Montgomery Montessori School

Tel: (845)401-9232
Grades: PK-8 | 42 students
At Montgomery Montessori School, we believe that every child has the right to go to a school that is a perfect match for them.
Montessori is a philosophy with the fundamental principle that a child learns best within a social environment, which supports each individual's unique development.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
International Montessori Council (IMC)
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 2010

Student Body

Total Students 42 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Montgomery Montessori School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 5 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Parinaz Mokhtari
Admissions Associate Arietta Thorne

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Harmony Christian School (4.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Most Precious Blood School (3.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Most Precious Blood School (3.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Walden
    Grades: PK-8 | 170 students
    3.9 miles
    180 Ulster Ave
    Walden, NY 12586
  • Middletown
    Grades: PK-12 | 245 students
    4.5 miles
    1790 Route 211 E
    Middletown, NY 10941
  • Pine Bush
    Grades: PK-12 | 226 students
    5.3 miles
    211 Fleury Rd
    Pine Bush, NY 12566
  • Washingtonville
    English Rose Day School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-KG | 142 students
    7.9 miles
    16 Weathervane Dr
    Washingtonville, NY 10992
  • Newburgh
    Grades: PK-8 | 119 students
    8.6 miles
    1771 Route 300
    Newburgh, NY 12550

School Reviews

My daughter is in her second year of the Primary program at Montgomery Montessori. She is blossoming! While still shy - she is more confident, independent and creative. She is learning and growing at her pace - not at the pace of standardized data. She is comfortable, happy, inquisitive ~ which speaks volumes when looking at children in today''s society. Thank you to everyone at MMS for cultivating such invaluable characteristics.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
MMS is a wonderful school. Our child has been going there for 3 years now and we plan to continue through the 8th grade. MMS and its faculty have really instilled confidence and a passion for learning. People always assume our child is older because she is so well spoken. The school is in itself a great community where everyone is accepted regardless of their background. The building and the village of Montgomery is a wonderful setting, I always say I wish I could have went to MMS :)
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I chose Montessori for my children because I wanted them to be able to learn at a pace that was specific to them. If they excelled, they would be challenged, if they needed extra attention in a certain area, they could receive it and not just learn the same way as everyone else. Montgomery Montessori has helped both of my children grow and learn in their own way. They are doing great and love learning. What more can a parent ask for?
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My oldest daughter began school in the Primary class at Montgomery Montessori at the age of 2years 5 months. She is going to be 5 this year. My youngest daughter just began school in the Primary class this year at the age of 2 years 7 months. Both of my girls have enjoyed every minute of their time at school because of the quality, care, and dedication of the directress and her staff. This school has exceeded all my expectations. The staff is dedicated to the development and education of each child. Not only have the girls learned so much, but I have as well. I have been inspired by the professionalism, skill, love and dedication every staff member has at this school. As a public school teacher, it has amazed me to watch the Montessori method and philosophy implemented. I have also been impressed by the way the school has worked to become part of the community they are located in, the Village of Montgomery. They utilize resources in the community, such as the Fire Museum, the local bank, and library to bring learning to life for their students. I just cannot say enough about how pleased I have been with everything about Montgomery Montessori. Under the strong and sound leadership of Ms. Parinaz Mokhtari, I have watched the school grow and change through the last few years. I am so very proud to be part of this school community. This school is truly one of a kind.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our personal experience with Montgomery Montessori School and the members of their amazing staff have far exceeded our expections in both education and overall school atmosphere for our son, Nicolas. Nicolas has grown stronger as an academic student while at the Montessori school which has been proven by opportunities that he has been able to participate in outside the normal school environment.The investment in Montgomery Montessori School for our son has truly been one of the best decisions we have ever made. We encourage any parents that have considered the Montgomery Montessori to make the positive change for your child or children and you will be truly impressed by the difference and growth that you will see in your child/children. Through Nicolas'' academic commitment and the assistance from its Director and the teaching staff, Nic s high school dream has come true. He recently received two scholarships from Storm King High School and he will be attending SKS in the fall of 2013. Words cannot express our gratitude to each of the staff members.Thank you all very much, as we will always remember Nicolas''educational and life experiences at MMS.
- Posted by Parent, 07/09/13
This school has been wonderful for my children. The director and the teachers know exactly how to accommodate my kids. The staff creates a great learning environment, I am so glad I found this school!
- Posted by Parent, 03/05/13
I don t even know where to begin...this school has been nothing short of amazing for my daughter. The community they have created between parents, staff, and children is just incredible. Montgomery Montessori School is a small private school, that provides wonderful values, structure, education, and inspiration. My daughter loves each and every day of school. She feels challenged, motivated, and warmly encouraged. You could not ask for a more loving environment for your children.
- Posted by Parent, 02/27/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Orange County, NY is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).