Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School)

     Tel: (317)377-0544
        
   
Grades: 1 - 12 | 87 students
previous
The performing arts allows students to showcase their strengths on stage.
next
Featured School
The performing arts allows students to showcase their strengths on stage.
Fortune Academy , an ISACS and AOGPE accredited school,  is designed to provide a multisensory environment using the Orton-Gillingham Approach.
All faculty members are trained under AOGPE Guidelines.
Most teachers have advanced degrees in special education, gifted education, learning disabilities, and reading.
Speech and Language Pathologists, a School Psychologist , Social Worker and school nurse are also on staff.

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Orton-Gillingham Academy of Practioners and Educators
Grades Offered Grades 1 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dylexia/Language Based Learning Differences/ADHD
Year Founded 2000

Student Body

Total Students 87 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 22%
State avg.: 19%
Students by Grade Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School) Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 23 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 75%
Average Class Size 5 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Khaki or navy pants, white, green or blue shirt, plaid jumpers)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $15,000
Tuition Notes Tuition assistance available to 12% of student population
% on Financial Aid 12%
Average Financial Aid Grant $3,000
Acceptance Rate 30%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Janet George
Admissions Associate Lori Jones

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art club, Boys Club, Chess Club, Dance Club, Drama Club, Exploration Adventures, Extreme Science, Games Club, Geocaching Club, Girls Club, High School Editors, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Student Council Art club, Boys Club, Chess Club, Dance Club, Drama Club, Games Club, Girls Club, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Exploration Adventures,
Extreme Science,
Geocaching Club,
High School Editors,
Student Council,

School Notes:

Students must have completed  cognitive and achievement testing either from their home school district or from a private evaluator. Fortune Academy does not accept children diagnosed with PDD, Autism, or Behavior/Emotional challenges.

Profile last updated: 09/02/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Cornerstone Baptist Academy (2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St Lawrence Catholic School (1.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Lawrence Catholic School (1.9 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Indianapolis St Lawrence Catholic School
      (Roman Catholic)
    6950 E 46th St
    IndianapolisIN 46226
    (317)543-4923
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.9 mi | 278 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • IndianapolisCornerstone Baptist Academy
      (Baptist)
    10701 E 56th St
    IndianapolisIN 46235
    (317)826-1160
      (Baptist)
    2 mi | 175 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • IndianapolisMt. Carmel Christian Academy
    All-girls  (Christian)
    4352 Mitthoeffer Rd
    IndianapolisIN 46236
    (317)895-0566
    All-girls  (Christian)
    2.4 mi | 69 students | Gr. PK-4                      
  • IndianapolisDivine Savior Lutheran School
      (Other Lutheran)
    7315 E 75th Street
    IndianapolisIN 46256
    (317)849-9692
      (Other Lutheran)
    2.8 mi | 84 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • IndianapolisZion Hope Christian School
      (Baptist)
    5950 E 46th St
    IndianapolisIN 46226
    (317)545-8817
      (Baptist)
    2.8 mi | 117 students | Gr. PK-5                      

School Reviews

7 months ago
i kijed the review. i would like to speak with someone about enrolling my child. i can be reached anytime after 2pm monday thru friday. my name is shawana shelby and my number is 438-4405
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My name is Sarah and this is my first year at Fortune Academy. I am in the 7th grade and I love it. The teachers are so helpful and interact with you and spend one on one tie with you to help you. They are so kind and loving, and care about there students. When ever I am haveing truble my teachers are always there to help me. I always love coming to school every day. I always have a great experense.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
1 year ago
Fortune Academy has transformed my child from a nonreader to a child who reads beautifully! His confidence has soared. Worth every penny and we are here to stay!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My son is happy going to school and is learning again!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The Hutson school is the answer to a very long prayer. Our son is in his 3rd year and couldn't be happier. The administration and staff go above and beyond to meet the individual child's needs. They all work tirelessly to provide a nurturing , enriching, positive educational environment !! We are blessed to have such an amazing school here in indianapolis!!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
When wanting the best of the best of the best for your child is all that really matters to you as a parent, then having The Hutson School is all that is required. The professional approach to the needs of my son has been breathtaking. The academic standards that have been set forth by the amazingly dedicated facility is beyond any that will be found in the public system. When your child has been discarded by so many Hutson opens their doors and says "Really, well we will just see about that!" My son has a future because of Hutson. I am only sad that I did not find them sooner. I owe them so much that simply could never bee repaid!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My name is Noah and I have been at The Hutson School since 6th grade. It is the greatest school I have ever been to. The teachers took time to see me and to teach me. I am going to go to college and become a teacher so I can help students just like the teachers at Hutson. Some of the best days of my life have been at The Hutson School, I never want to leave school!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
1 year ago
Our daughter has attended The Hutson School for the past 8 years. This school has met her every learning need. It is a state of the art education facility for children who have learning differences. Hutson has taught our daughter how to "learn" in a way no one else was able.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Excellent academic programs. Faculty highly trained, professional, compassionate. A wonderful learning environment. A 5 Star School to be sure!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
I thank my lucky stars that we found The Hutson School. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about every single kiddo. The head of school is the most amazing person.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The Hutson School is excellent!!! The teachers are fabulous and have inspired my son as a learner. Dyslexia is no longer a disability but a difficulty that he is overcoming. If you have a child with dyslexia this is a must school to check out. Our son is happy, thriving and loves going to school. We couldn't be happier with our choice in The Hutson School.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
So Many Choices
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student first name:
Student last name:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Phone:
City:
State:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Indianapolis, IN is $7,295 for elementary schools and $9,987 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Indianapolis, IN is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).