Northwest Lutheran School

Tel: (414)463-4040
Grades: PK - 8 | 254 students
Northwest Lutheran School provides a safe, Christian school focused on educational success, leadership development and spiritual growth. We help our students work hard to achieve greatness by nurturing and equipping them in a strong Christian and academic environment to become lifelong learners, capable of making responsible decisions, growing in faith and serving God and the community.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
AdvancED
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1957

Student Body

Total Students 254 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 93%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Northwest Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 14 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 18:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(khakis/polo or shirt & tie)
Tuition Notes Milwaukee Parental Choice Program

School Notes:

  • Christian-based educationFull day 4K & 5K and grades 1-8
  • Rigorous academicsHigh performing teachers and administrators
  • Major emphasis on Reading and Math
  • Individual and small group learning opportunities
  • Professional counseling and healthcare services
  • Free breakfast and hot lunch for all students
  • State-of-the-art computer equipment
  • Engaging fine arts, athletic and music programs
  • Unique partnership with Concordia University Wisconsin
  • Milwaukee Parental Choice Program
  • Safe and secure campus

Profile last updated: 11/12/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is St. Aemilian-lakeside, Inc (0.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Aemilian-lakeside, Inc (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Margaret Mary School (0.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Milwaukee
    St. Aemilian-lakeside, Inc
    All-boys  | Special Education School
    Grades: 1-11 | 100 students
    0.6 miles
    8901 W. Capitol Drive
    Milwaukee, WI 53222
    (414)463-1880
    0.61-11
    100
  • Milwaukee
    St. Rose Youth & Family Center School
    All-girls  | Special Education School
    Grades: 8-12 | 7 students
    0.6 miles
    3801 N 88th St
    Milwaukee, WI 53222
    (414)466-9450
    0.68-12
    7
  • Milwaukee
    St Margaret Mary School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 275 students
    0.7 miles
    3950 N 92nd St
    Milwaukee, WI 53222
    (414)463-8760
    0.7PK-8
    275
  • Milwaukee
    Lutheran Special School & Education Services
    Special Education School (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    Grades: 3-8 | 35 students
    1 miles
    9700 W. Grantosa Drive
    Milwaukee, WI 53222
    (414)461-8500
    13-8
    35
  • Milwaukee
    Milwaukee Lutheran High School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    Grades: 9-12 | 596 students
    1 miles
    9700 W Grantosa Drive
    Milwaukee, WI 53222
    (414)461-6000
    19-12
    596

School Reviews

I enrolled my children in Northwest Lutheran School last year and that was the best decision I could have ever made. My children are happy now and really enjoy learning. The entire staff there is very helpful and take the time to make sure that the kids aren''t just doing the work, but actually understand what they are doing. I highly recoommend this school.
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
Over all Northwest school is a school that will help your child grow spiritually, academically, and emotionally. With my child being a k-5 student whom has attended since last year the core curriculum is very advanced. i do feel at times the work can be a bit overwhelming for a 5-year with advanced work but if you are looking for a challenge this would be the right school for. at first the communication with his Teacher was not as good as it was with his k-4 teacher ( whom i absolutely loved ) but after parent teacher conference that has improved. They also offer extra programs for students whom are struggling. If you are willing to but in the work with your child to go above and beyond then this would be the right choice . I Do recommend North West Lutheran
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
My son is a 3rd grade student here at Northwest, and I feel this is a great fit for my son, that is naturally laid back and more reserve. The teachers here are great and they take the time to get to know your child, and that does make a difference. I would recommend this school to anyone that is looking for a faith based school that cares about the progress of you child.
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
I love Northwest Lutheran. My son is a 1st grader there. He is doing very well at Northwest Lutheran and reading a grade higher than an average 1st grader.
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
I am a proud parent of a honor role 5th grader at Northwest Lutheran School. I love the academic program that has been put in place at Northwest, the progressive atmosphere of the teachers, and the faith based interaction my child receives as a student and I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a school who has the best interest of your child at heart!!!
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Milwaukee, WI is $4,039 for elementary schools and $9,269 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Milwaukee, WI is 97% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos