Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy

     Tel: (435)867-5555
        
   
Grades: 9 - 12 | 18 students
previous
next
Featured School
item which has been noted, verified.
Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy is a transitional boarding school which helps students graduating from either a residential treatment level of care or wilderness program to prepare for their next step in life.
item which has been noted, verified.
MSPA is not a therapeutic boarding school but therapy is available from trained professionals in the community who work with MSPA and understand our unique mission and philosophy.
item which has been noted, verified.
MSPA is focused on helping students acclimate back into society.
item which has been noted, verified.
We utilize a solution-focused model that allows students the opportunity to make choices and assess how much the students have internalized the skills they have learned in their prior treatment.
item which has been noted, verified.
Rather than using behavioral consequences with the students, our mentors utilize supportive relationships as the agent for encouraging change.
item which has been noted, verified.
Education at Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy combines the best of traditional education with a unique emphasis on building self-esteem and addressing core issues.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12

Student Body

Total Students 18 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 28%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 4 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 4 students
Admission Deadline None / Rolling

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Moonridge Academy (5.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Moonridge Academy (5.7 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Cedar CityMoonridge Academy
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    Po Box 1067
    Cedar CityUT 84721
    (435)586-9585
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    5.7 mi | 5 students | Gr. 8-11                      
  • VirginFalcon Ridge Ranch
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    Po Box 790099
    VirginUT 84779
    (435)635-5260
    All-girls  | Alternative School
    29.6 mi | 22 students | Gr. 6-12                      
  • VirginLiahona Academy
    All-boys  | Alternative School
    Po Box 790310
    VirginUT 84779
    (435)635-0740
    All-boys  | Alternative School
    31.2 mi | 48 students | Gr. 7-12                      
  • La VerkinCross Creek Programs
    Alternative School
    150 N State St
    La VerkinUT 84745
    (435)635-6016
    Alternative School
    32.1 mi | 145 students | Gr. 7-12                      
  • HurricaneDiamond Ranch Academy
    Alternative School
    1500 E 2700 S
    HurricaneUT 84737
    (435)635-4297
    Alternative School
    33.9 mi | 145 students | Gr. 7-12                      

