Shepherd Of The Valley Lutheran School

23838 Kittridge Street
West Hills, CA 91307-0913
     Tel: (818)347-6784
        
   
Grades: NS - 6 | 147 students
Shepherd of the Valley offers its students an excellent "whole person" preparation for life where the challenges of learning and achieving are exciting.
Academic studies are very important to us and for our students, but as important as we feel academics are Shepherd feels strongly that students must also develop self-confidence, responsibility, self-discipline, independence, integrity, and group skills in order to successfully meet the challenges they will face in the future.
We offer preschool through 6th grade classes.
All of our teachers are highly qualified and motivated, all classes have teacher assistants, and everyone gives loving and nurturing care to every student.
Shepherd of the Valley has been continuously providing top quality elementary education for 48 years at the same location.
We are WASC accredited and were the 2007 winner of the highly coveted Woodland Hills "Rose Award".
And while some other schools may be cutting back or cutting corners, we are not and never have.
Our students receive instruction in music, Spanish, computers, and physical education.
We are conveniently located to Calabasas, Canoga Park, Hidden Hills, West Hills and Woodland Hills.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Evangelical Lutheran Education Association (ELEA)
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Religious Affiliation Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (formerly AELC, ALC, or LCA)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 6
Year Founded 1962

Student Body

Total Students 147 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 14%
State avg.: 43%
Students by Grade Shepherd Of The Valley Lutheran School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 19:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 90%
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Yearly Tuition Cost $6,400
Tuition Notes Tuition quoted is annual for non-church members. Preschool tuition ranges from $2300 to $4700 for two, three, four or five day programs.
Admissions Director Diane Haskell

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
FootballSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,

School Notes:

  • Maximum class size of 20 in K-6
  • Spanish, computers, music and physical education
  • Academic excellence
  • WASC accredited
  • After school sports and enrichment classes

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Chaminade College Preparatory High School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is West Hills Montessori (0.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is West Hills Montessori (0.7 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • West HillsWest Hills Montessori
    Montessori School
    24373 Vanowen St
    West HillsCA 91307
    (818)702-0818
    Montessori School
    0.7 mi | 29 students | Gr. PK-1                      
  • Woodland HillsSt Bernardine Of Siena School
      (Roman Catholic)
    6061 Valley Circle Blvd
    Woodland HillsCA 91367
    (818)340-2130
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.9 mi | 314 students | Gr. KG-8                      
  • Woodland HillsTemple Aliyah Preschool And Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    6025 Valley Circle Blvd
    Woodland HillsCA 91367
    (818)346-1552
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    0.9 mi | 516 students | Gr. NS-K                      
  • Woodland HillsBoulevard School
    Daycare / Preschool
    23022 Victory Blvd
    Woodland HillsCA 91367
    (818)883-0607
    Daycare / Preschool
    1 mi | 72 students | Gr. PK-KG                      
  • Canoga ParkChaminade College Preparatory High School
      (Roman Catholic)
    7500 Chaminade Avenue
    Canoga ParkCA 91304
    (818)347-8300
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.3 mi | 1350 students | Gr. 9-12                      

School Reviews

1 year ago
We are so lucky to have found this wonderful school. There is nothing else like it in the Valley. Small class sizes give the teachers time to work with each child individually. Kids are respectful and take care of each other. Truly an amazing school!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
This school is excellent - caring teachers, nurturing and safe, loving, high academic standards and plenty of hands-on learning. My daughter is in fourth grade and has been here since K, she is confident, mature and thoughtful toward others. She is excelling in math. Kids are polite and respectful of one another. A warm and friendly parent community. HIghly recommend!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Children feel loved and supported and that means a great deal!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Amazing school! My kids look forward to going to school everyday. They are excelling in everything they are learning. The kids are so polite and really take care of each other. The teachers really give each child individual attention. Wonderful families, wonderful school!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
We are now officially well into our 2nd round with SOV. Having a daughter now 21 that went through SOV from 2-6, then on to West Valley Christian and then Chaminade, and now with 7 year old twins in the second grade, I can not say enough for the gratitude we have for Shepherd. Under the guidance of a phenom staff, headed by the principal Mrs. Haskell, through the ranks to the clubhouse staff, we have always known we made the correct choice. Currently class size is the smaller than any school I have ever encountered, which equates to a higher love/child quotient, which result in excellent academic results. One of the things I have been happiest about, is that when it is necessary to leave our children after school in clubhouse, they always come home with their homework 100% done. SOV defitinely knows how to keep its eye on the ball.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
If you''re looking for a small faith base school, SOV is it! This school has the whole package of great teachers, staff, sports teams, extracurricular activities and before/after school care. Our daughter has attended SOV since kindergarten and will be graduating this year. This school has given her the foundation she will need in middle school academically, spiritually and socially. We couldn''t be more pleased.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Three years ago, we were lucky enough to find this wonderful place! The children are happy and well-blended with combined classes and lots of cross-grade activities, making this a safe and nurturing place for all ages. WASC approved and academically challenging without bombarding your child with needless homework. We love SOV!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
A wonderful school with a caring staff that addresses the needs of the whole child.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Great school,the quality of the teachers are impressive,all staff are kind,and the parents involving is impressive.The sports programs are good.My son is so happy and learning a lot.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My family loves SOV. Our children received an excellent education and built a loving christ filled foundation that carried them through middle and hugh school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
This is an excellent school. I attended K-6th myself and now my son is attending (preschool - 6th). The classes are small, which allows for him to receive individualized attention from the teacher. The classes also participate in music, Spanish, computers, and field trips. There is chapel each week, which provides an opportunity for the kids to practice performing in front of a group (speaking and singing). The staff really cares about he kids and makes sure they are taken care of. There is a great shaded playground. The after-school program (Club House) is also great as well as the camps and programs offered during school breaks and summer. A bonus for me is the easy drop-off and pick-up because of the large parking lot that parents can use.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
This school is small, nurturing, academically challenging and really does give one-on-one attention to each child. My daughter has thrived here, coming in as shy and now blossoming as a leader. Our friends and family love this school, too. Can't recommend it enough.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Facebook Page Essentials
Small private schools often feel that they cannot afford to market their schools. Facebook is free. Here is how to use it effectively.
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles County, CA is $10,135 for elementary schools and $15,089 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles County, CA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).