Montessori Academy Of Colorado

2500 Curtis Street,
Denver, CO, 80205
Tel: (303)623-2609
The Montessori Academy of Colorado is a high standard urban Montessori school that offers a full-day, year-round innovative student and family educational experience.
MAC serves students ages 8 weeks through 1st grade.
We will phase our growing elementary program and have kindergarten through 5th grade by 2017.
 We strive to be a dynamic school that honors the diversity of our staff, students, and families.  Our organization was founded by parents who sought a traditional Montessori education for their children that still met the needs of working parents.
MAC is the incredible result of the efforts of those parents.
It is our goal to meet the needs of every child enrolled in our school.
We invite you to come and see the magic for yourself.    

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 1
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Any that can be integrated fully.
Year Founded 2002

Student Body

Total Students 199 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Montessori Academy Of Colorado Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 50 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary based on the age group of the student as well as the program in which the student is enrolled. All tuition rates are provided on our website.
Admissions Director Jaclyn Greenbaum
Admissions Associate Amanda Herman

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art (Included w/ Tuition), Ballet, Hip-Hop Dance, Martial Arts, Music (Included w/ Tuition), Private Piano, Yoga Ballet, Hip-Hop Dance, Martial Arts, Private Piano, Yoga, Art (Included w/ Tuition),
Music (Included w/ Tuition),

School Notes:

    Profile last updated: 01/17/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is La Academia At The Denver Inner City Parish (1.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Bright Horizons Montessori At Denver Place (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Clever Kids Learning Center (1.1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Denver Bright Horizons Montessori At Denver Place
    Montessori School
    999 18th St N Terrace Ste 350
    Denver , CO , 80202
    (303)293-2743
    Montessori School
    0.6  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-K
  • Denver
    Annunciation    
    (Roman Catholic)
    3536 Lafayette St
    Denver , CO , 80205
    (303)295-2515
    (Roman Catholic)
    1  mi  |  193  students  |  Gr.  KG-8
  • Denver
    Clever Kids Learning Center
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    Po Box 25466 Denver Fed Center
    Denver , CO , 80225
    (303)236-9400
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1.1  mi  |  101  students  |  Gr.  PK-K
  • Denver
    Loyola Grade School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2350 Gaylord St
    Denver , CO , 80205
    (303)355-9900
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.3  mi  |  92  students  |  Gr.  K-7
  • Denver
    Escuela De Guadalupe
    Special Program Emphasis (Roman Catholic)
    3401 Pecos St
    Denver , CO , 80211
    (303)964-8456
    Special Program Emphasis (Roman Catholic)
    1.3  mi  |  107  students  |  Gr.  K-6

School Reviews

  • Recommended July 09, 2012 - We have been very happy with MAC. The facilities are great, including spaces devoted to art and music. The teachers and staff are committed and work hard to make the program rewarding and fun for the students. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 09, 2012 - The distinction between "day care" and "school" is the biggest difference for me since Henry started at MAC. The seriousness with which the staff takes the Montessori approach is meaningful, and before exploring our options when moving to Denver, I hadn''t known much about how Montessori worked. I couldn''t be more pleased with the outcomes so far and my family intends to pursue Montessori education for as long as is practical for our child(ren). - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 09, 2012 - We love MAC! Our son has been in the Toddler Community for almost exactly a year now. He loves to go to school. He comes home with lots to say about his friends and teachers, what went on in "specials," the work he did during the day, etc. His relatives are amazed at his independence, self-confidence, and manners. I recommend MAC because of the community, the parent involvement, the teachers'' love and respect for the children, the level of training (and ongoing training) of the teachers, the spacious and well-prepared classrooms, and the weekly art and music classes (with teachers who have music and art degrees!). - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 09, 2012 - We have had our child at MAC since she was 18 months old. We cannot say enough about MAC and the wonderful influence it has been on our child. Similar to other parents, I toured several schools and did not find any that felt the same energy or feeling that we encountered at MAC. Our child loves to be there. They potty trained her within 2 weeks of being there at 18 months. We even left for a short period when we got into a highly regarded ECE program in Denver. We lasted two weeks before we returned to MAC. Honestly, I would be hard pressed to find a better place. We certainly have found a great variance with Montessoris. MAC is social, incorporates other activities such as music, arts and dance which children love. She has thrived there! It will be a sad day when we have to leave MAC, but we are staying as long as we can! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2012 - Both my husband and I work, so choosing where our child would spend her day was the paramount decision as new parents. We toured several Montessori schools and at MAC we found the ratio in the classrooms to be the best and the environment the most inviting. In addition to feeling warm and nurturing, the interactions between caregiver and child are quite respectful. The setup of the room provided all the children, even those from 3 months old, with opportunities to explore and develop, and the schedule of daily activities, like buggy rides, water days in the summer and snack time for older kids, provide the children with structure and consistency. Our experience with MAC continues to be great. Most important, our daughter likes being at MAC. The staff is also an invaluable source of parenting help and we enjoy talking with the other families. There is a sense of community here. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2012 - Both my husband and I work, so choosing where our child would spend her day was the paramount decision as new parents. We toured several Montessori schools and at MAC we found the ratio in the classrooms to be the best and the environment the most inviting. In addition to feeling warm and nurturing, the interactions between caregiver and child are quite respectful. The setup of the room provided all the children, even those from 3 months old, with opportunities to explore and develop, and the schedule of daily activities, like buggy rides, water days in the summer and snack time for older kids, provide the children with structure and consistency. Our experience with MAC continues to be great. Most important, our daughter likes being at MAC. The staff is also an invaluable source of parenting help and we enjoy talking with the other families. There is a sense of community here. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 01, 2012 - MAC is a stellar school. I got teary when I did the initial tour at 20 weeks pregnant (and it wasn''t just the hormones) - it was a place with which I could truly imagine co-parenting our daughter. Yes, my husband and I are her parents, but they are there, guiding her and helping her grow into the fantastic two year old she has become. I can''t say enough about the thoughtful curriculum, the weekly art and music (and host of other "specials" - yoga, ballet, spanish, etc.), and the high ratio of teacher to student. I especially loved their embrace of "alternative" choices our family has made, such as cloth diapering and excellent nutrition. We LOVE MAC! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 01, 2012 - My child was enrolled at 13 weeks and MAC has provided a safe and engaging environment that has enabled him to develop extraordinary social skills at an early age. He is approaches new environments and social situations with gusto. He is comfortable in all social settings; visits to new homes; restaurants, and; the ever dreaded airplane flight. I truly believe his outgoing nature and friendly demeanor can be attributed to his interaction with the excellent staff and other children. He loves it there. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - MAC is a wonderful place that my wife and I trust to care for my daughter. When we moved to Denver, the staff at MAC was extremely helpful in helping us secure a spot and helped us transition into the Denver community. Our daughter is at home there and adores all the staff and other students. I highly recommend MAC to anyone who wants their child to grow to be independent thinkers. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Our child started school at MAC when he was 18 months. He''s now over 3, and we are amazed at how much he has learned and grown. MAC has helped him truly develop his potential, not only academically, but also as a responsible, polite, and friendly child. MAC provides music and art once a week, and the Montessori materials in the classroom are high-quality. We have been very impressed and happy with the care and education our child has received at this school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - The programs are excellent at MAC. My preschooler is fully engaged in his classroom (which constantly focuses on different interesting topics and shifts the curriculum). There is also music and art. The facilities are very nice. And the staff is incredibly responsive to parents. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!