American Preparatory Academy

     Tel: (954)434-8936
        
   
Grades: K - 12 | 127 students
American Preparatory Academy serves K-12 students - Spanish classes everyday - Small Classroom settings - Physical Education everyday - Affordable tuition -McKay and Step Up for Students Scholarships welcome.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Association of Independent Schools of Florida
National Council for Private School Accreditation
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, DYSLEXIA, AUTISM, DOWN SYNDROME
Year Founded 2007

Student Body

Total Students 127 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 20%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade American Preparatory Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 21 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 80%
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 1 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(navy blue, black, and khaki pants, polo with school logo, sweatshirts with school logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes Don't be afraid of the tuition fee. We offer awesome discounts!
Admissions Director Jessica M. Tous

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Football, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
FootballSoccer,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Basketball Varsity, PTO PTO, Basketball Varsity,

School Notes:

  • Low teacher to student ratios, 1:17 ( OR LESS) 
  • Free tutoring offered after school
  • No FCAT
  • Fully Accredited  AISFL - NCPSA - SACS
  • Special needs program promoting inclusion
  • McKay and Step Up for Students accepted

Profile last updated: 07/17/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Westlake Preparatory School & Academy (0.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Access School (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Pine Island Montessori (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Davie Florida
    Access School
    Special Education School
    4801 S Univeristy Drive
    Davie FloridaFL 33328
    (954)680-9494
    Special Education School
    0.4 mi | Gr. 3-8 | 16 students                      
  • Davie
    Pine Island Montessori
    Montessori School
    5499 Sw 82nd Ave
    DavieFL 33328
    (954)434-6337
    Montessori School
    0.6 mi | Gr. PK-5 | 61 students                      
  • Fort Lauderdale
    4188 S University Drive
    Fort LauderdaleFL 33328
    (954)236-2300
    0.8 mi | Gr. K-12 | 150 students                      
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Conservatory Prep Senior High School
    Special Program Emphasis (Non-sectarian)
    5850 S. Pine Island Road
    Fort LauderdaleFL 33328
    (954)680-5808
    Special Program Emphasis (Non-sectarian)
    0.9 mi | Gr. 6-12 | 27 students                      
  • Davie
    St David Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    3900 S University Dr
    DavieFL 33328
    (954)472-7086
    (Roman Catholic)
    1 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 511 students                      

School Reviews

1 week ago
Hello, everyone! I'm not only a school administrator I'm also a parent.. Since 2013, my children are coming to APA. Since the first day they came to school, my kids were happy. Not only because of the teachers attention, but it gave them the chance to be themselves. To feel that they can learn at their pace, without being yelled at or bullied. For me, that's a plus on my book! I was first a parent at APA, and I'm proud to be the Admissions Director.
- Posted by Administrator
1 year ago
Safe, loving environment, free of bullying and scrutiny. Students can learn in a positive atmosphere and grow socially, emotionally, and academically.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Academics is outstanding, teachers (it doesn''t get better than these teachers!) and facilities (if you are looking for family atmosphere , going out of their way to help) you found American Prepatory Academy
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My special needs children have attended this school for four years. The teachers are very accessable and the children learn at their own pace. Class sizes are small. My children are learning sign language as part of the curriculum. I love the after school clubs, art and gardening and video club. The children are protected from bullying. I am very happy with this school and recommend it.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The teachers and staff are amazing! It feels like a close knit community where everybody knows your name. My step-son excelled once he transferred from public school, since being able to participate in basketball it has opened up a new world for him, something he would never have been able to do in the public sector. Thank you APA you changed our lives
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Loving and caring atmosphere. Small class sizes, individualized attention, special needs inclusion program and therapy provided in school. Great communication with teachers via email or renweb program where your child''s grades, HW, etc is posted. Would highly recommend. Great education without the stress of bullying, drugs, or FCAT''s!! :)
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Drug-free and Bully-Free environment. Small teacher/student ratios and inclusion program for Special Needs Students. My son has been at APA for 3 years now and loves it. He is learning and receiving his individualized attention and therapies. Principal has open-door policy for parents to communicate with her and you do not need to wait a month for a meeting. Very happy with the school and will highly recommend!!! 10 Stars **********
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Excellent parent/teacher communication. Drug free, Bully Free school. My Special Needs son is very happy. He needs extra help and it is provided for him at no additional cost. His grades and self-esteem have improved dramatically since pulling him out of public school and into American Preparatory.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Why Would I Want to....
Why Would I Want to....
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fort Lauderdale, FL is $6,123 for elementary schools and $13,719 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fort Lauderdale, FL is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).