responsibility, respect, community service and a strong sense of self worth.

    Profile last updated: 07/17/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is University Academy (1.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Salt Lake City J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2335 Redondo Avenue
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)486-3197
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  325  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Salt Lake City
    Redeemer Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1955 E Stratford Ave
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84106
    (801)487-6283
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1.5  mi  |  120  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Salt Lake City
    University Academy
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    501 Chipeta Way
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)587-3154
    Special Education School (Nonsectarians)
    1.7  mi  |  21  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Salt Lake City
    Seps Learning Center
    Alternative School (Nonsectarians)
    2120 S 1300 E Ste 202
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84106
    (801)467-2122
    Alternative School (Nonsectarians)
    1.9  mi  |  28  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Salt Lake City
    University Kids
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Nonsectarians)
    545 S. Guardsman Way
    Salt Lake City , UT , 84108
    (801)582-1669
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Nonsectarians)
    2.1  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK

School Reviews

  • Recommended July 24, 2014 - My husband and I have been so fortunate to have our kids attend MCS. Our son has attended since January of 2011 and our daughter since the fall of 2013. The commitment to the Montessori philosophy and devotion to educating children with kindness and love are just some of the reasons we have stayed at MCS for these years and hope to continue for as long as possible. We have had such fun watching our kids bloom into even more wonderful and kind people as they navigate the MCS curriculum. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 24, 2014 - I have been overwhelmed by the teachers and staff. Their abilities to excel in all their "designated" tasks, as well as the numerous other opportunities to serve, care for, and magnify, far exceed that of the standard in education. They have gone above and beyond to ensure that their Montessori community is taken care of, supported, and pushed to excellence in near every aspect of life. I have been impressed with the course material and significant difference for good it makes in the lives of the children mentally, socially, and emotionally. Holistic approaches are rarely taken when it comes to education and Montessori does it right. They strive for the success and accomplishment of the child as well as the families. Thank you to Montessori for all your hard work and outstanding abilities! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 24, 2014 - This school is something special. When business brought us to SLC, my wife and I searched high and low for a childcare solution for our 2 year old. We visited several toddler programs before looking into MCS, but on that first visit we felt pretty much instantly that it was ''the place'' for our son. And I''m happy to report that, nearly a decade later, it''s one of the best decisions we''ve ever made. What we saw initially as a nurturing, loving and safe childcare solution for two working parents has become something much more. Our first child''s experience was so positive that we felt no hesitation in enrolling his younger sibling. Our kids have thrived academically and socially at MCS. The teachers are dedicated to developing a love of learning in their students, and the administrators are very sensitive to special needs and circumstances. The school''s director has been incredibly generous and sensitive to my family in the face of daunting financial and health challenges. My kids have blossomed at MCS, and I couldn''t be happier with our experience. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 24, 2014 - MCS has been absolutely amazing in so many ways for my son. He started with the Toddler program and was welcomed by the most caring and warm hearted staff. I could see throughout the program year that he was becoming much more social and independent. He would come home saying all sorts of new vocabulary and I noticed that his motor skills had improved tremendously. He is now in the Early Childhood Dual Language program and I have to say-- has completely come out of his shell and comes home telling me tidbits that he has learned at school. His teachers are the best that anyone could ask for and I''m thankful that my son has them in his life. All of the staff at MCS are amazing and create such a sense of community amongst the teachers, students, and families. Thank you MCS! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 24, 2014 - My daughter started out in the toddler program where she learned how to be in the classroom and developed independence. We were so impressed with her development in practical skills and her awareness of other children in her class. She is now completing her 2nd year at the school in the early childhood program and has grown tremendously academically. She wants to learn and has developed confidence in her ability to learn. We are also thrilled with the opportunities for a well rounded education offered through specials classes: dance, art, music and outdoor education. We are very impressed with her growth and progress and are excited to see and hear what she learns each day. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 12, 2014 - Great School w/ awesome teachers. We are so glad our son in MCS and wants to go to school everyday. It amazing how much he is learning and becoming confident and independent. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 12, 2014 - Montessori Community School is an ideal match for our daughter. She is curious and extroverted, like many toddlers, and is still learning how to work in groups and use her words, like almost all toddlers. The teachers at MCS encourage her to grow in her strengths and to improve in other areas. With two years of Montessori under her belt, she has become a child who respects others and works for the good of the community but also knows her mind and constantly explores new interests. I went to Montessori for my preschool years, so I knew that I wanted to check out Montessori schools for my own child. This school, more than any other I’ve ever experienced, truly embraces the philosophy. Not only in the classroom, but in the community events and parent education nights. This is not to say they are dogmatic; actually, they are extremely open to making adjustments for individual children. Our child’s teachers have become our partners in guiding her to a happy and productive life. I can’t say enough about how happy we are with MCS. My daughter loves to go to school every day and talks about all her friends and teachers. Recently, she told us that she wants to be a teacher when she grows up. That’s a big compliment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 26, 2014 - This year was the first year our son attended MCS (year 1 of 3 in lower elementary class). While we were familiar with the Montessori approach, we were unduly impressed with the MCS. Our son is quite happy and satisfied with school. In addition to having solid "core academics", there are rich opportunities for beneficial and unique extracurricular activities including: outdoor classroom time, weekly field trips that emphasize culture/nature/fun, physical education, music, art, meditation, yoga, theatre, being mentors to others, etc. The teachers have been outstanding and the students to teacher ratios are ideal. The school has a good relationship with parents with programs for after-school and "kid''s night out" where parents can take a Friday evening off from time to time. In summary, MCS understands what it takes to foster the development of well rounded, respectful, intelligent, friendly kids. