Science Academy of Chicago

Tel: (847)258-5254
Grades: NS - 9 | 203 students
SAC has come a long way since its inception in 2000.
In a brand new facility in Mt.
Prospect, with a brand new administration and faculty/staff since 2013, SAC has been awarded the top school award at the IJAS Illinois Science Fair in 2014 and the Best School Award at the CONSEF Fair in Ohio.
In May 2014, SAC also recently placed as the 1st in the Illinois Math League in May 2014.
SAC hosts and is a participant in many cultural events, recently placing 3rd in the 2014 Turquoise Art & Language Contest.
SAC also recently participated in the TECH 2014 Exposition in Springfield, Illinois, showcasing the importance of technology in the STEAM curriculum offered at SAC to state representatives.

SAC offers affordable, accelerated STEAM education and is a college preparatory school serving students from Prek-3 to 9th grade .
The SAC family is very diverse, drawing students and families from over 40 different zip codes in the Chicago land area and suburbs.
Our diverse staff and faculty are fully certified educators and administrators that are dedicated to providing every child at SAC with an accelerated STEAM curriculum, extracurricular activities, and the opportunities to be involved in SAC's expansion.
We encourage all interested parents and families to inquire about information, to come see the new SAC for yourself, and make a lasting investment in your child's future through our affordable and accelerated STEAM private education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Xaverian Brothers School Sponsorship
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 9
Year Founded 2000

Student Body

Total Students 203 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 3%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Science Academy of Chicago Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 21 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 15 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(khaki/Navy pants and embroidered polo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $8,000
Tuition Notes Grades PK-8 tuition is $8000. Grade 9 tuition is $9600. There is a payment plan of ten installments.
Acceptance Rate 95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Azra Jakupovic

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Indoor Soccer, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballIndoor Soccer,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 11 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Advance Science Team, American Math League, Animal Club, Arts & Crafts, Community Club, Computer Technology, Folk Dance Club, Mad Science, Primary Grades: Puppets & Story Time, Robotics, Spanish Animal Club, Arts & Crafts, Community Club, Mad Science, Robotics, Spanish, Advance Science Team,
American Math League,
Computer Technology,
Folk Dance Club,
Primary Grades: Puppets & Story Time,

School Notes:

    Profile last updated: 05/14/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Metropolitan Preparatory Schools (0.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Metropolitan Preparatory Schools (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Zachary Elementary School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Arlington Heights Metropolitan Preparatory Schools
    Special Education School
    2525 E Oakton St Ste D47
    Arlington Heights , IL , 60005
    (847)956-7912
    Special Education School
    0.3  mi  |  104  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Des Plaines St Zachary Elementary School
    (Roman Catholic)
    567 W Algonquin Rd
    Des Plaines , IL , 60016
    (847)437-4022
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  134  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Des Plaines
    Brentwood Baptist Christian Academy
    (Baptist)
    588 Dara James Rd
    Des Plaines , IL , 60016
    (847)298-3399
    (Baptist)
    1.3  mi  |  70  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Des Plaines
    The Camelot School
    Special Education School
    1455a E Prairie Ave
    Des Plaines , IL , 60016
    (847)391-8036
    Special Education School
    1.9  mi  |  80  students  |  Gr.  1-12
  • Elk Grove Village Jennifer Child Care
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    554 E Devon Avenue
    Elk Grove Village , IL , 60007
    (847)640-1686
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    2.2  mi  |  12  students  |  Gr.  K-NS

School Reviews

  • Recommended May 24, 2014 - It is great steam school. My children do so many hands on activities in math ,science,computer and social studies classes. Also my daughters did very well at NWA test. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 29, 2014 - 8yrs, 3 kids, this place is our 2nd home! Top notch teachers & staff. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I have two children attending SAC. We moved to the area this year and I am glad that we made the decision to send our kids to SAC. I will definitely re-enroll them for next year because of the quality education, family like environment, dedicated staff&administration, affordable tuition, and clean facilities. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 12, 2013 - EXCELLENT School! Dedicated staff and principal. Curriculum is top notch. At SAC your child is not just a "pupil", he/she is family. We are so blessed to have found such a wonderful school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - This is an wonderful school with incredibly dedicated staff member''s! SAOC has the best educational atmosphere for your children to learn and grow in. Visit and you will see for yourself! :) - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!