School Reviews

8 months ago
MSPA was a transforming juncture in our daughter''s journey. The milieu of staff, students, school, peer socializing, activities, responsibilities, accountability created a real life setting for growth in a safe environment. The staff''s dynamic engagement with our daughter was a surrogate for our love at a time when we did not have the skills or energy to reach her with our love. We were locked out of her world. MSPA is unique. There are many schools on the web that have glossy websites and promises. My sense is that MSPA is in a class of their own. The school is a gold standard for staff that cared for our daughter 24/7 in a deeply meaningful way. Their words and actions reflected an unwavering belief in her and love for her. MSPA stands out in the application of a matrix system that offers students and parents a concrete chart of the baseline and the progress of growth. The program facilitates the integration of meaningful behavior change. This is vastly different from the behavior of compliance-only-to-graduate from other programs which results in superficial change and the return to old behavior patterns once students graduate. This is not a nuance. It is the difference between an investment of time and money and a waste of time and money. Our daughter graduated four years ago. She has integrity and is growing into her values. There are opportunities within her grasp that without MSPA would not have been an option.
- Posted by Parent
10 months ago
In 2012, I began my sixteen month long journey at Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy. I came to MSPA as a scared and lonely sixteen year old girl with a sassy and resistant attitude. After all, this was my fifth treatment center, it was understandable I was a bit frustrated! I won?''t say Mountain Springs is a walk in the park. I learned very quickly that in order to change, one must want to change, and at first I was very resistant to this thought. That being said, once I made the decision that I could not continue living life the way I was living it, the students and staff alike were there ready to support me. I became a straight A student, got involved with triathlons and horseback riding outside of school, was voted to be Vice President of student council by my peers, helped put on MSPA?''s first prom and truly learned to love my life. I am now an Honor?''s student at University of Portland and am working for my school newspaper (one of my three jobs). None of this would have been possible without Mountain Springs. I continue to stay in touch with two of my mentors, Greg Allred and Scott Jakubowski. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone who needs a little extra support. With a little hard work and dedication, Mountain Springs has changed my life for the better and has made me realize, I can conquer the world! Thank you MSPA!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
11 months ago
The staff and teachers are very caring and get to know each student in order to motivate them to work on what they individually need. The classrooms and houses are clean and organized. Students are accepted unconditionally and feel they belong. Our daughter attended and had a positive, growing experience where she learned to deal with life''s ups and downs in healthy ways.
- Posted by Parent
11 months ago
Mountain Springs is an excellent school designed to help get its students back on track with real world experiences to learn from. Before MSPA I went to a wilderness program, and even though I was under the initial impression that 8 weeks in the middle of nowhere was enough, I would have slipped back into my old self if I went home. Mountain Springs gave me a place I could challenge myself. When I slipped I had people there who genuinely cared and who would help me back to my feet, and when I succeeded, I had people who believed in me. This is still the real world and if I did not want to change it did not matter where my parents would have sent me, I would have failed. I learned I wanted to change because the old me wouldn''t have even half the life I have now. The people who work at Mountain Springs are some of the best people I have ever met in my life and I am thankful for them for every day I have where I am not the old me.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
11 months ago
Mountain Springs provides an important and unique opportunity in the vast array of boarding school options. We are specifically designed as a practice, ??step-down,?" environment for students who have completed a residential treatment placement or wilderness therapy program. Having worked here in many different positions since 2006, and now being the Assistant Head of School, I know that we provide a meaningful service to this select population of high school students and their families. I have seen students truly apply what they have learned in practice and not just in theory. I have seen families heal and students become ignited with a passion for living a life worth living. I love going to work every day and helping these teenagers grow stronger internally day by day. This school is consistently open to student and parent feedback and improvement. We have a student government and ways for students and parents to advocate for changes to policies and practice. In this way, we are continuously open to improvement.
- Posted by Administrator
11 months ago
MSPA provided very good classroom instruction and a positive environment for our son Sean. He responded well to the personalized instruction and aced his college-prep courses. This was a dramatic turn-around from Sean''s academic performance a year earlier when he received all Fs. Sean attended MSPA after completing the program at Island View in Salt Lake. Island View helped a lot in Sean''s turn-around. MSPA provide the right environment for Sean to continue his progress. Sean wanted to attend college after graduation, but didn''t start looking at schools until late January. We were impressed by the individual counseling and encouragement that Ariel provided. Sean was able to get into an excellent college and enrolled the following September.
- Posted by Parent
11 months ago
I am an alumni of Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy. I can honestly say, MSPA helped me personally and academically. I got to graduate a year early from high school. During my time at MSPA, I made a variety of friends and some of these friends have become fairly important to me. MSPA doesn''t judge based on anything. They accept and help everyone who is admitted to the school, if the students'' are dedicated to receive help and such.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
11 months ago
Mountain Springs Academy was a very positive experience for my son. While initially adopting the same attitude he had at previous programs??..?"this doesn?''t work?"??.?"I hate it here?"??..?"nobody here knows what they?''re doing and they don?''t care about me?"??..he eventually realized the staff and environment at Mountain Springs were exactly what he needed. He made friends, invested in himself and the program, became more respectful, and thrived academically. The change we saw in him from the time he got there to the time he left was one of the most dramatic in his life. As a parent, I also found the staff to be wonderful. They are available and caring and that attitude has lasted even after my son?''s time there. I still contact Ariel for advice years after my son?''s time at Mountain Springs! I highly recommend it to other parents.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Mountain Springs Preparatory Academy has been, and continues to be, a great school and program. I have seen so many students thrive in this school. I love seeing students graduate with a high school diploma who tell me that they had given up hope of ever seeing that day come. The individual attention that each student receives from the small classes and caring teachers makes it impossible for them to slide by unnoticed, and nearly impossible for them to fail. The variety of educational opportunities is amazing. Besides the course offerings available in the Mountain Springs classes, students often take concurrent enrollment classes at Southern Utah University and/or classes at Southwest Applied Technology College. These students then leave with a high school diploma, as well as university credits and skills certifications that open up valuable career options. The transformation IĆ¢''ve seen in so many students over the years has been marvelous.
- Posted by Administrator

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
What About a Foreign Language School?
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Utah is $6,341 for elementary schools and $10,473 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Utah is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).