Montessori School Of Ojai

806 Baldwin Rd
Ojai, CA 93023-0930
Tel: (805)649-2525
Grades: NS - 8 | 80 students
The Montessori School of Ojai philosophy is drawn from the vision of Maria Montessori, who believed that the environment contributes to the child's potential as an intelligent and creative individual who is knowledgeable about both the natural and academic worlds.
We believe in working together in a spirit of cooperation, seeking to cultivate and express that which is excellent in each other.
Active participation in the school community builds caring and responsible individuals.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8

Student Body

Total Students 80 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Montessori School Of Ojai Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 14 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition schedule available on website
Admissions Director Tiffany Gould

School Notes:

Individualized instruction enables each student to receive one-on-one attention daily.  The teacher knows the child well and understands his or her learning style and academic level.  Montessori School of Ojai provides not only an enriched academic environment with music, garden, science, language, physical education and art, but a caring community of children and adults.

Profile last updated: 08/17/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Besant Hill School (2.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Oak Grove School (2.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Oak Grove School (2.2 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Ojai
    Grades: 9-12 | 100 students
    2.2 miles
    8585 Ojai Santa Paula Rd or PO Box 850
    Ojai, CA 93023
    (805)646-4343
    2.29-12
    100
  • Ojai
    Grades: PK-12 | 228 students
    2.2 miles
    220 West Lomita Drive
    Ojai, CA 93023
    (805)646-8236
    2.2PK-12
    228
  • Ojai
    King's Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: PK-5 | 52 students
    2.7 miles
    190 E El Roblar Dr
    Ojai, CA 93023
    (805)646-7386
    2.7PK-5
    52
  • Ojai
    Grades: 9-12 | 266 students
    2.7 miles
    12096 N Ventura Avenue
    Ojai, CA 93023
    (805)646-1464
    2.79-12
    266
  • Ojai
    Grades: PK-12 | 293 students
    3.3 miles
    723 El Paseo Road
    Ojai, CA 93023
    (805)646-1423
    3.3PK-12
    293

School Reviews

My daughter is thriving in her classroom. She loves all the opportunities she has in garden, music, art, PE, foreign language and science. The teaching staff is thoughtful and caring. They are always enthusiastic to teach our children and foster their development. The beautiful 10 acre property offers a unique opportunity for the students to learn from the land around them and have animals on campus that they can learn to care for and enjoy. The Montessori School of Ojai is a very special place and our family is pleased to be a part of it.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We've had the privilege of getting to know the Montessori School of Ojai for the past four years. I am thoroughly impressed with the individualized learning model. Children are free to hone skills that they find personally fascinating, while simultaneously learning to balance the requirements of the rest of their academic education. Giving the students some flexibility in when and how they learn seems to keep them interested and feeling a deeper sense of accomplishment and pride in their work. The campus abounds with nature. Plenty of open space to explore and appreciate. Delightful teachers, small classes, and a welcoming community. We love it.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Ojai, CA is 42% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).