Rock Prairie Montessori

5246 E Rotamer Road,
Janesville, WI, 53546-0535
Tel: (608)868-4844
Rock Prairie Montessori is a non-profit school that began in September 1994 through the efforts of several parents seeking an alternative education for their children.
 Rock Prairie Montessori’s program purpose is to operate a child centered school for children in accordance with the Montessori Method to encourage the development of every child to his or her maximum potential and to aid parents/guardians in the education of the child by involving them in the school.
Rock Prairie Montessori is affiliated with the International Montessori Council (IMC) and The Montessori Foundation and our teachers are all certified Montessori instructors.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. International Montessori Council (IMC)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1994

Student Body

Total Students 128 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 6%
State avg.: 23%
Students by Grade Rock Prairie Montessori Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 25 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Comfortable clothes for children to work in and rubber soled shoes with backs)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Here is our link to tuition information http://bit.ly/1dGwuYl
% on Financial Aid 5%
Acceptance Rate 100%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Martha Carver
Admissions Associate Linda Maybee

School Notes:

  • The day-to-day operations of the school are managed a Leadership Team that includes the Head of School, Director of Operations and Director of Development and Planning. The school is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of parents, community members, and the Head of School. Parents also serve on various committees to assist with the planning of social events and fundraisers. Children and their families from throughout southern Wisconsin and northern Illinois, as well as teachers and staff, comprise the Rock Prairie Montessori School community.  Rock Prairie Montessori offers a free Montessori Beginnings Program for parents/caregivers and their child age birth to 23 months, a Toddlers' House Program for children ages 18 months to three years, a Children’s House Program for children ages three to six, and an Elementary Program grades first through sixth. Before school care, after school care and Summer School Programs are also available.
  • Profile last updated: 09/04/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Oakhill Christian School (7.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Woodland Christian School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. Matthews Lutheran School (4.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Janesville Woodland Christian School
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    4324 E Bingham Road
    Janesville , WI , 53546
    (608)868-7560
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    1.4  mi  |  25  students  |  Gr.  1-8
  • Janesville
    Janesville KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    3327 East Milwaukee Street
    Janesville , WI , 53546
    (608)755-9970
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2.8  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • Janesville
    St. Matthews Lutheran School
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    709 Milton Avenue
    Janesville , WI , 53545
    (608)752-1304
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    4.5  mi  |  119  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Janesville
    St. Pauls Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    210 South Ringold Street
    Janesville , WI , 53545
    (608)754-4471
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    4.5  mi  |  348  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Janesville
    St. John Vianney School
    (Roman Catholic)
    1250 E Racine Street
    Janesville , WI , 53545
    (608)752-6802
    (Roman Catholic)
    4.8  mi  |  252  students  |  Gr.  PK-8

School Reviews

  • Recommended September 13, 2013 - My daughter has attended since 2011 at the age of two. The school and the staff are amazing. They have allowed my daughter to excel as I don''t feel she would have had the opportunity at another institution. At the age of 4 now she is beginning reading lessons which could not impress us anymore. The teachers and other school staff have made this school a necessity in our families lives. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - My son has been a student here since he was two. He is now six years old. We did not intend to stay this long, but it has been such a great place for him we can''t bear to leave. The teachers/staff care about each child and family, and the quality of academics high. One aspect of instruction that our family really appreciates is that students don''t just sit at a desk and take in the information. For a busy little boy, the movement, frequent changes, and style of teaching are invaluable. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - I am a parent of two students at Rock Prairie. We have had our kids at the school since 2010. I can''t imagine a better environment for learning and growing. The environment is fantastic, the teachers are amazing and consistent, the programs offered are flexible and effective and the staff is helpful and supportive. Our kids love the school and we love the school as parents. The whole school is focused on the needs of the child academically, emotionally, developmentally, physically and individually. The teachers are in tune with different children''s needs and adapt easily to meet them. My kids are very different from each other. They have both excelled at Rock Prairie. The school teaches kindness, respect and peace. It is a major theme throughout the school. We are so glad our kids have the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful place. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - Great school. Our son enjoys the class, teachers, field activities, and various other things over there. Ms. Nancy and Ms. MaryAnn have been his favorites over there! Overall, we have seen so many improvements in him, starting from social skills, language, vocabulary, discipline, etc. We love the school and plan to send our second son over there as well. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - This is truly an amazing place. Janesville is lucky to have such an institution. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - This is a wonderful school. My daughter has been a student there since she was 2 years old. She is now starting her 1st grade year and is more excited than ever to be continuing her Montessori education at RPMS. Great teachers and staff, great administration, great families, and a great community to be a part of. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - We couldn''t be happier, and that includes our 2 year-old. The teachers are highly educated and provide true academic (including cognitive, social-emotional and physical development) support and feedback. We are in constant touch with our teachers and school staff. The classroom and grounds are beautiful and inspirational. We love being involved and have many opportunities. Our son only cried on his first day back this fall when we said, "We have to go now" (meaning mom and dad). He screamed, "I want to stay here!" He is excited to work and learn there. It''s peaceful. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Rankings or Comparisons?
Rankings or Comparisons?
Choosing the right private school for your child involves comparing schools as opposed to ranking them.
7 Ways Kids Can Avoid Summer Brain Drain
The summer "Brain Drain," also known as the "Summer Slide" is a term commonly used by educators and parents alike to describe the learning loss that takes place for many students during summer months. We polled the experts and found the 7 best ways parents and kids can combat the problem head on.
Marketing the Small Private School: Communicating with Your Community
The foundation of any successful small private school marketing program is having clear, consistent and authoritative in-house communications. We take a look at what is involved in this second article on marketing the small private school.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!