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 26, 2014 - Our daughter is finishing up her first year in the toddler program at MCS and is thriving at the school. I credit the multiage classrooms with the social strides she has made in the last year; she has many close friends there and has a growing confidence. The teachers in her classroom are caring and seem to appreciate her unique personality. There are multiple community-building opportunities throughout the year to get to know other families. It''s just a warm, supportive, loving environment, a place I am happy to send my daughter everyday. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 26, 2014 - My kids have been at MCS since they were 18 months, and it is an amazing place! The teachers have so much patience and expertise, and have been great guides for us throughout the childrens'' development. The school is always welcoming, the classrooms are clean and the children are always engaged in some activity when we arrive to pick them up. We have been very happy that we chose this school for our kids, and we have really found it to be a community environment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2014 - My daughter received invaluable early childhood development at MCS. It set her up to be a lifelong learner with an independent and curious mind. My son started this year and loves his Toddler classroom!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - Our son enjoys attending his school everyday. The presence of preschool kids with different ages in two levels, allows them to interact with older and younger peers and improve their social skills. The also like the dual language set up of his class where he is learning Spanish. The fun activities make school a favorable environment for kids at this age. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 14, 2014 - We moved our son to this school when he was three after a disappointing experience at a different early childhood preschool. What a difference!! First of all, teachers at MCS are ALL professionally trained Montessori teachers, most of whom have been teaching this program for years, often decades. Equally important, the continuing education is clearly rigorous and ongoing, and the teachers remain PASSIONATE about what they do and its value--which is clearly transmitted in a palpable, excited-about-learning feel as soon as you enter the building. My son is now in his fourth year--completing first grade at this point-- and we couldn''t be happier for several reasons. First, he is doing phenomenally academically. Montessori gives kids a chance to excel and move ahead as they are ready. Second, the teacher to student ratio is amazing--2 teachers to 20 students in his class. Third, being in an age group/class for three years gives teachers a chance to really get to know and deeply care about each individual child. This has been a great comfort, especially last year when my son''s father and I got divorced--his school and teachers were such a stable and nuanced part of his support system. We are so glad we found MCS and that we are staying past early childhood into the elementary years. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 22, 2014 - I have been so impressed with this School. The Staffing, the Administration, and especially the teachers. They truly have my child''s best interest at heart. My child has only been here 6 months and the difference in her is astounding. I am so grateful we have found this school. I plan on keeping her here for as long as I can (8th grade)! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 10, 2014 - My child started as a third year (kindergarten) and we are going to stay for elementary school. The Montessori system has a little bit of a learning curve, but our child immediately thrived in the self-driven environment of the multigrade classroom. Although he came in already reading, writing and doing addition and subtraction on his own, I was impressed that at our first parent -teacher conference, the teachers had honed in on exactly what he needed to work on rather than leaving him to his own devices. The open plan Montessori classroom style means that the teachers have to work with each child individually and know them each well. This is a small school, but there are still ample opportunities for after-school activities and enrichment programs. There seems to be a good diversity in the student and teacher population, and we have been delighted by the cheerfulness, warmth and efficiency with which the school is run. Despite the "no tests, no homework, no grades" approach, the school seems to be a serious academic environment with high standards for achievement -- just a different route for getting kids there. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 18, 2013 - Our daughter is in her second year of the toddler program at MCS and we couldn''t be happier with our experience. Her teachers are warm, loving and patient, and I am continually amazed at how well they understand my child and her personality. They really value and nurture each child''s uniqueness, while guiding them to be respectful, independent young people. We have watched our daughter''s confidence, social skills and independence blossom. We are so happy knowing that she is in a warm, nurturing environment with adults who REALLY understand toddlers. And at the same time, she is building a wonderful foundation for future learning. The teachers go above and beyond their job description and are always available when we have questions (potty training help! Discipline - what do I do? Is this normal?) or if we just need to talk. Thrilled with our experience. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 06, 2013 - This is my son''s fourth year at MCS and we love it! Thanks to MCS my son has confidence, independence and a LOVE OF LEARNING! The teachers are patient, calm and respectful. MCS offers a wide variety of classes within the weekly curriculum. The whole child is valued at this school. It''s a very positive place for children and their families! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 29, 2013 - My daughter is starting her fourth year at MCS. We love it . Her academic ability is far beyond her age group, especially in mathematics. They have have Spanish, music, dance and art classes weekly. My favorite part of her experience there is how they really see and nurture the whole child. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
SAT Prep
SAT test prep takes time to do properly. We explore some of your options here.
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!