Pinnacle Academy

2854 Hunter Mill Rd
Oakton, VA 22124-0703
     Tel: (703)537-0355
        
   
Grades: NS - 8 | 155 students
previous
The Pinnacle Academy Future City team was invited to meet with President Barack Obama and present their winning project at the White House Science Fair.
next
Featured School
The Pinnacle Academy Future City team was invited to meet with President Barack Obama and present their winning project at the White House Science Fair.
Pinnacle Academy students at the International Children's Festival. The annual event is a celebration of diversity held in Fairfax and sponsored by Pinnacle Academy and Fairfax Spotlight on the Arts.
Pictured: the first annual Fairfax County Elementary and Middle School Science and Engineering Fair at George Mason University. Sponsored by Pinnacle Academy and George Mason, College of Science, it is the first and only regional science and engineering fair open to younger students in the area.
A Pinnacle Academy student in front of her project at the Fairfax County Elementary and Middle School Science and Engineering Fair.
Pinnacle Academy parents and students at the microscope station on STEM Night
Pinnacle Academy's FLL team, RoboNerds, after placing 4th out of 69 teams at the Virginia state-level competition with their trophy for strategy and innovation.
A Pinnacle Academy student after having her face painted at the annual Puma Fest, which raises money for classroom programs and technology
Pinnacle Academy was pleased to again co-sponsor a blanket drive to benefit Syrian refugees.  The drive collected blankets to give refugees displaced by the civil war in Syria and ISIL. Over 18,000 blankets were donated in 2013, and the goal for this year was 100,000 blankets. Our 7th grade students helped kick off the drive at the press conference.
Pinnacle Academy's 2014 Future City team at the Mid-Atlantic Regional Competition where they took 2nd place. The team also received awards for Outstanding Physical Model and Most Holistic Approach.
item which has been noted, verified.
Pinnacle Academy, a Math- and Science-focused school, immerses students into a multicultural learning environment that promotes critical thinking and problem solving and encouraging students to apply this knowledge in real world situations.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 2008

Student Body

Total Students 155 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Pinnacle Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 14 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 12:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Navy pants, skirt, or jumper with a burgundy or white polo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $10,800

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 20 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Arts, Baketball, Chess, Dance, Drama, First, Future, Gardening, Ideaventions, Lego, Math, Odyssey, Piano, Pumas, Science, Student, Travel, Tutoring, Violin, Yearbook Arts, Baketball, Chess, Dance, Drama, First, Future, Gardening, Ideaventions, Lego, Math, Odyssey, Piano, Pumas, Science, Student, Travel, Tutoring, Violin, Yearbook,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Flint Hill School (1.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St Mark Catholic School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Mark Catholic School (1.3 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • ViennaSt Mark Catholic School
      (Roman Catholic)
    9972 Vale Rd
    ViennaVA 22181
    (703)281-9103
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.3 mi | 371 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • OaktonFlint Hill School
      (Non-sectarian)
    3320 Jermantown Road
    OaktonVA 22124
    (703)584-2300
      (Non-sectarian)
    1.5 mi | 998 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • OaktonDominion Christian School
      (Presbyterian)
    10922 Vale Rd
    OaktonVA 22124
    (703)758-1055
      (Presbyterian)
    1.6 mi | 193 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • FairfaxAppletree School
      (Christian)
    9655 Blake Lane
    FairfaxVA 22031
    (703)281-7747
      (Christian)
    1.6 mi | 99 students | Gr. PK-3                      
  • ViennaGreen Hedges School
    415 Windover Ave, NW
    ViennaVA 22180
    (703)938-8323
    1.7 mi | 171 students | Gr. NS-8                      

School Reviews

1 month ago
Pinnacle Academy has caring administrators, teachers, parents, and students that create an amazing school community. I love teaching in a small class environment, because I can get to know each of my students as individual learners to help them grow and reach their full academic potential. I see so much joy and enthusiasm for learning across the school every day. I also appreciate all the exciting events that happen over the school year, including Family Fun Nights, STEM Night, History Bee, Science Fair, Future City competition, National Geographic Bee, First Lego League, Pi Day, fun field trips, and the big variety show. I am happy to be a part of the Pinnacle Academy family.
- Posted by Teacher
1 month ago
It''s a small but great school! Teachers are caring and successful. They are getting one-on-one attention with students. Students have successful education, good character as well as self-confident personality at the Pinnacle Academy.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
We have a son enrolled in Kindergarten for the first time this year. For us it has been worth the investment because it is a comfortable environment for him. He spent the first few years at home and so the smaller class size we feel has been a good transition for him. It has also been a good transition for us. It''s comforting for us to know the names of all the students in his class and to know his teachers so well. We''ll keep him in as long as we can afford it mainly because he loves it so much and that''s worth the money.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
I have 2 children at Pinnacle Academy and I''m so happy and thankful that they''re getting the best education for the private tuition. The administration and teachers are amazing, dedicated, and go above and beyond to make sure each and every child is developing their best. My son is in 2nd grade and daughter in 4th grade and both have been here for 2 years. They''re thriving and learning so much everyday and love their teachers and small group of classmates. I very much appreciate the small classes and each of my children get a lot of attention...which I think is critical during these early learning years. Another advantage of being a small school, everyone knows each other and frequently, the upperclassmen give the youngers waves, high fives, hugs,...it''s comforting to see how close this student body is. The school offers many opportunities in First Lego League, Fairfax County Science Fair, National Spelling Bee/Geography Bees, Future City, Odyssey of The Mind, Science Olympiad, and other STEM related competitions. This school has consistently ranked in the top for all of these competitions every year. It''s no wonder with such dedicated faculty and parents.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
I have 2 kids at Pinnacle. Pinnacle Academy provides a great education for the price. The class sizes are small and the children get individualized attention. There is emphasis on not just education but also social interactions. The school also has a wide variety of clubs and events kids can participate in.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
Having a son whose previous private school had recommended for ADHD testing and subsequently a push towards medication, we were very pleased with Pinnacle, their approach, the classroom size and the teacher''s attention to a child with ADHD and not on medication. Two years later, he is healthy, learning, happy and excelling at school.
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
I love to be part of the Pinnacle Academy. It has small size classes and feels like a family. It is great to see students being challenged. Offering Algebra-1, high school credit course, to 6th grade along with the other levels is keeping the doors wide open to the future.
- Posted by Teacher
1 year ago
The academic focus on math and science is particualrly advanced. I love the small class sizes and the individualized attention my son receives. Meets and extends VA SOL standards. Positive place to attend school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Great school. Excellent teachers and staff working together to create a safe and warm learning environment and reaching out to the level of the child. Class ratios are small. I cannot imagaine a better place for my children.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Pinnacle Academy is an exceptional school with initial focus on nurturing the whole child. Last year I had two of my kids and this year I registered all my four kids. It is more academically challenging in all grades. The school handles all types of learners reaching out to the level of the child. The art, music, especially science and all other programs are outstanding! Most important of all, we as whole family feel the worm and friendly environment of Pinnacle Academy''s teachers. We found all teachers and personnels of PA are outstanding... As a private school, the tuition is very affordable.. It''s well worth the money. Highly recommended to at least check it out....
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Great School, Great location.. The academic caliber of this school is like no other in this area...It is Math and science focused and they do an excellent job training young minds. As a parent of 3 student, It truly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Super teaching staff truly dedicated to helping students learn. Small class sizes are wonderful. Teachers know my child''s name even if they''ve never taught him
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
What About a Foreign Language School?
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fairfax County, VA is $11,444 for elementary schools and $18,863 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfax County, VA is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos