Richmond Christian School

6511 Belmont Rd.,
Chesterfield, VA, 23832-0238
Tel: (804)276-3193
Grades: K - 12 | 219 students
Richmond Christian School is a co-educational, college preparatory, Christian day school for students from K5 to the 12th grade.
The school is set on 33 acres in Chesterfield County, southwest of Richmond, Virginia, and is easily accessible to major highways.
Richmond Christian School currently serves approximately 220 students representing over 140 families who attend around 100 different churches.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1951

Student Body

Total Students 219 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 26%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade Richmond Christian School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 24%
Average Class Size 14 students
Advanced Courses AP Art History, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Computer Science, AP English Lang. & Comp., AP Literature & Comp., AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP US Government, AP US History, AP World History  
Average SAT score 1550
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Special dress on Chapel Day)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $6,200
Tuition Notes Multi-child discounts available. Tuition is payable over 12 months.
% on Financial Aid 5%
Average Financial Aid Grant $2,000
Acceptance Rate 85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Trevor Collazo, Principal
Admissions Associate Glenda Raborn, Guidance

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Chapel Praise Teams, Chess Club, Drama Club, Handbell Choirs, NHS & NJHS, School Spirit Club, Science & Math Club, Signs of Glory, Spanish Honor Society, Student Government, Video/Graphic Design Club Art Club, Chess Club, Drama Club, NHS & NJHS, Signs of Glory, Chapel Praise Teams,
Handbell Choirs,
School Spirit Club,
Science & Math Club,
Spanish Honor Society,
Student Government,
Video/Graphic Design Club,

School Notes:

  • RichmondChristian School exists to support families in their Biblical responsibility to nurture and train their children. Thus, Richmond Christian School provides opportunities which allow students to realize their God-given potential in the spiritual, academic, social, physical, and vocational realms.

  • Profile last updated: 02/28/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Southside Baptist Christian School (2.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Pocoshock KinderCare (1.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Southside Baptist Christian School (2.6 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Richmond Pocoshock KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2621 Pocoshock Blvd.
    Richmond , VA , 23235
    (804)276-6554
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1.6  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • Richmond
    Southside Baptist Christian School
    (Baptist)
    5515 Bryce Lane
    Richmond , VA , 23224
    (804)745-8699
    (Baptist)
    2.6  mi  |  156  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Chesterfield Heritage Christian Academy
    (Baptist)
    7777 Cogbill Rd
    Chesterfield , VA , 23832
    (804)271-7626
    (Baptist)
    2.6  mi  |  33  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Richmond Precious Blessing Academy
    (Pentecostal)
    4823 Bryce Ln
    Richmond , VA , 23224
    (804)232-7180
    (Pentecostal)
    2.7  mi  |  125  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Richmond
    Banner Christian School
    (Christian)
    1501 S. Providence Rd
    Richmond , VA , 23236
    (804)276-5200
    (Christian)
    3.1  mi  |  200  students  |  Gr.  K-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Richmond Christian School has been a blessing for our whole family. Our son has been enrolled at RCS since Kindergarten and this is our 3 year at the school. RCS is fully accredited and provides quality academics, which is very important to us. But what speaks volumes are the students! From elementary to high school, RCS students have a great sense of commaraderie. And like a previous reviewer posted, the older students are mentors to the younger students and it is impressive to witness those relationships. The faculty and staff truly care about the students. If you are looking for a great place for your child to go to school, come check out RCS! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - School a bright future and continues to uphold Christian values and provide a quality education. . The teachers and staff are truly committed and show a genuine love for the students. I can recommend RCS without any reservations. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - I am a mother of a wonderful daughter who now attends RCS. I graduated from RCS many years ago. RCS gave me a secure foundation, good education, but more importantly it gave me a very strong faith, belief and relationship with the Lord. After graduation, I choose to go into the medical field so I could help and minister to others. I did not have any problems getting into a great university and medical school. In fact, I did quite well. My daughter is also enjoying attending RCS. She is learning a lot and is enjoying the art and music programs they have. Her teachers are very intelligent and have teaching degrees and a lot of them have masters. These teachers show the children God''s love and teach them with a lot of tenderness, love and compassion. RCS is so blessed to have such wonderful, caring Christian teachers. It is located on 33 acres of land, large cafeteria, beautiful chapel and gym, large computer room w/28 computers. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Richmond Christian School has been in existence for the past 60 years. It is NOT affiliated with any denomination, but it is a Christian school based upon God''s Word.. Our daughter graduated from RCS and had no problems getting into a fine university and then Medical school. Our granddaughter is presently attending RCS and loves it. All the teachers have degrees and are licensed., and they love the children and it shows. The academic program is excellent and accredited. RCS is located on 33 beautiful acres. The classrooms are nicely decorated and the school has been recently updated. It has a large cafeteria, beautiful gym, and a lovely chapel. It also has a large, well equipped library, computer lab, an active music, art, and sports departments, as well as lots of other extracurricular activities. We are so thankful and grateful for RCS''s commitment and standards. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - My children have attended RCS since Kindergarden. Every teacher we have had has been an amazing example for my children. The teachers are very committed to what they do and it''s clear they are there because they love the children. It''s not a job for them it is a calling and a mission. I am thankful to every one of them and the time and attention they have poured into my children. My kids have excelled academically and I am thankful for what the have NOT learned in public school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2012 - We have two children (5th grader and 1st grader) at Richmond Christian School and we highly recommend it. The teachers are student focused but what really impresses us is how the older students are true mentors to the younger students without even knowing it. When the high school students see the younger students at a sporting event or other school function, they take time with the younger children. It has been a great experience for both of our children. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 28, 2012 - Our family is very enthusiastic about Richmond Christian School! We are in the middle of our 3rd year and feel blessed to be a part of a school that not only has quality academics, but offers students a Godly world view in their daily experiences. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Rankings or Comparisons?
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
7 Ways Kids Can Avoid Summer Brain Drain
The summer "Brain Drain," also known as the "Summer Slide" is a term commonly used by educators and parents alike to describe the learning loss that takes place for many students during summer months. We polled the experts and found the 7 best ways parents and kids can combat the problem head on.
Marketing the Small Private School: Communicating with Your Community
The foundation of any successful small private school marketing program is having clear, consistent and authoritative in-house communications. We take a look at what is involved in this second article on marketing the small private school.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!