Rock Prairie Montessori

5246 E Rotamer Road
Janesville, WI 53546-0535
     Tel: (608)868-4844
   
Grades: PK - 6 | 128 students
previous
next
Featured School
Rock Prairie Montessori is a non-profit school that began in September 1994 through the efforts of several parents seeking an alternative education for their children.
 Rock Prairie Montessori’s program purpose is to operate a child centered school for children in accordance with the Montessori Method to encourage the development of every child to his or her maximum potential and to aid parents/guardians in the education of the child by involving them in the school.
Rock Prairie Montessori is affiliated with the International Montessori Council (IMC) and The Montessori Foundation and our teachers are all certified Montessori instructors.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. International Montessori Council (IMC)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1994

Student Body

Total Students 128 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 6%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Rock Prairie Montessori Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 25 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Comfortable clothes for children to work in and rubber soled shoes with backs)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Here is our link to tuition information http://bit.ly/1dGwuYl
% on Financial Aid 5%
Acceptance Rate 100%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Martha Carver
Admissions Associate Linda Maybee

School Notes:

The day-to-day operations of the school are managed a Leadership Team that includes the Head of School, Director of Operations and Director of Development and Planning. The school is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of parents, community members, and the Head of School. Parents also serve on various committees to assist with the planning of social events and fundraisers. Children and their families from throughout southern Wisconsin and northern Illinois, as well as teachers and staff, comprise the Rock Prairie Montessori School community.  Rock Prairie Montessori offers a free Montessori Beginnings Program for parents/caregivers and their child age birth to 23 months, a Toddlers' House Program for children ages 18 months to three years, a Children’s House Program for children ages three to six, and an Elementary Program grades first through sixth. Before school care, after school care and Summer School Programs are also available.

Profile last updated: 09/04/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Oakhill Christian School (7.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Woodland Christian School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Matthews Lutheran School (4.5 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Janesville
    Woodland Christian School
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    4324 E Bingham Road
    JanesvilleWI 53546
    (608)868-7560
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    1.4 mi | Gr. 1-8 | 25 students                      
  • Janesville
    St Matthews Lutheran School
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    709 Milton Ave
    JanesvilleWI 53545
    (608)752-1304
    (Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod)
    4.5 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 92 students                      
  • Janesville
    St Pauls Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    210 S Ringold St
    JanesvilleWI 53545
    (608)754-4471
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    4.5 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 281 students                      
  • Janesville
    St. John Vianney School
    (Roman Catholic)
    1250 E Racine Street
    JanesvilleWI 53545
    (608)752-6802
    (Roman Catholic)
    4.8 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 252 students                      
  • Janesville
    St Mary Elementary School
    (Roman Catholic)
    307 E Wall St
    JanesvilleWI 53545
    (608)754-5221
    (Roman Catholic)
    5 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 154 students                      

School Reviews

4 days ago
My son has been a student here since he was two. He is now six years old. We did not intend to stay this long, but it has been such a great place for him we can''t bear to leave. The teachers/staff care about each child and family, and the quality of academics high. One aspect of instruction that our family really appreciates is that students don''t just sit at a desk and take in the information. For a busy little boy, the movement, frequent changes, and style of teaching are invaluable.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
I am a parent of two students at Rock Prairie. We have had our kids at the school since 2010. I can''t imagine a better environment for learning and growing. The environment is fantastic, the teachers are amazing and consistent, the programs offered are flexible and effective and the staff is helpful and supportive. Our kids love the school and we love the school as parents. The whole school is focused on the needs of the child academically, emotionally, developmentally, physically and individually. The teachers are in tune with different children''s needs and adapt easily to meet them. My kids are very different from each other. They have both excelled at Rock Prairie. The school teaches kindness, respect and peace. It is a major theme throughout the school. We are so glad our kids have the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful place.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
Great school. Our son enjoys the class, teachers, field activities, and various other things over there. Ms. Nancy and Ms. MaryAnn have been his favorites over there! Overall, we have seen so many improvements in him, starting from social skills, language, vocabulary, discipline, etc. We love the school and plan to send our second son over there as well.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
This is truly an amazing place. Janesville is lucky to have such an institution.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
This is a wonderful school. My daughter has been a student there since she was 2 years old. She is now starting her 1st grade year and is more excited than ever to be continuing her Montessori education at RPMS. Great teachers and staff, great administration, great families, and a great community to be a part of.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
We couldn''t be happier, and that includes our 2 year-old. The teachers are highly educated and provide true academic (including cognitive, social-emotional and physical development) support and feedback. We are in constant touch with our teachers and school staff. The classroom and grounds are beautiful and inspirational. We love being involved and have many opportunities. Our son only cried on his first day back this fall when we said, "We have to go now" (meaning mom and dad). He screamed, "I want to stay here!" He is excited to work and learn there. It''s peaceful.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
My daughter has attended since 2011 at the age of two. The school and the staff are amazing. They have allowed my daughter to excel as I don''t feel she would have had the opportunity at another institution. At the age of 4 now she is beginning reading lessons which could not impress us anymore. The teachers and other school staff have made this school a necessity in our families lives.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Why Would I Want to....
Why Would I Want to....
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Wisconsin is $3,191 for elementary schools and $7,607 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Wisconsin is 95% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos