Redemption Christian Academy

Tel: (413)498-2500
Grades: 7 - 12
Founded in 1979 by Pastor John Massey, Jr., Redemption Christian Academy (RCA) provides quality education in an affordable structured, Christian environment.
He believed that in the right environment, any student, regardless of race, sex, or background, could achieve academic excellence.
RCA provides a strong academic foundation to help hard-working, motivated students reach their ne plus ultra.
RCA has welcomed international students from around the world from countries which include: Switzerland, Venezuela, the Bahamas, Korea, France, the Dominican Republic, Greece, Canada, the Czech Republic, Ghana, Liberia, Belgium, and others.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades 7 - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1979

Student Body

Total Students n/a
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 85%
State avg.: 25%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 24 teachers
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 30%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 8 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Chemistry, AP European History, AP Government, AP Language and Composition, AP Literature and Composition, AP United States History,
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $24,500
Tuition Notes 7,000 nonboarding students 19,500 five day boarding students 24,500 seven day domestic boarding students 28,000 seven day international boarding students
Admissions Director Laura Holmes
Admissions Associate Sandra Luraas

Sports

Total Sports Offered 1 sports
Sports BasketballBasketball

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Northfield Mount Hermon School (2.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Linden Hill School (3.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Full Circle School (4.5 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Gill
    Grades: 9-12 | 650 students
    2.4 miles
    One Lamplighter Way
    Gill, MA 01354
    (413)498-3000
    2.49-12
    650
  • Northfield
    Linden Hill School
    All-boys  | Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: 6-9 | 32 students
    3.2 miles
    154 S Mountain Rd
    Northfield, MA 01360
    (413)498-2906
    3.26-9
    32
  • Bernardston
    Full Circle School
    Alternative School
    Grades: PK-6 | 43 students
    4.5 miles
    21 Parmenter Rd
    Bernardston, MA 01337
    (413)648-9468
    4.5PK-6
    43
  • Greenfield
    Grades: 7-12 | 148 students
    8.7 miles
    574 Bernardston Road
    Greenfield, MA 01301
    (413)774-2711
    8.77-12
    148
  • Gill
    Four Winds School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 7-9 | 8 students
    8.8 miles
    54 French King Hwy
    Gill, MA 01354
    (413)863-8055
    8.87-9
    8

School Reviews

I am a prospective parent wanting to send my 7th grade son to RCA. We live in Arizona and I think the most scariest thing for me is sending him to boarding school in Massachusetts. I want him to receive a quality education because Arizona has failed in so many ways and I think the strategies have become "labeling" students esp. black male students who struggle in school so it doesn't impact the school district negatively. I want to "unwrap the labels" for my son but I know I need the assistance of RCA. I don't know what can be more comforting and confirming to know that RCA is available. I am a single mother of 4 sons and I am nervous but excited about applying to RCA. Any pointers from parents who have been in my situation would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
- Posted by Parent, 07/06/15
Both of my children attended Redemption Christian Academy and came away with values, structure, skills, and a perspective that have wonderfully shaped their adult lives.
- Posted by Parent, 09/07/13
Redemption Christian Academy is a life-changing establishment. Moments before submitting this review (which I proudly have personal firsthand experience to do so) I read a quote from one of my Facebook''s news feeds. It stated "I always wondered why somebody didn''t do something about that, then I realized I am somebody". Most students who have attended Redemption Christian Academy refer to it as the "RCA Family". Reason being, it is much more than a school. The RCA founder, staff, and other numerous associates are the somebodies who create somebody. They are the somebodies, who do something, about that. Whatever the "that" is in a child''s life, they help nurture and guide it into its ne plus ultra (highest apex) of what it can be. Redemption Christian Academy is a school of quality. It possesses quality of education. It possesses quality of care & guidance academically, spiritually, and athletically. Lastly, it possesses a quality which has become the missing link in most educational institutions today. RCA poses love.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 07/15/13
The changes that have occurred in my children have been noted! I''m pleased with the overall results and grades of my children! No regrets!
- Posted by Parent, 07/03/13
Love the positive affect this school has had on my children! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see a positive change in their child! Thanks Redemption!
- Posted by Parent, 06/25/13
I graduated from Redemption Christian Academy (RCA) in 1996. I concur with the RCA motto, "RCA is more than a school...it''s preparation for life." The education at RCA goes beyond academics. It is a place to be nurtured naturally and spiritually. In addition to quality academics, each student is taught how to conduct oneself as a productive member of society, have respect for oneself and others, maintain structure and discipline beyond the classroom, continuously strive for excellence, never settle for average- naturally or spiritually, and keep Christ in the center and at the forefront of all we do. At RCA, no student will "fall through the cracks." Each student is given personal attention and whatever help necessary for them to excel. The RCA staff unfailingly gives of themselves in nurturing, loving, and caring for all students as if their own family. RCA is a family, not determined by natural means, but rather by the love of Christ. RCA produces a profound impact on the lives of each individual; oftentimes changing the course of a life from a dire path to a favorable outcome. No price tag can be put on a student''s time at RCA. You get so much at RCA for so little money.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 06/25/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Franklin County, MA is $40,605 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Franklin County, MA is 55% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos